Malls · Georgia
Savannah Mall
Savannah Mall opened 1990, now defunct with partial reuse; large site awaiting redevelopment amid modest county growth in Savannah Georgia · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.savannahmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 62,100 on 204 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh coastal flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, coastal flooding, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.96 cdc-svi · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $38,775 census-acs · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 13051010901 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 62% census-acs · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 56,183 m² overture · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Savannah Mall” and “Savannah” (4 hits, first 4 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-08-05 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | GE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE CORP | 1 | 2005-08-05 to 2005-08-05 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: 14080 ABERCORN - DEMO & EARLY SITE PACKAGE (CHATHAM COUNTY); ALDI SITE; GOODYEAR TIRE & RUBBER; SATURN OF SAVANNAH; SOMMERS 219EPA FRS |
| Census tract 13051010901 | 4,447 people, 726 per sq mi; median household income $38,775; median gross rent $1,255; 62% renters; 8.5% vacant units; 3.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 11.7 of 20; 8 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 274 m; land-use mix 0.7; 26,352 jobs within 45 min by car, 10,588 by transit; 10% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 2 schools, 2 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 3 civic, 2 food and drink; 2 cycleway segments, 10 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 13051010901 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Chatham County (GA), 2024 | 973 units in 5+ unit buildings, 14 in 2–4, 1,704 single-family; 2023: 59 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.96; socioeconomic 0.81; housing and transport 0.99; 39% below 150% of poverty; 16% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 1 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Savannah Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 56,183 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.savannahmall.com (alive)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 61,701 since 2015; 5,000 in the last 12 months (-9% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-01 with 2,121Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +0% (4,431 → 4,447); median income +18% ($32,984 → $38,775); renters 64% → 62%; median home value +63% ($97,600 → $159,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 88.5); expected annual loss $2.5M; high: hurricane, coastal flooding, lightning; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,068 jobs in 1,475 establishments; average annual pay $42,601; employment location quotient 1.18; employment +1.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,136 jobs; 566 in retail trade, 96 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 13051010901)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 35th income percentile as adults; 1.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (598 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 7% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 32.3%; median family income $27,969; 569 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Chatham County School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 14 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 288 county-logged events: 190 thunderstorm wind, 30 flash flood, 30 hail, 23 lightning; $2,702,350 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 31419, 2026-09 | median list price $325,000 (-7.3% on the year); 234 active listings; median 75 days on market; 22% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,398 establishments (+17%); 19,157 jobs (+21%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $332,415 (-3% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $1,734/mo (-1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 293 (2000 = 100); -0.6% 1 yr, +71% 5 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 62,100 vehicles a day on 204 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 2,098 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Savannah Mall opened in 1990 as a two-level enclosed regional mall with anchors Target, Bass Pro Shops, and Dillard's. Over time, anchor spaces changed: the former Burlington Coat Factory (lower Target pad) closed in 2020 and now houses an e‑cigarette/hemp distributor, and the original Montgomery Ward upper level is occupied by the Savannah Bananas while its lower level is a call center. The mall is currently defunct, with an unknown overall status.
Why. Visible causes include the loss of the Burlington Coat Factory anchor in 2020 and the earlier closure of the original Montgomery Ward anchor. The record does not state competition, debt, or demolition as factors.
Where it stands. The site’s overall status is unknown, but portions remain in use: Target, Bass Pro Shops, and Dillard's appear operational, while former anchor spaces host an e‑cig/hemp distributor, the Savannah Bananas, and a call center; ownership is not specified in the record.
For a planner
- Adaptive reuse of anchor spaces (e‑cig/hemp, sports team, call center) shows precedent for incremental infill.
- Zoning or incentive tools could support broader mixed‑use redevelopment of the large GLA site.
- Open questions include the fate of remaining anchor tenants and long‑term land‑use vision.
For a developer
- Site size: 962,529 sq ft GLA (large parcel).
- Control/ownership not stated; entitlement stage unknown.
- Context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided in the record.
- Market signal: Savannah‑area county grew 3.9% 2018‑2023 per opp_reasons.
What we do not know yet
- Overall status and ownership are unknown.
- Lease terms, vacancy rates, and structural condition of the building are not detailed.
- Environmental, flood, and transit constraints from context layers are missing.
- The record is marked as 'draft' and verified status is uncertain.
- Key financial metrics (debt, taxes, operating income) are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Charlestowne Mall, St. Charles, IL · Malls · similar GLA (850,000 sq ft); opened 1991
- City Center, Columbus, OH · Malls · similar GLA (958,000 sq ft); opened 1989
- Bellevue Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · similar GLA (844,124 sq ft); opened 1990
- Regency Mall, Augusta, GA · Malls · similar GLA (953,524 sq ft); also in GA
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Savannah Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Savannah Mall georgia usa Stock Photo - Alamy alamy.com
- SAVANNAH MALL - Updated June 2026 - 40 Photos & 33 Reviews - 14045 ... yelp.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Behind The Locked Doors At Savannah Mall In Savannah, … bestattractions.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- 962,529 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 3.9% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1990Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 962,529 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 95Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, Burlington Coat Factory, Dillard's, Target, Bass Pro Shops |
| Address | Abercorn & Apache Sts. |
| County | Chatham |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Savannah Mall is a defunct two-level enclosed regional shopping mall on the southside of Savannah, Georgia, that opened August 29, 1990. The mall is anchored by Target, Bass Pro Shops, and Dillard's. The lower level of the anchor pad that is occupied by Target is a former Burlington Coat Factory that closed in 2020 and currently occupied by an e-cigarette and hemp products distributor. The upper level of an original Montgomery Ward is currently occupied by the Savannah Bananas. The lower level is currently a call center.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1990 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
- Wikipedia: Savannah Mall · 2026-09-02 · CC BY-SA 4.0