Malls · New Jersey
Phillipsburg Mall
Opened 1989, status unknown; no data on ownership, size, or market beyond modest county growth. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.twitter.com/preit overture · all sites with thisOn Twitter
This site: …https://www.twitter.com/preit overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.preit.com overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 32,755 on US 22 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -16% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,012/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $112,981 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.11 cdc-svi · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.8 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Pennsylvania Real Estate Investment Trust 10-K, 2010-03-16 | Phillipsburg Mall Phillipsburg, NJ match: exact | 578,925 in-line 578,925 | 90.4% occupied | built 1989 / renovated 2003 | 100.0% | Bon-Ton JCPenney Kohl’s Sears |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 3: ROSSNAGLES SERVICE CENTER; SEARS 2574; SUPERIOR QUARTZ PRODUCTS INCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 34041032300 | 3,258 people, 244 per sq mi; median household income $112,981; median gross rent $1,724; 13% renters; 5.6% vacant units; 0.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.8 of 20; 174 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 911 m; land-use mix 0.79; 30,282 jobs within 45 min by car, 2,495 by transit; 5% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 5 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 18 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Warren County (NJ), 2024 | 403 units in 5+ unit buildings, 19 in 2–4, 298 single-family; 2023: 198 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.11; socioeconomic 0.33; housing and transport 0.04; 8% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Phillipsburg Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 7,766 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.preit.com (alive) · social: facebook, twitterOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 80,306 since 2015; 3,916 in the last 12 months (-25% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-01 with 2,321Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -2% (3,325 → 3,258); median income +49% ($75,625 → $112,981); renters 11% → 13%; median home value +11% ($230,200 → $256,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 68.1); expected annual loss $2.4M; high: inland flooding, strong wind, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 5,698 jobs in 316 establishments; average annual pay $41,700; employment location quotient 1.70; employment +2.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,569 jobs; 754 in retail trade, 147 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 34041032300)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; -0.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (260 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 46% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 7.1%; median family income $80,625; 69 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Pohatcong Township School District (KG-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Philipsburg Primary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 330 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 200 county-logged events: 156 thunderstorm wind, 24 flash flood, 7 heavy rain, 6 hail; $10 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 08865, 2026-09 | median list price $318,725 (+4.1% on the year); 89 active listings; median 45 days on market; 9% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 328 establishments (-16%); 5,465 jobs (-12%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $417,688 (+2% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $2,012/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 327 (2000 = 100); -6.2% 1 yr, +70% 5 yr, +88% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 32,755 vehicles a day on US 22 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,526 trucks; 12 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Phillipsburg Mall opened in 1989 as an indoor shopping center on U.S. Route 22 straddling Lopatcong and Pohatcong Townships. No further events are recorded, and its current status is listed as unknown.
Why. The record does not state reasons for any changes or the present condition.
Where it stands. Its present status and controlling owner are not specified in the record.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are documented.
- Open questions include the mall’s ownership, vacancy status, and potential reuse or redevelopment.
- Determining whether any zoning or incentive programs have been applied requires additional data.
For a developer
- Site size and current control are not provided in the record.
- Entitlement stage is unknown; no permits or approvals are mentioned.
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental constraints are not cited.
- The only market signal noted is a 3.7% county population growth from 2018‑2023.
What we do not know yet
- Current status (open, closed, demolished) is unknown.
- Owner or controlling entity is not identified.
- Details on anchor tenants, lease structures, debt, or demolition are missing.
- The opp_score and opp_reasons may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
- No information on site dimensions, zoning, floodplain, or transit proximity.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Liberty Village Premium Outlets, Hunterdon County, NJ · Malls · also in NJ; 32 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Phillipsburg Mall is under sale contract to become warehouse - … nj.com
- Another tenant vacates struggling Phillipsburg Mall lehighvalleylive.com
- Phillipsburg Mall Phillipsburg, NJ May 2018 | Mike Kalasnik | Flickr flickr.com
- Phillipsburg Mall - 1200 US-22, Phillipsburg, NJ 08865 - Hours ... businessyab.com
- Demolition set to begin on Phillipsburg Mall in coming weeks | New ... wfmz.com
- Warren County, New Jersey - Mostly Vacant Phillipsburg Mall (2021 ... youtube.com
- The life and death of the Phillipsburg Mall, in photos - pennlive.com pennlive.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 3.7% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1989Wikidata |
|---|---|
| County | Warren County |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Phillipsburg Mall was an indoor shopping mall located along U.S. Route 22 in Warren County, New Jersey, United States. Despite its name, the mall was actually located on the border of Lopatcong Township and Pohatcong Township, just east of Phillipsburg.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1989 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Phillipsburg Mall · 2026-05-18 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in New Jersey
Echelon MallVoorhees, NJ · 2011Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation, civic Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Rustic MallManville, NJRegreened · Regreening, industrial cleanup118-122 Elm StreetWestfield, NJRedevelopment, approved · a mixed-use three story building to replace the mostly vacant…126 BroadwayWoodcliff Lake, NJRedevelopment, approved · a three-story mixed-use development featuring eight apartments and…Apartments on 11 Cooper StreetCamden, NJRedevelopment, under construction · apartments on 11 Cooper Street, which will be housing 156 units as…Apple Ridge Country ClubMahwah, NJRedeveloped · nearly 80 upscale homes