Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Iowa

Muscatine Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedMuscatine, IA

Opened 1971.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size328,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability17.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
High heat wave riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.77 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 19139050700 hud-oz · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.5% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +60% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 17.5 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Muscatine Mall” and “Muscatine” (9 hits, first 9 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)ROUSE COMPANY22001-03-30 to 2003-08-1410-K 1, 10-Q 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: EXPERT TIRE; M & M FORD-LINCOLN-MERCURY INC; MISSISSIPPI VALLEY REGIONAL BLOOD CENTER; MUSCATINE COMMUNITY COLLEGEEPA FRS
Census tract 191390507004,920 people, 933 per sq mi; median household income $63,454; median gross rent $971; 31% renters; 11.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 17.5 of 20; 101 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.74; 18,386 jobs within 45 min by car, 440 by transit; 5% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 19139050700 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Muscatine County (IA), 202445 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 30 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.77; socioeconomic 0.59; housing and transport 0.80; 22% below 150% of poverty; 3% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Muscatine Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Microsoft, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 2,378 m², 4.725945949554443 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and social (down or redirecting, status None)Overture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -9% (5,393 → 4,920); median income +60% ($39,632 → $63,454); renters 20% → 31%; median home value +52% ($84,700 → $128,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 83.7); expected annual loss $2.3M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, hail, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km3 LIHTC properties, 156 units: Sycamore Apts (72 units); Harrison Lofts (52 units); Colorado Park Apts (32 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023129 establishments (-10%); 2,327 jobs (+10%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $205,712 (+6% 1 yr, +26% 5 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025324 (2000 = 100); +7.8% 1 yr, +45% 5 yr, +67% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)11,400 vehicles a day on IA 22 E (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 240 trucks; 26 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Muscatine Mall opened in 1971 as a 328,000‑sf retail center; it later closed, with no further events recorded in the source.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed and its controlling owner is not identified in the record.

For a planner

  • Limited source data prevents assessment of past policy interventions.
  • Open question: what zoning or redevelopment incentives could apply given the site’s size.
  • Need to verify current ownership and any pending demolition or environmental permits.

For a developer

  • Site size approx. 328,000 sf GLA provides substantial redevelopment footprint.
  • Control and entitlement status unknown; requires title search and municipal coordination.
  • No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) available; due diligence needed.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date is not recorded.
  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) is not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Zoning designation and any land‑use restrictions are not provided.
  • Environmental, flood‑plain, and transit‑access context layers are missing.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
  • New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971
  • Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
  • Seminole Mall, Seminole, FL · Malls · similar GLA (425,442 sq ft); opened 1965

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Muscatine Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1971Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area328,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak14Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsJCPenney, Elder-Beerman
AddressRts. 61 & 22
CountyMuscatine
Census division4 · West North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1971 Opened

Sources

More in Iowa