Malls · Georgia
Mall at Stonecrest
Opened 2001. Partial Reinhabited in 2021. Owner of record Nnn Reit LP.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/117514231905 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.mallatstonecrest.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: NNN REIT LP county-parcels · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 138,000 on 20 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 20 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.23 cdc-svi · all sites with thisReinhabited
This site: Sears reuse: SeaQuest, event space, food hall record · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Partly retrofittedpublic sources reported |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Partial Reinhabitedpublic sources reported |
| What is there now | Sears reuse: SeaQuest, event space, food hallpublic sources reported |
| Retrofit year | 2021public sources reported |
| Redeveloper | Stonecrest Resortspublic sources reported |
| Owner of record | Nnn Reit LPcounty assessor reported |
Parcels, tax and title
| Parcel | Owner of record | Acres | Use · zoning | Value (appraised · assessed · taxable) | Last sale · deed | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
16 170 04 002all 32 county fields
| Nnn Reit LP | 1.9 | $2.0M (appraised) assessed $801,120 | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
16 183 01 010all 32 county fields
| Individual (Name Withheld) | 1.5 | $3.7M (appraised) assessed $1.5M | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
16 170 04 003all 32 county fields
| Chick-Fil-A Inc | 1.1 | $3.6M (appraised) assessed $1.4M | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total | 4.5 | $9.3M |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Mall at Stonecrest” and “Stonecrest” (90 hits, first 90 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-03-16 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2005 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | BANC OF AMERICA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE INC | 9 | 2005-03-16 to 2005-04-08 | 8-K 9 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Banc of America Commercial Mortgage Inc., Series 2005-1 | 2 | 2005-04-22 to 2005-04-22 | 8-K 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | FOREST CITY ENTERPRISES INC | 54 | 2001-04-26 to 2015-11-03 | 10-Q 21, 8-K 17, 10-K 15, 10-Q/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Forest City Realty Trust, Inc. | 2 | 2016-02-23 to 2017-02-27 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | MILLS CORP | 1 | 2003-03-31 to 2003-03-31 | 10-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 0EPA FRS |
| Census tract 13089023440 | 4,765 people, 1,229 per sq mi; median household income $82,079; median gross rent $1,439; 47% renters; 10.0% vacant units; 10.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, DeKalb County (GA), 2024 | 385 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 853 single-family; 2023: 1,563 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.23; socioeconomic 0.47; housing and transport 0.12; 7% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 8 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place The Mall at Stonecrest (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 12,027 m², 8.597543716430664 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.mallatstonecrest.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 37,486 since 2015; 3,721 in the last 12 months (-3% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-06 with 1,121Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 28.4); expected annual loss $1.0M; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 32,172 jobs in 2,296 establishments; average annual pay $47,643; employment location quotient 1.04; employment -4.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 3,548 jobs; 1,960 in retail trade, 1,000 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 13089023440)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 34th income percentile as adults; 4.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,099 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 70% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 16.7%; median family income $51,932; 1,066 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | DeKalb County School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 855 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 157 county-logged events: 124 thunderstorm wind, 13 hail, 10 flash flood, 4 tornado; $5,131,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 30038, 2026-09 | median list price $227,450 (-7.5% on the year); 196 active listings; median 55 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,187 establishments (-1%); 32,286 jobs (+6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $332,528 (-2% 1 yr, +9% 5 yr); typical rent $1,764/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 297 (2000 = 100), +91% 5 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 138,000 vehicles a day on 20 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 12,214 trucks; 39 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Mall at Stonecrest opened in 2001 as a traditional mall. In 2021 it underwent a reinhabit retrofit led by developer Stonecrest Resorts, repurposing the former Sears into SeaQuest, event space, and food hall. The site currently holds a partial status, indicating some vacancy or incomplete reuse.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is in partial status, with retrofit oversight by developer Stonecrest Resorts (since 2021) while the underlying parcels are held by NNN REIT LP, an individual owner, and Chick-fil-A Inc.
For a planner
- Precedent: reuse of former Sears anchor for SeaQuest, event space, and food hall under a reinhabit strategy.
- Policy tools: not specified in the record; no explicit incentives or zoning changes noted.
- Open questions: extent of remaining vacancy, long-term viability of the mixed‑use program, and integration with surrounding land uses.
For a developer
- Site size: approximately 4.5 acres across three parcels (NNN REIT LP 1.89 ac, individual 1.53 ac, Chick-fil-A 1.09 ac).
- Control: retrofit led by developer Stonecrest Resorts since 2021, though parcel ownership is split among multiple entities.
- Market signal: opp_reasons cite median rent of $1,591, indicating local rental levels; retrofit already built suggests limited further development opportunity.
What we do not know yet
- Reason for retrofit (anchor loss, competition, debt) not stated in the record.
- Flood, transit, or environmental constraints are not mentioned.
- Detailed vacancy or lease‑up status after the retrofit is unknown.
- Ownership of the individual parcel is withheld, limiting clarity on control.
- Verification status is draft with only two sources, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Buford Clairmont Mall, Chamblee, GA · Malls · same strategy: reinhabit; also in GA; 28 km away
- Venture Mall, Duluth, GA · Malls · same strategy: reinhabit; also in GA; 29 km away
- High Street, Dunwoody, GA · Office parks · same strategy: reinhabit; also in GA; 36 km away
- Furniture Store, Norcross, GA · Other · same strategy: reinhabit; also in GA; 27 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Stonecrest Resorts announces plans for $17 million family entertainment ... ocgnews.com
- Mall at Stonecrest in Atlanta flickr.com
- The Mall at Stonecrest bought by investors - The Champion Newspaper ... thechampionnewspaper.com
- The Mall At Stonecrest, Lithonia, GA: A Treas… bestattractions.org
- The Mall at Stonecrest - Wikiwand wikiwand.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- median rent $1,591
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Now called / also known as | Privi |
|---|---|
| Opened | 2001Wikidata |
| County | DeKalb County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 2001 Opened (Wikidata)
- 2021 Retrofit: reinhabit
Sources
- REBusiness Online · 2023
- Urbanize · 2023
More in Georgia
Phipps PlazaAtlanta, GA · 2018Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use