Malls · North Carolina
Burlington Square Mall
Opened 1969.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Belk
This site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/133003853404760 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …https://burlington.cylex-usa.com/company/burlington-square-mall-21104372.html overture / http check · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 9% census-acs · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +62% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 141, 143OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: A CLEANER WORLD #180; CROWN NC 22; DAVE WESTCOTT BUICK; FLOW HONDA OF BURLINGTON; KELADE INCORPORATED D/B/A A CLEANER WORLDEPA FRS |
| Census tract 37001020701 | 5,491 people, 2,092 per sq mi; median household income $64,567; median gross rent $1,188; 24% renters; 7.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.5 of 20; 60 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.86; 37,026 jobs within 45 min by car; 5% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Alamance County (NC), 2024 | 403 units in 5+ unit buildings, 64 in 2–4, 1,999 single-family; 2023: 1,083 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.58; socioeconomic 0.42; housing and transport 0.83; 18% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 1 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Burlington Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.48, from Overture, meta); building footprint 35,632 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | burlington.cylex-usa.com (down or redirecting, status 403); archived 2013–2016 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +14% (4,804 → 5,491); median income +62% ($39,966 → $64,567); renters 30% → 24%; median home value +32% ($144,300 → $190,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 58.1); expected annual loss $1.6M; high: inland flooding, winter weather, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 0 units: Forestdale Meadows (None units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 628 establishments (+2%); 9,460 jobs (+9%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $290,921 (+1% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,339/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 345 (2000 = 100); -8.4% 1 yr, +57% 5 yr, +89% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 28,244 vehicles a day on US-70 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 477 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1969 as a regional mall, Burlington Square Mall reached a peak of 43 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor tenant loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the present owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No documented precedents or policy interventions for this site are noted in the record.
- Open questions include the causes of closure and potential reuse strategies.
- The site’s zoning and any existing planning designations are not specified.
For a developer
- Site size: 412,000 sq ft of gross leasable area.
- Current ownership and control are unknown per the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning approvals, and any pending permits are not recorded.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Reasons for closure are not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
- Any redevelopment proposals, zoning changes, or entitlements are unknown.
- Environmental, flood, and transit constraints have not been documented.
- The record is marked as ‘draft’ verified status, indicating possible incomplete or unreviewed data.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973; also in NC
- Greenville Mall, Greenville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (455,157 sq ft); opened 1966; also in NC
- Wilson Mall, Wilson, NC · Malls · similar GLA (471,880 sq ft); opened 1965; also in NC
- Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Burlington Square Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- 13 Burlington Square Mall Stock Photos, High-Res Pictures, and Im… gettyimages.com
- Trip Downtown 2014-Mar08: Burlington Square Mall walkthrough youtube.com
- Burlington Square Mall Photos and Premium Hig… gettyimages.dk
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county grew 8.5% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1969Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 412,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer |
| Stores at peak | 43Esri 2014 layer |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Sears, Belk, Goody's Family Clothing |
| Address | Church St. (US 70) & Huffman Mill Rd. |
| County | Alamance |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1969 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in North Carolina
Freedom MallCharlotte, NC · 2011Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: government offices
Midtown Square MallCharlotte, NC · 2006Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets Partial regreening: greenway
North Hills MallRaleigh, NC · 2008Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Oak Hollow MallHigh Point, NC · 2014Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: educationWestchester MallHigh Point, NC · 1995Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: religious Partial redevelopment: residentialBallantyne Corporate ParkCharlotte, NCRedeveloped · mixed-use destination with employment, residential, retail, arts &…