Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Arizona

Metrocenter

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedPhoenix, AZ

Metrocenter opened 1973, closed 2020 after anchor losses; Carlyle bought it 2021; status unknown, 37.86 acres, zoning TBD in Phoenix. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Metrocenter
Metrocenter. Photo: Haken arizona, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/749919688402876 overture · all sites with this
Ownership
Single-purpose entityThis site: PHOENIX IG LLC county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 139,004 epa-walkability · all sites with this
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 223,136 on ~~I~017~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 58 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 13,059 units, Maricopa County census-bps · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.90 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: ~~I~017~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 04013104205 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 63% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +142% fhfa · all sites with this
Tract population up 25%+ since 2013This site: +30% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 17.7 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata
Owner of recordPhoenix Ig LLCcounty assessor

Parcels, tax and title

Parcels within 40 m of the site point, as published by the county (layer); county terms apply; unverified here. Mortgages, liens and deeds are recorder records, not assessor data: Maricopa County Recorder.
ParcelOwner of recordAcresUse · zoningValue (appraised · assessed · taxable)Last sale · deed
14916005C
all 42 county fields
APN14916005C
FLOOR1
BOOK149
MAP16
ITEM005C
OWNER_NAMEPHOENIX IG LLC
MAIL_ADDR11450 BRICKELL AVE STE 2560
MAIL_CITYMIAMI
MAIL_STATEFL
MAIL_ZIP33131
PHYSICAL_STREET_NUM9817
PHYSICAL_STREET_DIRN
PHYSICAL_STREET_NAMEMETRO
PHYSICAL_STREET_TYPEPKWY
PHYSICAL_CITYPHOENIX
PHYSICAL_ZIP85051
APN_DASH149-16-005C
LONGITUDE-112.12184739483435
LATITUDE33.57525726650867
PHYSICAL_ADDRESS9817 N METRO PKWY W PHOENIX 85051
MAIL_ADDRESS1450 BRICKELL AVE STE 2560 MIAMI FL USA 33131
MAIL_CNTRYUSA
PHYSICAL_STREET_POSTDIRW
DEED_NUMBER20230036688
DEED_DATE1674432000000
LAND_SIZE1649192
STR26 3N 2E
CONST_YEAR1973
TAX_YR_CUR2027
FCV_CUR 35,064,870
LPV_CUR 15,390,701
TAX_YR_PREV2026
FCV_PREV 27,144,095
LPV_PREV 14,657,811
PUC2630
CITY_ZONINGCONTACT LOCAL JURISDICTION
JURISDICTIONPHOENIX
LC_CUR1.12
LC_PREVM
Phoenix Ig LLC37.92630 · CONTACT LOCAL JURISDICTION$35.1M (appraised)
assessed — · taxable $15.4M
—
deed 149
Total37.9$35.1M

Securitised debt and public filers

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2009Macerich 10-K, 2010-02-26Metrocenter Mall Phoenix, AZ
match: name-city
1,121,718
in-line 594,469
77.7% leasedbuilt 1973 / acquired 2005 / renovated 200615.0%Dillard's, Macy's, Sears

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m11: EXPRESSLY PORTRAITS; FAST 1 HOUR FOTO; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CENTER #8222; KIDDIE KANDIDS; METROCENTER MALLEPA FRS
Census tract 040131042056,919 people, 5,289 per sq mi; median household income $52,153; median gross rent $1,117; 63% renters; 1.7% vacant units; 3.3% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 17.7 of 20; 332 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 663 m; land-use mix 0.86; 156,169 jobs within 45 min by car, 139,004 by transit; 32% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 3 civic, 28 food and drink; 58 cycleway segments, 94 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 04013104205 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Maricopa County (AZ), 202413,059 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,654 in 2–4, 21,667 single-family; 2023: 18,616 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.90; socioeconomic 0.84; housing and transport 0.89; 28% below 150% of poverty; 23% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 11 within 25 km: Manistee Town Center (6.2 km); Maryvale Mall (9.7 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Winter Wonderland- Metrocenter Mall (amusement_park, confidence 0.67, from Overture, meta); building footprint 13,701 m², 9.4 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialno website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +30% (5,342 → 6,919); median income +33% ($39,103 → $52,153); renters 60% → 63%; median home value +168% ($116,300 → $312,100)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 83.4); expected annual loss $2.5M; high: inland flooding, heat wave; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 202311,076 establishments (+6%); 236,674 jobs (+29%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $455,168 (-1% 1 yr, +7% 5 yr); typical rent $1,715/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025471 (2000 = 100); -1.2% 1 yr, +49% 5 yr, +142% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)223,136 vehicles a day on ~~I~017~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (Interstate, 8 lanes); 18,069 trucks; 10 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Metrocenter opened in 1973 as a regional enclosed mall in northwest Phoenix. Over time it lost anchors such as Sears, JCPenney and Macy's, retaining Harkins Theatres, Walmart Supercenter and Dillard's Clearance Center until its closure on June 30, 2020. Since January 2021 the property has been owned by Carlyle Development Group, though its current status is listed as unknown.

Why. The record shows multiple anchor vacancies prior to closure but does not specify the cause of the mall's shutdown. Therefore the reason for closure is not stated in the record.

Where it stands. As of the record, the site status is unknown, with ownership held by Carlyle Development Group since January 2021.

For a planner

  • Need to verify zoning and land-use designation (currently marked “CONTACT LOCAL JURISDICTION”).
  • Ownership transferred from PHOENIX IG LLC (parcel owner) to Carlyle Development Group in 2021, indicating a change in control.
  • Open questions include the mall’s future use, redevelopment potential, and any pending entitlements or approvals.

For a developer

  • Site size: 37.86 acres (single parcel).
  • Current control: Carlyle Development Group (owner since Jan 2021), status unknown.
  • Entitlement stage: zoning listed as “CONTACT LOCAL JURISDICTION,” so approvals unclear.
  • Market signals: opportunity score 20.0, driven by 5.6% county growth 2018‑23 and median rent $1,587; contextual constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure not stated in the record.
  • Current operational status (vacant, demolished, partially reused) is unknown.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not detailed.
  • Transit access and proximity to infrastructure are not specified.
  • Data quality is thin (single source, draft verification), limiting confidence in parcel and ownership details.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 5.6% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,587

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1973Wikidata
AnchorsDillard's, JCPenney
CountyMaricopa County
Census division8 · Mountain
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Metrocenter was a regional enclosed shopping mall in northwest Phoenix, Arizona. It was bounded by Interstate 17, 31st, Dunlap and Peoria avenues. Before its closure, the three most recently open anchor stores were Harkins Theatres, Walmart Supercenter, and Dillard's Clearance Center; three additional vacant anchor stores included former Sears, JCPenney, and Macy's locations. The mall featured 100 stores, a 12 screen movie theater, and a food court. Since January 2021, the mall had been owned by the Carlyle Development Group based in New York City. The mall officially closed on June 30, 2020.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1973 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Arizona