Malls · Utah
Cache Valley Mall
Cache Valley Mall opened 1976, closed 2024, demolished; Namdar Realty Group plans housing, hotel, retail on site in Logan, Utah. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Herberger's
This site: Herberger's wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 331 units in 4 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 37,665 on MAIN ST - HIGHWAY 91 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 59 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 12% census-acs · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 6 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.78 cdc-svi · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 65% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +120% fhfa · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …demolition in progress extraction · all sites with thisHotel
This site: …t store, 346 multi-family residential units, and a 156-room hotel. extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …nclude a 150,000 square foot Target store, 346 multi-family residential units, and a 156-room hotel. extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | housing, hotel, retailextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | demolition in progressextracted, unreviewed |
Planning
| Planning notes | In 2023, redevelopment plans for the mall site were announced, to include a 150,000 square foot Target store, 346 multi-family residential units, and a 156-room hotel.extracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Sold | — | Namdar Realty Group ← Rouse Properties | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Cache Valley Mall” and “Logan” (79 hits, first 79 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | Rouse Properties, Inc. | 24 | 2011-12-30 to 2016-05-02 | 8-K 19, 10-K 5 |
| Public owner (strong) | GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC | 15 | 2003-03-14 to 2010-10-01 | 10-K 8, 8-K 6, 10-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | General Growth Properties, Inc. | 10 | 2011-03-01 to 2012-06-27 | 8-K 8, 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | PRICE DEVELOPMENT CO LP | 4 | 2001-02-14 to 2002-04-18 | 10-K/A 2, 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | JP REALTY INC | 3 | 2001-02-14 to 2002-04-18 | 10-K 2, 10-K/A 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | Rouse Properties 10-K, 2015-03-09 | Cache Valley Mall Logan, UT match: exact | 387,030 in-line 277,554 | 95.6% leased | jcpenney, Herbergers | |||
| 2012 | Rouse Properties 10-K, 2013-03-07 | Cache Valley Mall Logan, UT match: exact | 501,246 in-line 355,414 | 100.0% leased | Dillard's, Dillard's Men's & Home, JCPenney | |||
| 2009 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2010-03-01 | Cache Valley Mall Logan, UT match: exact | 319,225 in-line 173,393 | Dillard's, Dillard's Men's & Home, JCPenney | ||||
| 2006 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01 | Cache Valley Mall Logan, UT match: exact | 321,723 | Dillard’s, Dillard’s Men’s & Home, JCPenney |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 6 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 14: 1200 N, 200 E TO 600 E; AMERICA FIRST CREDIT UNION - LOGAN BRANCH; AXTELL CHEVROLET CO INCORPORATED; CACHE VALLEY MARKETPLACE; CULVER'S-LOGANEPA FRS |
| Census tract 49005000602 | 3,966 people, 7,292 per sq mi; median household income $52,763; median gross rent $1,080; 65% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 4.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 6 grocers, 2 schools, 17 parks or playgrounds, 8 health, 4 civic, 49 food and drink; 59 cycleway segments, 157 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Cache County (UT), 2024 | 146 units in 5+ unit buildings, 4 in 2–4, 871 single-family; 2023: 339 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.78; socioeconomic 0.71; housing and transport 0.98; 44% below 150% of poverty; 15% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 13,718 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 19,669 since 2015; 2,204 in the last 12 months (-9% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-05 with 426Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 32.9); expected annual loss $708,983; high: winter weather, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 4 LIHTC properties, 331 units: Hanbury Manor (108 units); Logan Pointe Apts. (93 units); North Pointe Apts. (80 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 480 establishments (+20%); 8,113 jobs (+52%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $470,352 (+3% 1 yr, +16% 5 yr); typical rent $1,441/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 489 (2000 = 100); -9.5% 1 yr, +41% 5 yr, +120% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 37,665 vehicles a day on MAIN ST - HIGHWAY 91 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 6,656 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1976 as a three‑anchor mall with JCPenney, ZCMI and Ernst Home Center, Cache Valley Mall operated for nearly five decades before closing in April 2024. After a 2017 sale to Namdar Realty Group, redevelopment plans were announced in 2023 for housing, hotel and retail, and demolition began shortly after closure.
Why. Anchor turnover is evident in the record (Ernst Home Center departed 1979, Bon Marche/Lamonts changes, final anchors C‑A‑L Ranch, Herberger’s and JCPenney). The record does not explicitly state competition, debt or other financial causes for the closure.
Where it stands. The site is currently demolished and under the control of Namdar Realty Group, which owned the property at the time of the 2017 sale and remains the owner per the record.
For a planner
- Precedent: 2023 redevelopment plan includes a 150,000 sf Target store, 346 multi‑family units and a 156‑room hotel.
- Policy tools: none explicitly mentioned in the record.
- Open questions: timing of entitlements, infrastructure requirements, and any affordable‑housing obligations.
For a developer
- Site size: not provided in the record.
- Control: owned by Namdar Realty Group (owner from 2017 onward).
- Entitlement stage: plans announced 2023, but approval status is not detailed.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site acreage or building footprint is not provided.
- Current zoning or entitlement status of the 2023 redevelopment plan is unspecified.
- Whether floodplain, transit access, or environmental constraints affect the site is not stated.
- Demolition progress timeline and expected completion date are not given.
- Financial structure or any debt associated with the redevelopment is not mentioned.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, MD · Malls · opened 1978; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- Century III Mall, West Mifflin, PA · Malls · opened 1979; closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
- Chesterfield Mall, Chesterfield, MO · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
- DeSoto Square Mall, South Bradenton, FL · Malls · opened 1973; closed 2021; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Cache Valley Mall – Logan, UT | dronegenuity dronegenuity.com
- Redevelopment of the Cache Valley Mall Lot Into Mixed-Use Co… engineering.usu.edu
- Space to reach your goals - POP UP SHOPS popupshops.com
- Fate of Cache Valley Mall businesses explained by City Economic ... cachevalleydaily.com
- Cache Valley Mall - Logan, Utah - Aug. 2023 - YouTube youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 12.0% 2018–23
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1976Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2024extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | John Price Associatesextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Herberger's, C-A-L Ranch |
| County | Cache County |
| Census division | 8 · Mountain |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Cache Valley Mall was a shopping mall located in Logan, Utah that opened on July 29, 1976 and closed on April 1, 2024; demolition began later that month. The mall had three anchors last occupied by C-A-L Ranch, Herberger's and JCPenney. The mall site was owned by Namdar Realty Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1972 Logan City Commission refused to rezone land for the mall, leading to lawsuit.
- 1974 John Price Associates announced plans for a 300,000 sq ft mall with three department store anchors.
- 1975 Construction began; anchors JCPenney, ZCMI, and Ernst Home Center announced.
- 1976 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1976 Mall opened with anchors Ernst Home Center, ZCMI, JCPenney, supermarket, drug store, bank, and Mann Theatre.
- 1979 Ernst Home Center departed; replaced by Bon Marche.
- 1988 Bon Marche bought and converted to Lamonts.
- 2017 Mall sold from Rouse Properties to Namdar Realty Group.
- 2024 Mall closed April 1; demolition began later that month.
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
14 quoted sentences
The mall officially closed on April 1, 2024. Demolition began later in April, and was expected to last for several months.
developers John Price Associates announcing it as a 300,000 square foot mall to include 3 department store anchors, a supermarket, a bank, and 'dozens' of small businesses, with an opening date sometime in 1976.
Demolition began later in April, and was expected to last for several months.
The mall officially closed on April 1, 2024. Demolition began later in April, and was expected to last for several months.
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree)
1 quoted sentence
The mall was sold from Rouse Properties to Namdar Realty Group in December 2017
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree)
1 quoted sentence
The mall was sold from Rouse Properties to Namdar Realty Group in December 2017
More in Utah
Main Street MallsSalt Lake City, UT · 2012Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: mixed use Partial regreening: daylit creek
U MallOrem, UT · 2013Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Partial redevelopment: office, residential Partial regreening: park265 E. 100 S.Salt Lake City, UTRedevelopment, proposed · mixed-use development with ground-floor retail and residential units,…Central VillageSandy, UTRedevelopment, under construction · An office park and retail development along State Street; office…
Cottonwood Mall siteHolladay, UT · 2018Redeveloped · 614 homes plus up to 750k sf commercial
Crossroads PlazaSalt Lake City, UT · 2007Redeveloped · City Creek Center opened in Crossroad Plaza's place on March 22, 2012.