Malls · North Carolina
South Square Mall
Opened 1975. Closed 2002.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile15 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Belk-Leggett (later renamed Hudson-Belk)
This site: Belk-Leggett (later renamed Hudson-Belk) wikipedia · all sites with thisMontgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/102590296461946 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://armadahoffler.com/properties/south-square overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 64,968 on US-15 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 39 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.82 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: US-15 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 78% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +105% fhfa · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: The mall was razed in 2004 to make way for a big box retail hub that includes a SuperTarget, Sam's Club, Ross Dr extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | The mall was razed in 2004 to make way for a big box retail hub that includes a SuperTarget, Sam's Club, Ross Dress for Less, and Petco.extracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall was razed in 2004 to make way for a big box retail hub that includes a SuperTarget, Sam's Club, Ross Dress for Less, and Petco. |
| Retrofit year | 2004extracted, unreviewed reported |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “South Square Mall” and “Durham” (34 hits, first 34 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | ROUSE COMPANY | 15 | 2002-01-16 to 2005-03-31 | 10-K 6, 10-Q 5, 8-K 3, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC | 1 | 2004-10-25 to 2004-10-25 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: H & S CLEANERS; KMART 7340; MICHAEL JORDAN NISSAN; NCDSCA DC320022 ( H & S CLEANERS); NCDSCA DC320023( REGENCY CLEANERS )EPA FRS |
| Census tract 37063002015 | 5,271 people, 3,605 per sq mi; median household income $64,763; median gross rent $1,563; 78% renters; 6.8% vacant units; 1.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15 of 20; 112 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 1,109 m; land-use mix 0.83; 58,298 jobs within 45 min by car, 35,388 by transit; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 0 schools, 3 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 24 food and drink; 39 cycleway segments, 142 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Durham County (NC), 2024 | 955 units in 5+ unit buildings, 38 in 2–4, 1,912 single-family; 2023: 2,925 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.82; socioeconomic 0.67; housing and transport 0.95; 26% below 150% of poverty; 13% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Northgate Mall (7.3 km); University Mall (7.6 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place South Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 35,948 m², 6.473216533660889 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | armadahoffler.com (alive); archived 2000–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 27,719 since 2015; 2,218 in the last 12 months (-8% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-01 with 407Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +6% (4,997 → 5,271); median income +49% ($43,509 → $64,763); renters 80% → 78%; median home value +103% ($169,400 → $344,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 61.0); expected annual loss $1.3M; high: tornado, strong wind, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 68 units: Trailwood Apts (44 units); Rockwood North (24 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 14,286 jobs in 884 establishments; average annual pay $43,293; employment location quotient 0.62; employment +2.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 3,955 jobs; 900 in retail trade, 504 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37063002015)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 3.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (714 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 2% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 23.8%; median family income $40,885; 376 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Durham Public Schools (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 297 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 172 county-logged events: 102 thunderstorm wind, 45 flash flood, 15 hail, 4 tornado; $12,933,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 27707, 2026-09 | median list price $470,000 (+1.1% on the year); 167 active listings; median 70 days on market; 22% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 902 establishments (-4%); 15,242 jobs (+6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $384,848 (-4% 1 yr, +16% 5 yr); typical rent $1,622/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 479 (2000 = 100); -6.7% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +105% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 64,968 vehicles a day on US-15 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 1,049 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
South Square Mall opened in 1975 as a regional shopping center. Over the following decades it lost key anchors—Montgomery Ward in 1985, Ivey's (later Dillard's) in 1986, Big Star in 1988, and its movie theater in 1994—leading to declining foot traffic. The mall closed in 2002, was razed in 2004, and the site was redeveloped with a big box retail hub featuring SuperTarget, Sam's Club, Ross Dress for Less, and Petco.
Why. The record shows that successive anchor store closures undermined the mall's viability, precipitating its closure. No explicit mention of debt, financing issues, or broader market competition is provided.
Where it stands. The site is currently demolished and occupied by a big box retail hub; the record does not identify the owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Precedent: demolition of the mall and replacement with a big box retail hub (as noted in after_notes).
- Policy tools used: not stated in the record.
- Open questions: what zoning, incentives, or approvals enabled the big box development; what traffic, environmental, or community impact assessments were conducted; who holds title and control of the parcel.
For a developer
- Site size and control: not stated in the record.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Physical constraints (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Owner/controlling entity of the site is not specified in the record.
- Exact parcel dimensions and boundaries are not provided.
- Zoning designation and any land‑use restrictions are unknown.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not detailed.
- The record’s verification status is "draft", indicating some fields may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Carolina Circle Mall, Greensboro, NC · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2002; also in NC
- Bashford Manor Mall, Louisville, KY · Malls · opened 1973; closed 2003
- Cary Towne Center, Cary, NC · Malls · opened 1979; also in NC; 28 km away
- Highlands Mall, Harrison Township, PA · Malls · opened 1977; closed 2006
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: South Square Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- South Square Mall of Durham, NC | Just a few pics I've colle… flickr.com
- South Square Mall of Durham, NC - a photo on Flickriver flickriver.com
- City leaders and a development group want ideas about giving South Square Mall a fresh start.(WRAL-TV5 News) wral.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 7.5% 2018–23
- median rent $1,415
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1975Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2002extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Faison Associateshermes-web reported |
| Anchors | Montgomery Ward, J.C. Penney, Belk-Leggett (later renamed Hudson-Belk) |
| County | Durham County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Background
South Square Mall is a defunct shopping mall that was located in Durham, North Carolina,
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1975 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1975 Opened
- 1985 Montgomery Ward vacated
- 1986 Ivey's (later Dillard's) opened
- 1988 Big Star closed
- 2002 Mall closed
- 2004 Razed
- 2004 Big box retail hub opened
- 2006 Applebee's planned on hold
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: after notes, status, year closed
13 quoted sentences
closed in 2002
The mall was razed in 2004 to make way for a big box retail hub that includes a SuperTarget, Sam's Club, Ross Dress for Less, and Petco.
The mall was eventually razed in 2004
Opened in 1975