Malls · Maryland
Lakeforest Mall
Opened 1978. Closed 2023. Redeveloped in 2026.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile33 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Hecht's
This site: Hecht's wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisLord & Taylor
This site: Lord & Taylor wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisHigh attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)
This site: 21,219 wikimedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/116451623241321 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://www.boostmobile.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 247 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 58,343 on 124 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 26 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -13% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 2,149 units, Montgomery County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,283/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 7 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.88 cdc-svi · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 24031700713 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 67% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: +10% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 18.8 epa-walkability · all sites with thisMaster plan or PUD
This site: …urg Mayor and Council, 5-0, April 17, 2023. Lakeforest Mall Master Plan (adopted Aug 16, 2021) https://www.gaithersburgmd.gov/gover research-planning · all sites with this1M+ sq ft GLA
This site: 1,045,000 sq ft research-planning · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 100 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: ~1,600 homes and ~500k sf retail ($1.2B) record · all sites with thisCivic and government
This site: Plan (adopted Aug 16, 2021) https://www.gaithersburgmd.gov/government/projects-in-the-city/lakeforest-mall-rezoning extraction · all sites with thisEntertainment and sports
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisMixed use
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisPark and open space
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: ~1,600 homes and ~500k sf retail ($1.2B) Approved by Gaithersburg Mayor and Council, 5-0, Ap extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedpublic sources |
| New uses | housing, office, retail, entertainment, park, mixedextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | ~1,600 homes and ~500k sf retail ($1.2B)public sources |
| Retrofit year | 2026public sources |
| Redeveloper | WRS, WRS Inc. Real Estate Investmentspublic sources |
Planning
| Zoning change | C-2 (general commercial) → MXD (mixed use); sketch plan up to 1,600 dwellings and 1.2M sq ft non-residential (map amendment to MXD with sketch plan)research |
|---|---|
| Public purchase or subsidy | The county is spending about $5M to purchase the land for the transit center and prepare the site.research |
| Entitlement year | 2023research |
| Planning notes | Approved by Gaithersburg Mayor and Council, 5-0, April 17, 2023. Lakeforest Mall Master Plan (adopted Aug 16, 2021) https://www.gaithersburgmd.gov/government/projects-in-the-city/lakeforest-mall-rezoningresearch |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Sold | — | WRS Inc. Real Estate Investments ← U.S. Bank | Wikipedia |
| 2017 | Sold | $19.1M closed | ← Five Mile Capital | Wikipedia |
| 2003 | Sold | — | Simon Property Group ← GM Pension Trust | Wikipedia |
| 1998 | Sold | — | GM Pension Trust ← Taubman Centers | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Lakeforest Mall” and “Gaithersburg” (66 hits, first 66 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-10-12 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2005-10-12 to 2005-10-12 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | MILLS CORP | 10 | 2004-08-27 to 2005-11-09 | 8-K 8, 8-K/A 1, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | MILLS LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | 9 | 2004-10-21 to 2005-11-09 | 8-K 7, 8-K/A 1, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 31 | 2007-04-27 to 2012-02-28 | 8-K 21, 10-K 10 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 10 | 2008-03-13 to 2012-03-02 | 10-K 10 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Lakeforest Mall Gaithersburg, MD match: exact | 1,045,387 | 84.5% occupied | acquired 2007 | 25.0% Fee | Macy's, Lord & Taylor, JCPenney, Sears, H&M | |
| 2004 | The Mills Corporation 10-K, 2005-03-31 | Lakeforest Mall Gaithersburg, MD match: exact | 1,086,000 in-line 398,000 | acquired 2004 | Hecht’s, JC Penney, Lord & Taylor, Mastercraft Interiors and Sears |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 10, 10-11-12, 11, 12OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 29: AMOCO #84776 TANKS; AMOCO OIL COMPANY; BRANCH BANK & TRUST; CHI-CHI'S - LAKE FOREST MALL; CVS PHARMACY #1490EPA FRS |
| Census tract 24031700713 | 5,144 people, 9,564 per sq mi; median household income $53,333; median gross rent $1,844; 67% renters; 5.3% vacant units; 6.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 18.8 of 20; 184 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 194 m; land-use mix 0.89; 151,322 jobs within 45 min by car, 88,773 by transit; 4% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 7 grocers, 0 schools, 6 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 39 food and drink; 26 cycleway segments, 221 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 24031700713 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Montgomery County (MD), 2024 | 2,149 units in 5+ unit buildings, 16 in 2–4, 1,491 single-family; 2023: 1,840 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.88; socioeconomic 0.88; housing and transport 0.85; 40% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 8 within 25 km: Casey Rosedale (1.7 km); Rio Residential Project (1.7 km); Rockville Mall (8.6 km); RedGate Park and Arboretum (9.6 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place BOOST Mobile Lakeforest MALL (shopping, confidence 0.60, from Overture, meta); building footprint 7,865 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.boostmobile.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 172,796 since 2015; 21,219 in the last 12 months (+0% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-03 with 6,784Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -8% (5,595 → 5,144); median income +10% ($48,485 → $53,333); renters 65% → 67%; median home value +29% ($228,800 → $294,700)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 11.5); expected annual loss $425,760; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 247 units: Forest Oak Towers Apts (175 units); Oaks At Olde Towne (72 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,358 establishments (-13%); 43,577 jobs (-5%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $606,938 (-0% 1 yr, +10% 5 yr); typical rent $2,283/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2020 | 427 (2000 = 100)FHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 58,343 vehicles a day on 124 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 1,692 trucks; 29 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
| Site metrics | 10,450 sq ft GLA per acre; FAR 0.24computed |
Summary, model-written
Lakeforest Mall opened in 1978 under Taubman Centers, changed ownership several times, and faced financial stress including a Simon Property Group mortgage default in 2011. The mall closed to the public in 2023, demolition began in 2025, and the site is slated for redevelopment starting in 2026.
Why. Visible causes in the record include Simon's 2011 mortgage default, the 2017 auction sale for $19.1 million, and the 2023 closure leading to demolition; specific anchor losses or broader competition are not stated in the record.
Where it stands. As of 2026 the demolished site is under control of developer WRS, which is leading the redevelopment.
For a planner
- Zoning changed from C‑2 to MXD with a sketch plan allowing up to 1,600 dwellings and 1.2 M sf non‑residential.
- Approved by Gaithersburg Mayor and Council (5‑0) in April 2023, building on the 2021 Lakeforest Mall Master Plan.
- The county is allocating about $5 M to purchase land for a transit center and prepare the site.
- Open questions: timing of build‑out, infrastructure impacts, and affordable‑housing provision.
For a developer
- 100‑acre parcel with 1.045 M sf existing GLA and a low FAR of 0.24, indicating substantial redevelopment capacity.
- Controlled by WRS since the 2019 purchase; entitlement granted in 2023 for MXD use.
- Context shows median rent $2,030 in the tract, signaling strong rental market demand.
- No explicit flood, transit, or environmental constraints are detailed in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact anchor tenant losses and broader market competition are not specified.
- Environmental remediation needs, flood‑zone status, and transit infrastructure details are missing.
- The phasing and financing of the ~1,600‑unit, ~500k sf retail project ($1.2 B) are not outlined.
- Verification status is draft; several fields (year_closed, acres, original_developer) are model‑extracted and unreviewed.
- The precise mix of uses (housing, office, retail, entertainment, park) and any affordable‑housing requirements are not detailed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- DeSoto Square Mall, South Bradenton, FL · Malls · similar size (100 acres); opened 1973; closed 2021
- Knoxville Center Mall, Knoxville, TN · Malls · similar size (78 acres); opened 1984; closed 2020
- Mall at Fox Run, Newington, NH · Malls · similar size (82 acres); opened 1983; closed 2026
- Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · similar size (80 acres); similar GLA (1,200,000 sq ft); closed 2022
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Lakeforest Mall | LinkedIn linkedin.com
- 2023-03-31 Lakeforest Mall directory Gaithersburg MD 15-19-29 1 commons.wikimedia.org
- LakeFOREST MALL flickr.com
- Last of Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, MD - Dead but not Forgotten ... youtube.com
- Lakeforest Mall in Gaithersburg to be fenced off, eventually demolished ... bizjournals.com
- WRS Rezones 100 Acres at Lakeforest Mall in Gaithersburg, … shoppingcenterbusiness.com
- Lakeforest Mall Gaithersburg MD Redevelopment 2026 | Fox Homes Team foxessellfaster.com
- Gaithersburg food pantry plans to relocate after Lakeforest Mall closure wjla.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- 100 acres
- median rent $2,030
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2023extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 100extracted, unreviewed |
| Gross leasable area | 1,045,000 sq ftresearch |
| Original developer | Taubman Centersextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Lord & Taylor, Hecht's, Woodward & Lothrop |
| County | Montgomery County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
Background
Lakeforest Mall, informally known simply as Lakeforest, was an enclosed shopping mall located in Gaithersburg, Maryland. The property has been owned by WRS Inc. Real Estate Investments as of July 2019, which is in the process of redeveloping the former site.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1978 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1978 Opened
- 1998 Sold to GM Pension Trust
- 2003 Purchased by Simon Property Group
- 2011 Simon defaulted on mortgage
- 2017 Sold at auction for $19.1 million
- 2019 Purchased by WRS Inc. from U.S. Bank
- 2023 Closed to public
- 2025 Demolition began
- 2026 Retrofit: redevelop
- 2026 Demolition completed
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: acres, original developer, status, year closed
21 quoted sentences
The mall closed to the public on March 31, 2023.
WRS Inc. is planning to redevelop the entire 100 acres (40 ha).
Originally developed, owned and operated by Taubman Centers
Demolition was completed on June 9, 2026.
- City of Gaithersburg · supports: zoning change
1 quoted sentence
The master plan calls for rezoning the 102-acre site from general commercial to mixed use.
- moco360.media
- Bisnow · 2026-04
More in Maryland
Laurel MallLaurel, MD · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streetsMarley Station MallBaltimore, MD · 2013Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: data center
Parole PlazaAnnapolis, MD · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use
Rockville MallRockville, MD · 2008Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets