Malls · Minnesota
Four Seasons Mall
Opened 1978. Closed 2012. Redeveloped.
documented
The mall was abandoned for a decade until the city demolished it in late 2022.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/167120926637277 overture · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2021 City of Plymouth research-deals · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 77,456 on Romans Ave fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 32 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: Romans Ave fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 58% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: A 411-unit apartment complex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metroli extraction · all sites with thisOffice
This site: A 411-unit apartment complex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metrolink park-and-ride are pla extraction · all sites with thisPark and open space
This site: …mplex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metrolink park-and-ride are planned for the site. extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: A 411-unit apartment complex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metrolink park-and-ride are planned for th extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall was abandoned for a decade until the city demolished it in late 2022. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedHousing developer Dominium announced a $130 million plan to transform the site of Four Seasons Mall into affordable housing in addition to a small amount of retail, and a parking ramp. |
| New uses | housing, office, retail, healthcare, parkextracted, unreviewed reported |
| Redeveloper | Dominiumextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Planning notes | A 411-unit apartment complex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metrolink park-and-ride are planned for the site.extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Sold | $6.7M closed | City of Plymouth | Wikipedia |
| 2015 | Sold | — | INH Properties | Wikipedia |
| 2010 | Sold | $10.6M closed | Walmart | Wikipedia |
| 1996 | Sold | $2.7M closed | a group of investors | Wikipedia |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: CAMDEN PHYSICIANS FOUR SEASONS; ENDODONTIC PROFESSIONAL ASSOC; FOUR SEASON FAMILY DENTISTRY; GROUP HEALTH INC - PLYMOUTH; HERITAGE DENTAL CENTER-PLYMOUTHEPA FRS |
| Census tract 27053026511 | 3,652 people, 5,000 per sq mi; median household income $82,061; median gross rent $1,412; 58% renters; 6.2% vacant units; 2.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 10.5 of 20; 27 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 200 m; land-use mix 0.29; 236,445 jobs within 45 min by car, 65,341 by transit; 12% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 2 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 3 civic, 7 food and drink; 32 cycleway segments, 25 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Hennepin County (MN), 2024 | 1,739 units in 5+ unit buildings, 126 in 2–4, 2,054 single-family; 2023: 3,772 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.57; socioeconomic 0.48; housing and transport 0.66; 20% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 23 within 25 km: Brookdale Center (7.2 km); Loffler Companies (10.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Four Seasons Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.66, from Overture, meta); building footprint 1,916 m², 4.616121292114258 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 62,594 since 2015; 1,685 in the last 12 months (+0% vs the prior 12); peak 2016-04 with 3,962Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +1% (3,605 → 3,652); median income +38% ($59,622 → $82,061); renters 56% → 58%; median home value +63% ($276,800 → $451,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 18.4); expected annual loss $895,987; high: cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 65,774 jobs in 3,548 establishments; average annual pay $47,428; employment location quotient 0.72; employment -2.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 333 jobs; 2 in retail trade, 1 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 27053026511)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 44th income percentile as adults; 1.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (152 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 1% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 9.6%; median family income $74,044; 103 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Robbinsdale Public School District (PK-12); 5 public schools within 1 mile: Escuela Exitos; PLYMOUTH MIDDLE; ZACHARY LANE ELEMENTARY; EARLY CHILDHOOD SPECIAL EDUCATIONNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 896 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 308 county-logged events: 139 thunderstorm wind, 122 hail, 25 heavy rain, 16 flash flood; $18,687,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 55441, 2026-09 | median list price $444,950 (+1.8% on the year); 37 active listings; median 36 days on market; 13% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,714 establishments (-12%); 74,922 jobs (+1%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $386,707 (+1% 1 yr, +8% 5 yr); typical rent $1,784/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 379 (2000 = 100); +8.0% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr, +63% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 77,456 vehicles a day on Romans Ave (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 6,807 trucks; 18 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Four Seasons Mall opened in 1978 as an enclosed shopping center with 26 stores. After the last tenant left in February 2012, the property remained vacant for a decade before demolition began in 2022. The City of Plymouth acquired the site in 2021 and plans a mixed‑use redevelopment.
Why. The record does not specify the reasons for the mall’s decline or closure.
Where it stands. The mall was demolished in 2022 and is now owned by the City of Plymouth, which intends to redevelop the 22‑acre site.
For a planner
- Public ownership by the City of Plymouth enables direct control over redevelopment timing and phasing.
- Planned program includes 411‑unit apartments, office/retail, healthcare, park and a Metrolink park‑and‑ride, indicating a mixed‑use, transit‑oriented approach.
- Open questions remain regarding zoning approvals, environmental review, financing structure, and detailed site‑plan entitlements.
For a developer
- Site size: 22 acres; current owner: City of Plymouth (public entity).
- Entitlement stage: planning notes describe a mixed‑use redevelopment, but formal approvals are not detailed in the record.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not specified in the record.
- Market signal: median rent of $1,439 cited in the opportunity score suggests rental‑housing demand in the area.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of mall closure (anchor loss, competition, debt) is not stated in the record.
- Exact entitlement status, zoning approvals, and environmental clearance details are missing.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not described in the context layers.
- Financing sources, development phasing, and cost estimates are not provided.
- The record is marked as ‘draft’ verified status, indicating some fields may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Indio Fashion Mall, Indio, CA · Malls · similar size (17 acres); opened 1975; same strategy: redevelop
- Redlands Mall, Redlands, CA · Malls · opened 1977; closed 2010; same strategy: redevelop
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · similar size (27 acres); opened 1978; same strategy: redevelop
- Wells Fargo Home Mortgage campus, Minneapolis, MN · Office parks · similar size (25 acres); same strategy: redevelop; also in MN
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Four Seasons Mall - Plymouth, MN | Flickr flickr.com
- Four Seasons Mall Open House Sept. 22 | Plymouth, MN Patch patch.com
- Plymouth, Minnesota - June 2, 2012: Four Seasons Mall in Plym… stock.adobe.com
- Four seasons mall Plymouth MN : r/AbandonedPorn reddit.com
- What Really Happened To Four Seasons Mall In Plymouth, MN - Be… bestattractions.org
- Plymouth Approves Four Seasons Mall Redevelopment - YouTube youtube.com
- New ownership restoring Four Seasons Mall with city-backed loan | News ... southernminn.com
- Part of the abandoned Four … tumblr.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- 22 acres
- median rent $1,439
- housing in the record
- public owner
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2012extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 22.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Stores at peak | 26extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Original developer | RMF Groupextracted, unreviewed |
| Architect | Elness Swenson Graham |
| County | Hennepin County |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Four Seasons Mall was an enclosed shopping mall in Plymouth, Minnesota, a suburb of the Twin Cities. Four Seasons Mall once comprised 117,000 square feet (11,000 m2) of retail space with approximately 26 storefronts. The mall opened in 1978 and the last tenant, Marcello's Pizza, closed on February 29, 2012. The mall was abandoned for a decade until the city demolished it in late 2022. A 411-unit apartment complex, several office and retail buildings, and a Metrolink park-and-ride are planned for the site.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1978 Opened
- 1996 Sold to group of investors
- 2010 Purchased by Walmart
- 2012 Last tenant closed
- 2015 Sold to INH Properties
- 2021 Purchased by City of Plymouth
- 2022 Demolition began
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: acres, original developer, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
15 quoted sentences
The mall opened in 1978
the last tenant, Marcello's Pizza, closed on February 29, 2012.
The mall was built atop 22 acres of land
The shopping center was developed by the RMF Group
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree)
2 quoted sentences
Elness Swenson Graham is the architect
Solution Blue Inc. of St. Paul is the engineer
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree)
1 quoted sentence
Dominium announced a $130M plan to transform the site
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree)
1 quoted sentence
The City of Plymouth purchased the site in June 2021