Retrofit Atlas

Malls · New Jersey

Monmouth Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedUnder constructionEatontown, NJ

Opened 1960. Closed 2024. Redevelopment, under construction in 2024.

Status nowUnder constructionextracted, unreviewed
What it becamehousing, office, park, retailextracted, unreviewed
Site size64 acresextracted, unreviewed
Last sale$200,000 · 1956public reporting
Retrofit year2024extracted, unreviewed
Walkability9.7 of 20 · 15-minute 6 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Monmouth Mall
Monmouth Mall. Photo: Szeremeta, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Boscov'sThis site: Boscov's wikipedia · all sites with this
Macy'sThis site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with this
Montgomery WardThis site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/238929743168513 overture · all sites with this
Retrofit in the pipelineThis site: …under construction extraction · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.monmouthmallonline.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 50,389 on NJ 36 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,827/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $103,074 census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income flat or down since 2013This site: +5% census-acs · all sites with this
Policy tool
RezoningThis site: …amendment to rezone the farmland from an R-3 residential zone to business and light industry extraction · all sites with this
Scale
60+ acre siteThis site: 64 acres extraction · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: As of March 2026, the property is undergoing a $500 million de-malling process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex. extraction · all sites with this
New use
HousingThis site: …ing process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex. The redevelopment will include a residential compo extraction · all sites with this
OfficeThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Park and open spaceThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …ion de-malling process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex. The redevelopment will include a r extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusUnder constructionextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopment, under constructionextracted, unreviewed
New useshousing, office, park, retailextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowAs of March 2026, the property is undergoing a $500 million de-malling process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2024extracted, unreviewed
RedeveloperKushner Companiesextracted, unreviewed

Planning

Zoning changeamendment to rezone the farmland from an R-3 residential zone to business and light industryextracted, unreviewed
Entitlement year1956extracted, unreviewed
Planning notesThe redevelopment will include a residential component featuring 1,000 apartment units.extracted, unreviewed

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
1956Sold$200,000 closedMonmouth Restaurant and Motel Company ← Adams farmlandWikipedia

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Monmouth Mall” and “Eatontown” (137 hits, first 100 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-02-27 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2006-TOP2142006-02-27 to 2006-12-1810-D 2, 10-D/A 2
Public owner (strong)VORNADO REALTY TRUST (VNO, VNORP, VNO-PL, VNO-PM, VNO-PN, VNO-PO)472002-10-31 to 2016-02-1710-K 27, 8-K 14, 10-K/A 3, 10-Q 2
Public owner (strong)VORNADO REALTY LP452002-11-08 to 2016-02-2310-K 26, 8-K 14, 10-K/A 2, 10-Q 2
Public owner (strong)CAPITAL TRUST INC (BXMT)12004-03-16 to 2004-03-168-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: LORD & TAYLOR - MONMOUTH MALL; LORD & TAYLOR @ MONMOUTH MALL; MOBIL OIL CORP SS AF1; MONMOUTH MALL; PROPOSED CONGREGATE CARE & ASSISTED LIVINGEPA FRS
Census tract 340258051004,194 people, 1,435 per sq mi; median household income $103,074; 10% renters; 3.4% vacant units; 5.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.7 of 20; 53 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.76; 74,875 jobs within 45 min by car; 10% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 10 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 132 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Monmouth County (NJ), 2024443 units in 5+ unit buildings, 188 in 2–4, 2,151 single-family; 2023: 504 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.50; socioeconomic 0.38; housing and transport 0.69; 14% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 2 within 25 km: Seaview Square Mall (6.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Monmouth Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.98, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 11,579 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.monmouthmallonline.com (down or redirecting, status 405) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views108,282 since 2015; 10,501 in the last 12 months (-9% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-01 with 2,059Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +3% (4,059 → 4,194); median income +5% ($98,125 → $103,074); renters 7% → 10%; median home value +49% ($382,400 → $568,300)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 70.5); expected annual loss $2.6M; high: strong wind; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,518 establishments (-4%); 37,590 jobs (-1%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $786,951 (+7% 1 yr, +40% 5 yr); typical rent $2,827/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025504 (2000 = 100); -2.5% 1 yr, +68% 5 yr, +99% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)50,389 vehicles a day on NJ 36 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 2,705 trucks; 20 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Monmouth Mall opened in 1960 as Monmouth Shopping Center, was enclosed and expanded in 1975, and renovated in 1987. The interior closed to the public in 2024 for demolition, and a $500 million de‑malling redevelopment is underway to create an open‑air retail and residential complex (Monmouth Square) with 1,000 apartment units.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. As of March 2026 the site is under construction/de‑malling and is controlled by Kushner Companies, the developer listed in the record.

For a planner

  • Precedent: de‑malling of an enclosed mall to mixed‑use open‑air format.
  • Policy tools used: zoning amendment from R‑3 residential to business/light industry (entitlement year 1956).
  • Open questions: traffic impact mitigation, integration of affordable housing, provision of public open space.

For a developer

  • Site size: 64 acres.
  • Control: Kushner Companies (developer) holds the site.
  • Entitlement stage: approved – zoning change in place, redevelopment broke ground 2024.
  • Constraints/context: located at Route 35/36/Wyckoff Road interchange (highway access); no flood or environmental constraints noted in record.
  • Market signals: county population grew 3.2% 2018‑23, median rent $1,771, housing component planned.

What we do not know yet

  • Record does not specify anchor tenant losses, competition, or debt that led to closure.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not mentioned.
  • Details on ownership chain prior to Kushner Companies are limited to a 1956 sale.
  • Extraction‑based fields (year_closed, acres, year_retrofit, etc.) are marked as unverified.
  • Timing of full build‑out and financing structure are not provided.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • North DeKalb Mall, Decatur, GA · Malls · similar size (73.11 acres); opened 1965; closed 2020
  • Boulevard Mall, Erie County, NY · Malls · similar size (63 acres); opened 1962; closed 2026
  • Regency Square Mall, Jacksonville, FL · Malls · similar size (74 acres); opened 1967; closed 2025
  • Lake Pointe Green, Sugar Land, TX · Office parks · similar size (52 acres); closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • 64 acres
  • county grew 3.2% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,771
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1960Wikidata
Closed2024extracted, unreviewed
Acres64.0extracted, unreviewed
ArchitectKahn & Jacobs
AnchorsMacy's, Boscov's, Montgomery Ward, AMC Theatres, Bamberger's
Organisations in Wikidata (undated)Two Guys
CountyMonmouth County
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Monmouth Mall, currently undergoing redevelopment into an open-air center named Monmouth Square, is a commercial and residential complex in Eatontown, New Jersey. Located at the intersection of Route 35, Route 36, and Wyckoff Road, it is owned by Kushner Companies. Prior to its current redevelopment, it was an enclosed split-level shopping center with a gross leasable area of 1,500,000 sq ft (140,000 m2), making it the sixth-largest shopping mall in New Jersey.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1956 Land purchased by Monmouth Restaurant and Motel Company for $200,000
  2. 1958 Groundbreaking for the $15 million project
  3. 1960 Opened (Wikidata)
  4. 1960 Opened as Monmouth Shopping Center
  5. 1975 Enclosed, renamed Monmouth Mall, and roughly doubled in size by a two-level expansion
  6. 1987 Interior renovation modernized the interior
  7. 2024 Interior of the mall closed to the public for demolition
  8. 2024 Redevelopment officially broke ground
  9. 2026 Undergoing $500 million de-malling process to convert site into open-air retail and residential complex

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Monmouth Mall · supports: acres, after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    13 quoted sentences
    The interior of the mall closed to the public in August 2024 for demolition.
    The 64-acre site was planned for regional automobile access, with ten entrances and exits connecting to the Garden State Parkway, Route 35, and Wyckoff Road, developed in cooperation with state, county, and Parkway Authority officials.
    As of March 2026, the property is undergoing a $500 million de-malling process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex.
    As of March 2026, the property is undergoing a $500 million de-malling process to convert the site into an open-air retail and residential complex.

More in New Jersey