Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Georgia

Union Station

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedUnion City, GA

Union Station Mall opened 1980, declined due to regional competition, closed 2010, demolished 2014 for Atlanta Metro Studios redevelopment ongoing. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Union Station
Exterior view of a building labeled Union Station with adjacent storefronts under overcast sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Mike Kalasnik from Charlotte, USA, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Ownership
Public bodyThis site: DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY county-parcels · all sites with this
Single-purpose entityThis site: DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY OR CPUS UNION STATION LP county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 155,000 on 85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 8,159 units, Fulton County census-bps · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $38,196 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 79% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 91,815 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported
Owner of recordDevelopment Authority Of Fulton County Or Cpus Union Station LPcounty assessor reported

Parcels, tax and title

Parcels within 40 m of the site point, as published by the county (layer); county terms apply; unverified here. Mortgages, liens and deeds are recorder records, not assessor data: Fulton County Clerk of Superior Court (GSCCCA).
ParcelOwner of recordAcresUse · zoningValue (appraised · assessed · taxable)Last sale · deed
09F150800620344
all 26 county fields
ParcelID09F150800620344
TaxYear2025
Address6000 STUDIO WAY
AddrNumber6000
AddrStreetSTUDIO
AddrSuffixWAY
OwnerDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY OR CPUS UNION STATION LP
OwnerAddr1PO BOX 638
OwnerAddr2ADDISON TX 75001
TaxDist50Z
TotAssess19404690
LandAssess323860
ImprAssess19080830
TotAppr53901900
LandAppr899600
ImprAppr53002300
LUCode888
ClassCodeI5
LandAcres59.937
NbrHoodC808
SubdivLotTRACT 1
FeatureID09F150800620344
Development Authority Of Fulton County Or Cpus Union Station LP
PO BOX 638, ADDISON TX 75001
59.9888$53.9M (appraised)
assessed $19.4M
—
09F150800620351
all 26 county fields
ParcelID09F150800620351
TaxYear2025
Address6010 STUDIO WAY
AddrNumber6010
AddrStreetSTUDIO
AddrSuffixWAY
OwnerDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY
OwnerAddr1445 BISHOP ST STE 200
OwnerAddr2ATLANTA GA 30318
TaxDist50Z
TotAssess9108000
LandAssess1152790
ImprAssess7955210
TotAppr25300000
LandAppr3202200
ImprAppr22097800
LUCode888
ClassCodeI5
LandAcres20.897
NbrHoodC808
SubdivLotTRACT 2
FeatureID09F150800620351
Development Authority Of Fulton County
445 BISHOP ST STE 200, ATLANTA GA 30318
20.9888$25.3M (appraised)
assessed $9.1M
—
Total80.8$79.2M

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Union Station” and “Union City” (63 hits, first 63 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-01-07 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2004 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Credit Suisse Commercial Mortgage Trust Series 2007-C522007-11-27 to 2007-11-278-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)GE COMMERCIAL MORT CORP PASS THR CERTS SER 2004-C112004-01-07 to 2004-01-078-K 1
Public owner (weak)EQUITY RESIDENTIAL (EQR)352005-03-14 to 2026-02-1310-K 21, 8-K 14
Public owner (weak)ERP OPERATING LTD PARTNERSHIP332005-03-14 to 2026-02-1310-K 21, 8-K 12
Public owner (weak)CATELLUS DEVELOPMENT CORP42001-03-21 to 2003-08-1110-K 3, 10-K/A 1
Public owner (weak)CATELLUS DEVELOPMENT CORP22004-03-12 to 2005-03-0410-K 2
Public owner (weak)GRAMERCY CAPITAL CORP12010-03-17 to 2010-03-1710-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m2: JIFFY LUBE STORE #1634; OAKLEY TOWNHOMES - 18EPA FRS
Census tract 131210105252,658 people, 3,192 per sq mi; median household income $38,196; median gross rent $1,316; 79% renters; 4.8% vacant units; 11.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)4 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 1 civic, 14 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 43 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Fulton County (GA), 20248,159 units in 5+ unit buildings, 481 in 2–4, 2,937 single-family; 2023: 7,096 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.49; socioeconomic 0.64; housing and transport 0.18; 19% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 25 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 91,815 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views10,483 since 2015; 2,650 in the last 12 months (-23% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-05 with 488Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 6.1); expected annual loss $378,998; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)55,938 jobs in 4,327 establishments; average annual pay $50,638; employment location quotient 0.60; employment -2.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,754 jobs; 98 in retail trade, 200 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 13121010525)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 32th income percentile as adults; 4.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,451 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 56% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 18.6%; median family income $44,756; 480 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsFulton County School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE
Elevation954 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025266 county-logged events: 174 thunderstorm wind, 48 flash flood, 34 hail, 10 tornado; $9,525,000 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 30291, 2026-09median list price $231,225 (-4.4% on the year); 101 active listings; median 51 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20233,732 establishments (+10%); 55,757 jobs (+14%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $414,221 (-2% 1 yr, +11% 5 yr); typical rent $1,926/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)155,000 vehicles a day on 85 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 13,719 trucks; 36 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Union Station opened in 1980 as Shannon Mall and was later renamed Union Station Mall after renovations in 2006. The mall experienced decline through the 1990s due to competition from neighboring cities, closed in November 2010, and demolition began in late October 2014 to make way for Atlanta Metro Studios, a film and television studio.

Why. The record attributes the mall's decline to growth in neighboring cities that drew shoppers away, indicating competitive pressure as the primary cause. No explicit anchor loss, debt, or demolition causes are stated.

Where it stands. The site is currently controlled by the Development Authority of Fulton County (and CPUS Union Station LP) and is being redeveloped as Atlanta Metro Studios following demolition that started in 2014.

For a planner

  • The redevelopment involved a public‑private partnership with the Fulton County Development Authority.
  • Policy tools used are not detailed in the record, but the authority’s role suggests land‑assembly and financing incentives.
  • Open questions include the final studio build‑out timeline, any remaining environmental remediation, and long‑term economic impact on Union City.

For a developer

  • Total site area is approximately 80.8 acres split between two parcels owned by the Development Authority of Fulton County and CPUS Union Station LP.
  • Control lies with the Development Authority, indicating a public entity that can facilitate entitlements and infrastructure.
  • Entitlements appear granted for studio use, as demolition began in 2014 for Atlanta Metro Studios.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are not specified in the record.
  • Market signals show Fulton County grew 4.6% from 2018‑2023 and median rent is $1,635, indicating modest regional growth.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact current ownership split between the Development Authority and CPUS Union Station LP is unclear from the record.
  • The record does not specify any flood‑plain, wetland, or hazardous‑material constraints on the site.
  • Transit proximity and access to major highways beyond the mention of I‑85 adjacency are not detailed.
  • Completion status of the Atlanta Metro Studios build‑out and any remaining phases are unknown.
  • Financial details such as debt, financing terms, or subsidies used for the redevelopment are not provided.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 4.6% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,635

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1980Wikidata
CountyFulton County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Union Station was a shopping mall in Union City, Georgia, in southwest Metro Atlanta adjacent to Interstate 85. Originally Shannon Mall, it opened in 1980 and initially thrived until the 1990s when growth in neighboring cities drew shoppers away from the mall. In 1987, it was renamed Shannon Southpark Mall, but the name was changed back to Shannon Mall in 1999. After new ownership and renovations in 2006, the name was changed to Union Station Mall. After many years of decline, the mall closed in November 2010, and demolition began in late October 2014 to make way for Atlanta Metro Studios, a film and television studio.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1980 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Georgia