Malls · Florida
Gateway Mall
Gateway Mall, a 1950s outdoor center in Jacksonville with Winn Dixie, Burlington, Roses anchors, status unknown amid 9% county growth. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/187697241252157 overture · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 270 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 126,000 on I-95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 9% census-acs · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.86 cdc-svi · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: I-95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $26,667 census-acs · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 12031001400 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 55% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Gateway Mall” and “Jacksonville” (56 hits, first 56 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC | 16 | 2001-03-19 to 2010-08-30 | 10-K 10, 8-K 5, 10-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | DEVELOPERS DIVERSIFIED REALTY CORP (SITC, SITC-PA) | 8 | 2008-07-25 to 2010-02-26 | 8-K 7, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | General Growth Properties, Inc. | 7 | 2011-03-01 to 2012-06-27 | 8-K 5, 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL) | 1 | 2026-03-03 to 2026-03-03 | 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | INLAND RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 1 | 2003-08-14 to 2003-08-14 | 10-Q 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Rouse Properties, Inc. | 1 | 2012-01-19 to 2012-01-19 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: CLARENCE L BURPEE ARC-FL008; FIRESTONE; GOLFAIR AND NORWOOD; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CENTER; GUARDIAN CATHOLIC SCHOOLEPA FRS |
| Census tract 12031001402 | 2,022 people, 2,164 per sq mi; median household income $26,667; median gross rent $840; 55% renters; 17.0% vacant units; 4.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 3 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 3 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 340 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 12031001400 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Duval County (FL), 2024 | 1,131 units in 5+ unit buildings, 230 in 2–4, 5,134 single-family; 2023: 5,099 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.86; socioeconomic 0.83; housing and transport 0.48; 43% below 150% of poverty; 29% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Elevate at Baymeadows (4.9 km); Jacksonville Landing (5.0 km); Normandy Mall (9.3 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Gateway Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.49, from Overture, meta); building footprint 25,895 m², 7.034433364868164 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 16,512 since 2015; 1,378 in the last 12 months (-40% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-03 with 734Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 22.5); expected annual loss $579,021; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 270 units: Hilltop Village (200 units); Sulzbacher Village (70 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 55,755 jobs in 3,672 establishments; average annual pay $43,941; employment location quotient 1.00; employment -0.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 954 jobs; 195 in retail trade, 146 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12031001402)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 30th income percentile as adults; 6.2% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,513 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 3% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 31.4%; median family income $33,269; 912 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Duval County School District (PK-12); 6 public schools within 1 mile: ANDREW JACKSON HIGH SCHOOL; NORTH SHORE ELEMENTARY; JEAN RIBAULT MIDDLE SCHOOL; A. PHILIP RANDOLPH ACADEMIESNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 24 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 655 county-logged events: 261 thunderstorm wind, 175 heavy rain, 68 flood, 61 hail; $2,393,950 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 32208, 2026-09 | median list price $176,000 (+2.2% on the year); 161 active listings; median 56 days on market; 28% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,433 establishments (+6%); 55,193 jobs (+19%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $294,079 (-0% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,603/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 126,000 vehicles a day on I-95 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 24,696 trucks; 12 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Gateway Mall was developed in the 1950s as an outdoor shopping center with 34 stores and anchor tenants Winn Dixie, Burlington, and Roses. The record does not provide information on later changes, closures, or renovations. Its current status is listed as unknown.
Why. The record does not state any reasons for changes or decline, such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. Current status is unknown and no owner or controlling entity is provided in the record.
For a planner
- Verify ownership, occupancy, and physical condition through site visits or property records.
- Review zoning and land‑use designations to determine permissible redevelopment or adaptive reuse options.
- Consider leveraging the noted 9% county growth (2018‑23) as a market incentive for revitalization initiatives.
For a developer
- Site size, parcel boundaries, and control are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage (zoning approvals, permits) is unknown; no flood, transit, or environmental constraints are mentioned.
- Market signal: the surrounding county grew 9% from 2018‑23, indicating potential demand for retail or mixed‑use development.
What we do not know yet
- Status of the mall (open, vacant, partially occupied) is unknown.
- Ownership and management details are not provided.
- Current condition of structures, utilities, and anchor tenant leases is unspecified.
- No data on site dimensions, parcel count, or subdivision are included.
- Absence of floodplain, transit access, or environmental layer information creates uncertainty.
- The opportunity score relies solely on county growth metric, which may be thin.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Gateway Mall In Jacksonville Florida Miracle City Mall Entrance fity.club
- Hibbett Sports at Gateway Mall | Jacksonville, FL | Hibb… flickr.com
- Looking back on the history of the Gateway Mall registerguard.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 9.0% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | Duval County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Gateway Town Center is an outdoor shopping center located in the Jacksonville, Florida neighborhood of Brentwood, just off Interstate 95 at Golfair Boulevard and Norwood Avenue. Developed in the 1950s, it has 34 stores, and is anchored by Winn Dixie, Burlington and Roses.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Gateway Mall (Jacksonville) · 2026-08-24 · CC BY-SA 4.0