Malls · California
Puente Hills Mall
Puente Hills Mall opened 1974, lost most anchors, now operates with AMC and Round One under Krausz Companies ownership today. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Macy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisHigh attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)
This site: 40,310 wikimedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/326622087370 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.puentehills-mall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 5 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 39,112 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 43 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 9,430 units, Los Angeles County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,806/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Very High; inland flooding, earthquake fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.96 cdc-svi · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.5% census-acs · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 50,708 m² overture · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | As of March 2026, AMC Theaters and Round One Corporation are the final two remaining anchors in the mall.extracted, unreviewed |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Puente Hills Mall” and “City of Industry” (68 hits, first 68 sampled, 6 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-07-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2003 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | GREENWICH CAPITAL COMMERCIAL FUND CORP COMM MORT TR 2003-C1 | 1 | 2003-07-15 to 2003-07-15 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST | 60 | 2005-11-08 to 2014-11-04 | 8-K 29, 10-Q 18, 10-K 13 |
| Public owner (weak) | Washington Prime Group Inc. | 1 | 2015-02-27 to 2015-02-27 | 8-K/A 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2013-02-22 | Puente Hills Mall Industry, CA match: exact | 1,107,890 in-line 776,082 | 100.0% occupied | $274 | 24 Hour Fitness AMC 20 Theaters Burlington Coat Factory Forever 21 H&M Macy’s Ross Dress for Less Round 1 Sears Toys "R" Us Warehouse Furniture Outlet |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | DFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 37: 99 RANCH MARKET #18; BANK OF AMERICA; BATH & BODY WORKS #1266; BATH & BODY WORKS #2724; BIG 5 SPORTING GOODS #076EPA FRS |
| Census tract 06037980035 | 642 people, 106 per sq mi; median household income $65,750; median gross rent $1,482; 48% renters; 1.6% vacant units; 6.3% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 0 schools, 3 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 0 civic, 40 food and drink; 43 cycleway segments, 36 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Los Angeles County (CA), 2024 | 9,430 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,273 in 2–4, 9,106 single-family; 2023: 13,214 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.96; socioeconomic 0.91; housing and transport 0.95; 35% below 150% of poverty; 15% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 5 within 10 km, 16 within 25 km: Whittwood Mall (8.3 km); West Covina Plaza (8.6 km); La Habra Fashion Square (9.0 km); Sears site at Brea Mall (9.5 km); Eastland Center (9.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Puente Hills Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.98, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 50,708 m², 17.3 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.puentehills-mall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 451,390 since 2015; 40,310 in the last 12 months (+1% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-10 with 19,162Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very high overall (score 100.0); expected annual loss $38.0M; high: inland flooding, earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 151 units: Hacienda Senior Villas (151 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 28,998 establishments (+2%); 419,890 jobs (+8%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $871,674 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,806/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 39,112 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 4,315 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Puente Hills Mall opened in 1974 with anchors including The Broadway, J.W. Robinson's, and JCPenney. Over time, anchors such as Broadway, JCPenney, Borders, and others closed, leaving AMC Theaters and Round One Corporation as the final two remaining anchors as of March 2026.
Why. The record shows multiple anchor store closures (Broadway, JCPenney, Borders, etc.) and notes a county population decline of -2.5% from 2018‑2023 and median rent of $1,893, indicating anchor losses and demographic pressures as causes.
Where it stands. The mall is currently operating and owned by Krausz Companies, as indicated in the parties list.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include what zoning or adaptive‑reuse incentives might apply given the anchor losses.
- The record does not detail any existing planning entitlements or pending approvals.
For a developer
- Site size is not provided in the record.
- Control lies with Krausz Companies (owner).
- Entitlement stage and any constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not stated.
- Market signals from the record show a county population decline of -2.5% (2018‑2023) and median rent of $1,893.
What we do not know yet
- Exact current square footage or land area is missing.
- Current vacancy rate, lease terms, and rent rolls are unknown.
- Environmental constraints (flood zone, contamination) are not specified.
- Transit access and proximity to major highways are not detailed.
- The status of any pending redevelopment proposals or entitlements is not described.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Macy's Plaza, Los Angeles, CA · Malls · opened 1973; also in CA; 31 km away
- Plaza Pasadena, Pasadena, CA · Malls · opened 1980; also in CA; 26 km away
- Hawthorne Plaza, Hawthorne, CA · Malls · opened 1977; also in CA; 40 km away
- The Village at Orange, Orange, CA · Malls · opened 1971; also in CA; 20 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- PUENTE HILLS MALL - 443 Photos & 383 Reviews - 1600 S Azusa Ave, City ... yelp.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Could Puente Hills Mall become a data center? City, developer are ... sgvtribune.com
- Puente Hills Mall Photos, 1975 – 1992 2warpstoneptune.wordpress.com
- Puente Hills Mall evilwiki.blogspot.com
- Back To The Future And Back Again: Puente Hills Mall's Jaw-Dropping ... bestattractions.org
- Locations Hub - Puente Hills Mall rs.locationshub.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county shrank -2.5% 2018–23
- median rent $1,893
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1974Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Original developer | The Hahn Companyextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Forever 21, Macy's, Sears, 24 Hour Fitness, Ross Dress For Less, Burlington, AMC Theaters, Round One Corporation |
| County | Los Angeles County |
| Census division | 9 · Pacific |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Abandoned shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Puente Hills Mall, is a major regional shopping mall located in City of Industry, California in the San Gabriel Valley region of Los Angeles County. It is most famous for serving as the filming site for the Twin Pines/Lone Pine Mall for the 1985 movie Back to the Future starring Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd. Former anchor stores were Burlington, Sears, 24 Hour Fitness, Forever 21, Macy's, and Ross Dress For Less. As of March 2026, AMC Theaters and Round One Corporation are the final two remaining anchors in the mall.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1974 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1974 The Broadway anchor opened
- 1974 J.W. Robinson's opened
- 1975 Mall reached about 150 shops open
- 1975 JCPenney opened
- 1975 Mall reported 152 shops open and announced plans for adjacent 41-acre auto mall
- 1993 J.W. Robinson's rebranded as Robinsons-May
- 1996 The Broadway and JCPenney anchor stores closed
- 1997 AMC Puente Hills 20 opened
- 1998 Ross Dress for Less, Circuit City, Linens 'n Things, Spectrum Club, Burlington Coat Factory, Borders, and CompUSA opened
- 2006 Borders closed and Robinsons-May rebranded as Macy's
Sources
- Wikipedia: Puente Hills Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status
13 quoted sentences
The mall has a cross-shaped design and was developed by The Hahn Company.
As of March 2026, AMC Theaters and Round One Corporation are the final two remaining anchors in the mall.
As of March 2026, AMC Theaters and Round One Corporation are the final two remaining anchors in the mall.
The first anchor to open, on February 18, 1974, was The Broadway, with three levels and 160,000 square feet.