Retrofit Atlas

Malls · North Carolina

Becker Village Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedRoanoke Rapids, NC

Opened 1980.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size360,894 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability10.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 216 units in 5 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -14% census-cbp · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -6.8% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km173OpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m3: ALAN VESTER NISSAN; QUALITY PONTIAC; ROANOKE LUMBER COMPANY**INACTIVE**EPA FRS
Census tract 370839302004,649 people, 1,882 per sq mi; median household income $58,333; median gross rent $802; 46% renters; 11.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.5 of 20; 87 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.74; 5,861 jobs within 45 min by car; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Halifax County (NC), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 55 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.68; socioeconomic 0.57; housing and transport 0.82; 20% below 150% of poverty; 3% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 29,062 m², 6.081820011138916 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population +2% (4,550 → 4,649); median income +34% ($43,589 → $58,333); renters 39% → 46%; median home value +21% ($146,400 → $177,400)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 50.8); expected annual loss $1.6M; high: tornado, winter weather; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km5 LIHTC properties, 216 units: Rooney Ridge (50 units); River View Green (44 units); Woodbury Apts (42 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)2,116 jobs in 198 establishments; average annual pay $35,100; employment location quotient 1.42; employment +0.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,226 jobs; 136 in retail trade, 105 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37083930200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 0.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (449 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 2% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 6.6%; median family income $72,083; 313 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsRoanoke Rapids City Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Manning Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation146 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025107 county-logged events: 83 thunderstorm wind, 8 hail, 7 flash flood, 5 heavy rain; $74,486,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 27870, 2026-09median list price $197,475 (-1.3% on the year); 66 active listings; median 77 days on market; 12% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023206 establishments (-14%); 2,239 jobs (-9%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $116,316 (+3% 1 yr, +17% 5 yr); typical rent $1,125/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025260 (2000 = 100); -5.7% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +61% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)10,610 vehicles a day on NC-125 (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 66 trucks; 4 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Becker Village Mall opened in 1980 as a regional mall with about 40 stores and 360,894 sq ft of GLA. It later closed, though the exact closure date is not recorded. The site remains closed today.

Why. The record does not state a specific cause of closure; it only notes the mall is closed and that the surrounding county shrank -6.8% from 2018‑23, which may be a contributing factor.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and ownership or controlling entity is not specified in the record.

For a planner

  • No explicit policy tools or interventions are recorded for this site.
  • Open question: what were the primary drivers of the mall’s decline (anchor loss, competition, debt, etc.)?
  • Open question: who holds title and what are the current zoning or land‑use designations?

For a developer

  • Site size: approximately 360,894 sq ft of GLA.
  • Current control/ownership is not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage unknown; no recorded permits or approvals are present.
  • Context layers: no flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.
  • Market signal: the surrounding county population declined -6.8% 2018‑23, indicating weakening local demand.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date and specific cause of closure are not recorded.
  • Current owner, deed holder, or managing entity is unidentified.
  • No information on zoning, land‑use entitlements, or pending redevelopment proposals.
  • Environmental or flood‑risk conditions are absent from the record.
  • The record is marked ‘draft’ with only one source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973; also in NC
  • Salisbury Mall, Salisbury, NC · Malls · similar GLA (330,000 sq ft); opened 1986; also in NC
  • Osceola Square Mall, Kissimmee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (331,127 sq ft); opened 1986
  • North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county shrank -6.8% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1980Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area360,894 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak40Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsJCPenney, Belk, Lowe's
Address10th St. & Becker Dr.
CountyHalifax
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1980 Opened

Sources

More in North Carolina