Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Kansas

Hutchinson Mall (Hutchinson)

Imported, unreviewedClosedHutchinson, KS

Opened 1985.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size525,368 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability10.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.bbtheatres.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -18% census-cbp · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $36,977 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 20155001000 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 55% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -2.2% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 54,421 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Hutchinson Mall” and “Hutchinson” (114 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-11-13 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)GS Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-GG812006-11-13 to 2006-11-138-K 1
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)402001-05-11 to 2007-02-288-K 18, 10-K 12, 10-Q 10
Public owner (weak)DEVELOPERS DIVERSIFIED REALTY CORP (SITC, SITC-PA)262001-04-02 to 2009-02-238-K 23, 10-K 3
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/232001-03-30 to 2007-03-1610-K 12, 10-Q 10, 8-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · 0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m8: HARBOR FREIGHT TOOLS USA #741; HUTCHINSON CROSSING; KS DEPT OF CHILDREN & FAMILIES; NOBLE REPLAT; PANDA CENTEREPA FRS
Census tract 201550010002,098 people, 1,054 per sq mi; median household income $36,977; median gross rent $832; 55% renters; 9.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.5 of 20; 142 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.76; 12,176 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 20155001000 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Reno County (KS), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 40 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.51; socioeconomic 0.61; housing and transport 0.49; 34% below 150% of poverty; 14% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Uptown Hutch (0.5 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace B&b Hutchinson Mall 8 (movie_theater, confidence 1.00, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 54,421 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.bbtheatres.com (alive); archived 2006–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -20% (2,607 → 2,098); median income +11% ($33,371 → $36,977); renters 41% → 55%; median home value +39% ($52,100 → $72,300)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 66.5); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 144 units: Commerce Gardens (96 units); Porter Commons Apts (48 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023219 establishments (-18%); 2,893 jobs (-14%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $155,260 (+6% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $827/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)16,090 vehicles a day on E 17TH AVE (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 20 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Hutchinson Mall opened in 1985 and operated as a regional mall with a peak of 78 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. No additional details about its operational timeline are provided.

Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor tenant loss, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Large 525,368 sq ft vacant mall site.
  • County population declined 2.2% from 2018‑23, indicating reduced local demand.
  • No information on zoning, incentives, or environmental reviews is present.

For a developer

  • Site size approximately 525k sq ft.
  • Ownership or controlling party not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement status unknown; no details on permits or approvals.
  • No flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted in the record.
  • County population decline signals a softening local market.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date unknown.
  • Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) not stated.
  • Owner or controlling entity not identified.
  • Any existing liens, deeds, or reuse deals are not recorded.
  • Zoning, floodplain, transit access, and environmental conditions are unspecified.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' with only one source, indicating thin verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Hutchinson Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 525,368 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county shrank -2.2% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1985Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area525,368 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak78Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsDillard's, JCPenney, Sears, Orscheln
AddressHwy. 61 & 17th St.
CountyReno
Census division4 · West North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1985 Opened

Sources

More in Kansas