Malls · Michigan
Tel-Twelve Mall
Opened 1968. Closed 2001. Redeveloped in 2001.
documented
Developed as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 79,119 on Telegraph Rd fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +102% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +62% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …a power center composed of big box tenants extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …a power center composed of big box tenants extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed documentedDeveloped as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedDeveloped as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants. |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | a power center composed of big box tenantsextracted, unreviewed documentedDeveloped as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants. |
| Retrofit year | 2001extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Redeveloper | Ramco-Gershenson Properties Trustextracted, unreviewed reported |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Tel-Twelve Mall” and “Southfield” (6 hits, first 6 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | RAMCO GERSHENSON PROPERTIES TRUST | 5 | 2001-03-12 to 2011-05-05 | 10-K 2, 8-K 2, 10-Q 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 9 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 16, 17, 18A, 18BOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 22: A-1 CLEANERS; AMOCO OIL CO; BELLE TIRE DISTRIBUTORS INC; BUDGET RENT A CAR; EXXONMOBIL OIL CORPEPA FRS |
| Census tract 26125160800 | 4,016 people, 2,533 per sq mi; median household income $85,757; median gross rent $1,601; 46% renters; 11.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.0 of 20; 38 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.76; 156,989 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 1 civic, 14 food and drink; 3 cycleway segments, 58 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Oakland County (MI), 2024 | 961 units in 5+ unit buildings, 55 in 2–4, 1,870 single-family; 2023: 530 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.35; socioeconomic 0.30; housing and transport 0.33; 14% below 150% of poverty; 7% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 17 within 25 km: Tally Hall shopping center (8.0 km); Northland Center (8.3 km); Rogell Park (8.5 km); Livonia Mall (9.1 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 20,533 m², 6.7 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 29,536 since 2015; 2,204 in the last 12 months (-18% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-04 with 689Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +1% (3,976 → 4,016); median income +62% ($53,056 → $85,757); renters 45% → 46%; median home value +120% ($141,400 → $311,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 48.2); expected annual loss $1.1M; high: tornado, cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 69,758 jobs in 4,802 establishments; average annual pay $46,445; employment location quotient 0.98; employment -2.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2021 | 2,171 jobs; 1,103 in retail trade, 175 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 26125160800)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2021 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 1.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (149 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 25% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 4.9%; median family income $92,969; 78 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Southfield Public School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 694 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 209 county-logged events: 160 thunderstorm wind, 29 hail, 11 flash flood, 4 flood; $24,912,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 48034, 2026-09 | median list price $299,250 (-3.9% on the year); 17 active listings; median 41 days on market; 13% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 4,461 establishments (-9%); 70,092 jobs (-0%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $365,826 (+2% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr); typical rent $1,726/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 327 (2000 = 100); +2.3% 1 yr, +40% 5 yr, +102% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 79,119 vehicles a day on Telegraph Rd (principal arterial, 8 lanes); 3,085 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Tel-Twelve Mall opened in 1968 as an enclosed mall and operated until 2001, when anchor tenant Crowley's closed and the property was demolished. It was rebuilt that same year as a power center with big-box tenants and remains operating today under RPT Realty.
Why. Anchor loss (Crowley's closure in 2000) prompted the demolition and redevelopment as a power center; the record does not cite debt, competition, or other causes.
Where it stands. The site is currently operating as a power center owned and managed by RPT Realty, a subsidiary of Kimco Realty since 2024.
For a planner
- Precedent: 2001 demolition and rebuild as a power center (recorded event).
- Policy tools: not stated in the record.
- Open questions: long-term viability of big-box format and potential for further adaptive reuse.
For a developer
- Site size: not specified in record.
- Control: owned by RPT Realty (Kimco Realty subsidiary).
- Entitlement stage: redevelopment completed 2001, now operating; no further entitlements noted.
- Constraints: flood, transit, and environmental conditions not mentioned in record.
- Market signals: tract-level data not provided in record.
What we do not know yet
- Missing site acreage and parcel breakdown.
- Current tenant roster beyond listed anchors unknown.
- Flood zone, transit access, and environmental constraints not detailed.
- Ownership timeline specifics (exact years of RPT Realty control) not given.
- Financial performance or lease terms not included; verified status is draft.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Livonia Mall, Livonia, MI · Malls · opened 1964; same strategy: redevelop; also in MI
- Universal Mall, Warren, MI · Malls · opened 1965; same strategy: redevelop; also in MI
- Beloit Plaza, Beloit, WI · Malls · opened 1966; closed 2000; same strategy: redevelop
- Camillus Plaza, Camillus, NY · Malls · opened 1964; closed 2003; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Tel-Twelve Mall Southfield MI - WaterWinterWonderland.co… waterwinterwonderland.com
- TEL-TWELVE MALL - Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Updated August 2026 ... tel-twelve-mall.wheree.com
- Tel-Twelve Mall – Michigan Modern michiganmodern.org
- Tel-Twelve Mall local.ilacfiyati.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1968Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2001extracted, unreviewed documentedDeveloped as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants. |
| Original developer | Ramco-Gershenson Properties Trustextracted, unreviewed |
| Architect | Charles N. Agree |
| Anchors | Lowe's, Best Buy, PetSmart, Michaels, Ulta Beauty, DSW, Meijer |
| County | Oakland County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Tel-Twelve Mall is a shopping mall located in Southfield, Michigan, a suburb of Detroit, Michigan, United States. Developed as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants. Its anchor stores include Best Buy, DSW, Lowe's, Meijer, Michaels, Ulta Beauty, and PetSmart. The complex is owned and managed by RPT Realty, a subsidiary of Kimco Realty since 2024, the successor to Ramco-Gershenson Properties Trust, the same company that developed it.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1968 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1968 Opened
- 1985 Third anchor added
- 1994 Renovation added stores
- 2000 Crowley's closed
- 2001 Demolished and rebuilt as power center
- 2019 Office Depot closed
- 2020 Ulta Beauty opened
Sources
- Wikipedia: Tel-Twelve Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
12 quoted sentences
Developed as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants.
the same company that developed it.
Developed as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants.
Developed as an enclosed mall in 1968, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 as a power center composed of big box tenants.