Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Pennsylvania

MacDade Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedHolmes, PA

Opened 1970.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size260,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability12.8 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
KmartThis site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 338,160 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Low social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)This site: 0.21 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +114% fhfa · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 12.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “MacDade Mall” and “Holmes” (10 hits, first 10 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2015-02-27 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2015 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)GS Mortgage Securities Trust 2015-GC2812015-02-27 to 2015-02-278-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m2: GETTY 69209; INTERBORO SCHOOL DISTRICTEPA FRS
Census tract 420454035022,668 people, 6,634 per sq mi; median household income $70,368; median gross rent $1,103; 16% renters; 14.6% vacant units; 1.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 12.8 of 20; 169 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 325 m; land-use mix 0.24; 165,750 jobs within 45 min by car, 338,160 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Delaware County (PA), 20245 units in 5+ unit buildings, 9 in 2–4, 267 single-family; 2023: 12 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.21; socioeconomic 0.34; housing and transport 0.17; 12% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 19 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 24,393 m², 5.814060688018799 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population -13% (3,054 → 2,668); median income +37% ($51,228 → $70,368); renters 33% → 16%; median home value +28% ($157,300 → $201,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 14.7); expected annual loss $574,926; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)23,421 jobs in 1,536 establishments; average annual pay $39,168; employment location quotient 1.08; employment +0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,006 jobs; 596 in retail trade, 158 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42045403502)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 1.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (199 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 10.5%; median family income $84,000; 120 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsInterboro School District (KG-12); 8 public schools within 1 mile: Kindergarten Academy; Glenolden Sch; Interboro SHS; Prospect Park SchNCES EDGE
Elevation87 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025304 county-logged events: 161 thunderstorm wind, 105 flash flood, 26 hail, 8 flood; $30,455,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 19036, 2026-09median list price $227,000 (-5.4% on the year); 26 active listings; median 46 days on market; 25% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,554 establishments (-9%); 25,519 jobs (+3%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $362,572 (+3% 1 yr, +29% 5 yr); typical rent $1,748/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025403 (2000 = 100), +56% 5 yr, +114% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)25,103 vehicles a day on MACDADE BL (principal arterial); 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

MacDade Mall opened in 1970 as a 260,000‑square‑foot shopping center with approximately 35 stores. It operated as a mall until it closed; the record does not specify a closure date or subsequent use.

Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall’s closure; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition events are listed.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the year and cause of closure, current ownership, and potential reuse or redevelopment options.

For a developer

  • Site size is 260,000 sf GLA.
  • Control and entitlement stage are unknown from the record.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not recorded.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are not available.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date is not recorded.
  • Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) are not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Present physical condition and any demolition or reuse activity are undocumented.
  • Zoning, flood‑plain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not provided in the record.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area260,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak35Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsKmart, Acme Markets
AddressMacDade Blvd. & South Ave.
CountyDelaware
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened

Sources

More in Pennsylvania