Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Indiana

Washington Square Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedEvansville, IN

Opened 1963.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size550,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability10.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/133656949833147 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.shopwashingtonsquare.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 30,552 on GREEN RIVER fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; tornado, heat wave, earthquake, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave fema-nri · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.8% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Washington Square Mall” and “Evansville” (54 hits, first 54 sampled, 6 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)MACERICH CO (MAC)442001-03-29 to 2022-07-288-K 31, 10-K 11, 8-K/A 1, 10-K/A 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: CVS PHARMACY # 18079; DEACONESS CLINIC SOUTH GREEN RIVER RD; PRE-SCHOOL ADDITION HOLY ROSARY CATHOLIC CHURCH; SEARS ROEBUCK & CO 1330/6710EPA FRS
Census tract 181630038014,922 people, 3,274 per sq mi; median household income $63,388; median gross rent $1,021; 43% renters; 10.8% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.5 of 20; 115 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.62; 37,862 jobs within 45 min by car; 22% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Vanderburgh County (IN), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 58 in 2–4, 358 single-family; 2023: 23 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.37; socioeconomic 0.25; housing and transport 0.55; 14% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Washington Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 35,189 m², 5.61733341217041 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.shopwashingtonsquare.com (alive); archived 2000–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -1% (4,994 → 4,922); median income +56% ($40,599 → $63,388); renters 50% → 43%; median home value +52% ($127,200 → $192,700)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 87.1); expected annual loss $2.5M; high: tornado, heat wave, earthquake, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 148 units: Horizon Homes (148 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023741 establishments (-7%); 12,201 jobs (-3%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $202,409 (+4% 1 yr, +29% 5 yr); typical rent $1,058/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025305 (2000 = 100); +1.1% 1 yr, +50% 5 yr, +82% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)30,552 vehicles a day on GREEN RIVER (minor arterial, 2 lanes); 462 trucks; 20 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Washington Square Mall opened in 1963 as a 550,000‑square‑foot retail center with 53 stores at its peak. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. The exact date of closure and any subsequent uses are not provided.

Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall’s closure, such as anchor store losses, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is presently closed and the controlling owner is not identified in the record.

For a planner

  • Limited historical data prevents assessment of closure triggers or reuse precedents.
  • Policy tools such as tax increment financing or zoning changes have not been documented.
  • Key open questions include the timeline of closure, current ownership, and any existing entitlements for redevelopment.

For a developer

  • Site size: approximately 550,000 sq ft of gross leasable area.
  • Ownership and control are unknown, affecting ability to negotiate or acquire.
  • Entitlement stage is unspecified; no public record of approved plans or permits.
  • Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are not provided in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date and cause of closure are missing.
  • Current owner, any liens, or deed restrictions are not stated.
  • Environmental conditions, flood zone status, and proximity to transit are unknown.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data (demographics, income, retail demand) are absent.
  • The opportunity score and its reasons are generic and lack sourced verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
  • Seminole Mall, Seminole, FL · Malls · similar GLA (425,442 sq ft); opened 1965
  • Burlington Square Mall, Burlington, NC · Malls · similar GLA (412,000 sq ft); opened 1969
  • Greenville Mall, Greenville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (455,157 sq ft); opened 1966

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Washington Square Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 550,000 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1963Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area550,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak53Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsVacant, Sears
AddressWashington Ave. & Green River Rd.
CountyVanderburgh
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1963 Opened

Sources

More in Indiana