Malls · Florida
Seminole Mall
Opened 1965.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Kmart
This site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/176945862335874 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://kmrt.us/Kmart4sq overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 53,000 on PARK BLVD fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,028/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.82 cdc-svi · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $44,343 census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +202% fhfa · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 16.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Seminole Mall” and “Seminole” (6 hits, first 6 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-09-08 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2005 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | JPMorgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Corp. Series 2005-CIBC13 | 2 | 2005-11-21 to 2005-12-12 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2005-09-08 to 2005-09-08 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 12: CHICK-FIL-A - SEMINOLE; CVS PHARMACY #0293; EXXON RAS #45603; MASON'S DRY CLEANERS; PETCO STORE #2541EPA FRS |
| Census tract 12103025111 | 2,547 people, 4,984 per sq mi; median household income $44,343; median gross rent $1,396; 40% renters; 37.7% vacant units; 4.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 16.3 of 20; 195 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 131 m; land-use mix 0.6; 64,046 jobs within 45 min by car, 38,060 by transit; 70% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Pinellas County (FL), 2024 | 1,422 units in 5+ unit buildings, 70 in 2–4, 1,135 single-family; 2023: 1,826 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.82; socioeconomic 0.75; housing and transport 0.99; 34% below 150% of poverty; 17% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 4 within 25 km: Pinellas Square Mall (9.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Seminole Mall (shopping, confidence 0.91, from Overture, meta); building footprint 13,403 m², 6.0623979568481445 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | kmrt.us (down or redirecting, status 0) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -3% (2,626 → 2,547); median income +16% ($38,207 → $44,343); renters 30% → 40%; median home value +20% ($84,900 → $102,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 71.1); expected annual loss $1.3M; high: hurricane, lightning; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 50,590 jobs in 3,926 establishments; average annual pay $43,384; employment location quotient 1.16; employment -1.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,467 jobs; 331 in retail trade, 424 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12103025111)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 45th income percentile as adults; -2.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (102 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 13.2%; median family income $65,069; 123 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Pinellas County School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: SEMINOLE ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 35 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 134 county-logged events: 53 thunderstorm wind, 47 lightning, 19 tornado, 5 flood; $22,904,000 property damage reported; 4 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 33772, 2026-09 | median list price $371,200 (-2.7% on the year); 101 active listings; median 64 days on market; 37% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,779 establishments (+6%); 54,288 jobs (+11%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $368,917 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,028/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2023 | 354 (2000 = 100); +4.6% 1 yr, +92% 5 yr, +202% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 53,000 vehicles a day on PARK BLVD (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 2,438 trucks; 5 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Seminole Mall opened in 1965 as a 425,442‑sq‑ft mall with 51 stores. The record shows no further events and lists the site as closed today.
Why. The record does not state why the mall closed; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition details are provided.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are documented in the record.
- Open questions include the timeline of decline, reasons for closure, and potential reuse options.
For a developer
- Site size: 425,442 sq ft GLA; peak store count 51.
- Ownership and control are unknown from the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning, and any land‑use approvals are not specified.
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental constraints are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date is unknown.
- Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) are not stated.
- Current owner or controlling entity is not identified.
- Any existing deeds, liens, or encumbrances are missing.
- Context‑layer data (floodplain, transit, environmental) are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
- Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
- New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971
- Washington Square Mall, Evansville, IN · Malls · similar GLA (550,000 sq ft); opened 1963
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Seminole Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Developers propose razing Seminole Mall, building new shopping mecca tampabay.com
- Dead Mall: Seminole Mall Florida youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- median rent $1,525
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1965Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 425,442 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 51Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Stein Mart, Kmart, Bealls, Publix |
| Address | 113th St. N. & Park Blvd |
| County | Pinellas |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1965 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02