Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Indiana

River Falls Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedOperatingClarksville, IN

Opened 1990. Closed 2006. Redeveloped in 2006.

Status nowOperatingextracted, unreviewed
What it becameretailextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2006extracted, unreviewed
Walkability16.8 of 20 · 15-minute 3 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Place
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 1.00 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 56% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +115% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: …a power center comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops. extraction · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …a power center comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
New usesretailextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowa power center comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2006extracted, unreviewed

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “River Falls Mall” and “Clarksville” (41 hits, first 41 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC322001-03-19 to 2010-10-298-K 12, 10-K 9, 10-Q 8, 8-K/A 2
Public owner (strong)General Growth Properties, Inc.82011-03-01 to 2012-06-278-K 6, 10-K 2

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2009General Growth Properties 10-K, 2010-03-01River Falls Mall Clarksville, IN
match: exact
786,012
in-line 786,012
Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World, Dick's Sporting Goods, Louisville Athletic Club, Old Time Pottery, Toys R Us
2006General Growth Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01River Falls Mall Clarksville, IN
match: exact
819,878Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World, Toys R Us

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 3 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km4, 5, junctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m6: ASSURANCE HEALTH PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL - CLARKSVILLE IN; CYLICRON ENGINEERED CYLINDERS; DETENTION BASIN RETROFIT; HOME SUITES BY HILTON; LINCOLN PARK STORMWATER IMPROVEMENTSEPA FRS
Census tract 180190505042,844 people, 647 per sq mi; median household income $53,225; median gross rent $1,022; 56% renters; 18.6% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16.8 of 20; 173 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 412 m; land-use mix 0.8; 98,486 jobs within 45 min by car, 46,576 by transit; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)3 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 0 civic, 22 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 33 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Clark County (IN), 2024133 units in 5+ unit buildings, 44 in 2–4, 734 single-family; 2023: 819 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 1.00; socioeconomic 0.96; housing and transport 1.00; 36% below 150% of poverty; 24% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: River Falls (0.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 25,681 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population -9% (3,124 → 2,844); median income +115% ($24,705 → $53,225); renters 48% → 56%; median home value +254% ($18,100 → $64,000)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 80.8); expected annual loss $2.0M; high: tornado, strong wind, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023417 establishments (-2%); 11,169 jobs (+64%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $265,250 (+2% 1 yr, +24% 5 yr); typical rent $1,312/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)10,688 vehicles a day on GREENTREE BLVD (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 1,186 trucks; 17 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

River Falls Mall opened in 1990 as an enclosed mall with 762,000 square feet of GLA, featuring entertainment venues and retail. After losing the majority of its tenants, it was redeveloped in 2006 into a power center that includes Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops. The site currently operates as that power center.

Why. The record attributes the redevelopment to the loss of the majority of its tenants; no other causes such as competition, debt, or demolition are mentioned.

Where it stands. The mall is operating as a power center; ownership is not stated in the record.

For a planner

  • Retrofit already completed in 2006 serves as a precedent for reuse.
  • County population grew 6.1% from 2018‑2023, indicating regional growth context.
  • Open question: long‑term viability of the power‑center format given evolving retail trends.
  • Open question: whether any zoning or incentives were used for the 2006 redevelopment.

For a developer

  • Site size: 762,000 sq ft GLA.
  • Control/ownership: not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage: retrofit completed (2006); no further entitlements needed.
  • No flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.
  • Market signal: surrounding county experienced 6.1% growth 2018‑2023.

What we do not know yet

  • Ownership/developer identity is missing.
  • Current tenant mix beyond the after‑notes list is not detailed.
  • Any flood‑plain, transit access, or environmental constraints are unspecified.
  • Financial details such as debt, vacancy rates, or operating costs are absent.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' verification, indicating possible unreviewed or model‑extracted data.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Fashion Mall, Plantation, FL · Malls · opened 1988; closed 2006; same strategy: redevelop
  • Scottsdale Mall, South Bend, IN · Malls · closed 2003; same strategy: redevelop; also in IN
  • Bashford Manor Mall, Louisville, KY · Malls · closed 2003; same strategy: redevelop; 16 km away
  • Crossroads Mall, Largo, FL · Malls · opened 1984; closed 2005; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • county grew 6.1% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1990extracted, unreviewed
Closed2006extracted, unreviewed
AnchorsBass Pro Shops, Dick's Sporting Goods, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Old Time Pottery, Gabe's Department Store
CountyClark County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

River Falls is a shopping center in Clarksville, Indiana, on Lewis and Clark Parkway. From its opening in 1990 as River Falls Mall until 2006, it was an enclosed mall, with 762,000 square feet (70,800 m2) of gross leasable area. It originally comprised multiple entertainment venues and retail. After losing the majority of its tenants, River Falls was redeveloped in 2006 as a power center, comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1990 Opened as River Falls Mall
  2. 2006 Redeveloped as a power center

Sources

  • Wikipedia: River Falls Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
    7 quoted sentences
    From its opening in 1990 as River Falls Mall
    until 2006
    River Falls was redeveloped in 2006 as a power center, comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops.
    River Falls was redeveloped in 2006 as a power center, comprising Dick's Sporting Goods, Old Time Pottery, Jo-Ann Fabrics, Gabe's Department Store, and Bass Pro Shops.

More in Indiana