Retrofit Atlas

Malls · South Carolina

Aiken Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedAiken, SC

Aiken Mall opened in 1989, later closed; current status and ownership unknown; size 388,243 sq ft; no further details available for planning · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.myaikenmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Aiken Mall” and “Aiken” (18 hits, first 18 sampled, 6 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-01-05 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Bear Stearns Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2007-PWR1542007-04-13 to 2007-05-038-K 2, 8-K/A 2
CMBS trust (weak)WACHOVIA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC12005-01-05 to 2005-01-058-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m16: AIKEN MALL; BEAULIEU OF AMERICA; BLUE CIRCLE WILLIAMS; DRY BRANCH KAOLIN CO; FAST FARE SC 682EPA FRS
Census tract 450030212042,346 people, 1,825 per sq mi; median household income $57,539; median gross rent $1,270; 31% renters; 10.2% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Aiken County (SC), 20241,023 units in 5+ unit buildings, 6 in 2–4, 1,471 single-family; 2023: 132 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.60; socioeconomic 0.48; housing and transport 0.47; 23% below 150% of poverty; 17% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Aiken Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.90, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 5,699 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.myaikenmall.com (down or redirecting, status 0)Overture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 26.6); expected annual loss $761,865; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)7,535 jobs in 554 establishments; average annual pay $34,488; employment location quotient 1.14; employment +0.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20222,518 jobs; 1,034 in retail trade, 748 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 45003021204)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; 1.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (211 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 42% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 5.6%; median family income $79,936; 354 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsAiken County School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: South Aiken HighNCES EDGE
Elevation486 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025250 county-logged events: 170 thunderstorm wind, 44 hail, 13 flash flood, 9 heavy rain; $175,100 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 29803, 2026-09median list price $423,125 (+6.0% on the year); 341 active listings; median 72 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023533 establishments (+5%); 7,544 jobs (+12%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $243,437 (+3% 1 yr, +16% 5 yr); typical rent $1,445/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2022247 (2000 = 100), +52% 5 yr, +59% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)25,200 vehicles a day on WHISKEY RD (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 909 trucks; 39 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Aiken Mall opened in 1989 and operated as a regional mall until it closed; the record does not specify a closure date or subsequent use. The site is currently listed as closed.

Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor store loss, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is closed and its current owner or controlling entity is not identified in the record.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools are documented for this site.
  • Open questions include the timeline of closure, reasons for shutdown, and any reuse or redevelopment plans.
  • Determining jurisdictional authority and any existing zoning or land‑use designations requires further research.

For a developer

  • Site size is 388,243 sq ft of gross leasable area.
  • Ownership and control are unknown, affecting ability to negotiate acquisition or partnership.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not recorded; context layers such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental constraints are not provided.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date is missing.
  • Reasons for closure are not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Any existing entitlements, zoning, or pending approvals are not documented.
  • Context‑layer information (floodplain, transit proximity, environmental issues) is absent.
  • The record is marked as draft and verified by only a single source, indicating thin data quality.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Chicago Place, Chicago, IL · Malls · similar GLA (314,521 sq ft); opened 1989
  • Mobile Festival Centre, Mobile, AL · Malls · similar GLA (488,138 sq ft); opened 1986
  • Osceola Square Mall, Kissimmee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (331,127 sq ft); opened 1986
  • Monument Mall, Scottsbluff, NE · Malls · similar GLA (303,385 sq ft); opened 1986

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Aiken Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county grew 3.0% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1989Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area388,243 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak56Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsDillard's, JCPenney, Sears, Belk
AddressWhiskey Rd. & East Gate Dr.
CountyAiken
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1989 Opened

Sources

More in South Carolina