Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Idaho

Country Club Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedIdaho Falls, ID
Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size306,201 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability9.7 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 13% census-acs · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; earthquake, hail, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.93 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $46,410 census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +202% fhfa · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Country Club Mall” and “Idaho Falls” (58 hits, first 58 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)DEVELOPERS DIVERSIFIED REALTY CORP (SITC, SITC-PA)432001-04-02 to 2012-02-288-K 29, 10-K 14

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km308A, 308B, 310, junctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m8: CADILLAC WACKERLI AUTO CENTER; COUNTRY CLUB CLEANERS NORTHGATE; COUNTRY CLUB MALL ASSOC LTD P; EDWARDS BROTHERS INC; FRED MEYER STOREEPA FRS
Census tract 160199707005,695 people, 1,932 per sq mi; median household income $46,410; median gross rent $1,031; 44% renters; 8.0% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.7 of 20; 38 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.97; 21,822 jobs within 45 min by car; 20% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Bonneville County (ID), 20241,051 units in 5+ unit buildings, 68 in 2–4, 1,135 single-family; 2023: 791 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.93; socioeconomic 0.95; housing and transport 0.93; 45% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 15,497 m², 6.241715908050537 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population -1% (5,773 → 5,695); median income +46% ($31,836 → $46,410); renters 41% → 44%; median home value +103% ($94,700 → $191,900)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 89.4); expected annual loss $3.1M; high: earthquake, hail, cold wave, lightning; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)8,466 jobs in 517 establishments; average annual pay $40,317; employment location quotient 1.35; employment -1.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20225,536 jobs; 965 in retail trade, 481 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 16019970700)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 41th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (969 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 1% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 29.0%; median family income $46,250; 443 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsIdaho Falls School District 91 (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: A H BUSH ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; DORA ERICKSON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; 3B JUVENILE DETENTION CENTER; COMPASS ACADEMYNCES EDGE
Elevation4,734 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025111 county-logged events: 65 thunderstorm wind, 18 hail, 10 flood, 6 funnel cloud; $31,734,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 83401, 2026-09median list price $448,475 (+1.4% on the year); 173 active listings; median 49 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023517 establishments (+8%); 8,792 jobs (+30%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $400,373 (+2% 1 yr, +6% 5 yr); typical rent $1,440/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025554 (2000 = 100); +3.2% 1 yr, +57% 5 yr, +202% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)17,000 vehicles a day on Bone (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 660 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Country Club Mall opened as a regional mall in Idaho Falls, reaching a peak of 16 stores and 306,200 sf of GLA. It has since closed and is currently listed as closed in the record.

Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition reasons are provided.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Limited data prevents assessment of prior planning interventions.
  • Open questions include appropriate zoning for reuse and potential infrastructure needs.
  • Policy tools such as tax increment financing or adaptive reuse incentives have not been documented.
  • Need to verify ownership and any existing entitlements before planning.

For a developer

  • Site size is approximately 306,200 sf based on recorded GLA.
  • Control, ownership, and entitlement stage are not specified in the record.
  • Context-layer constraints such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental factors are absent from the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date and original anchor tenants are not recorded.
  • Ownership, current control, and any existing deeds or liens are unknown.
  • Zoning designation, entitlements, and prior planning approvals are missing.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) and transit access are not provided.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Country Club Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county grew 13.0% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Gross leasable area306,201 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak16Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsFred Meyer Supercenter, World Gym, OfficeMax, Dollar Tree
AddressNorthgate Mile
CountyBonneville
Census division8 · Mountain
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Sources

More in Idaho