Malls · Kansas
Glenwood Mall
Glenwood Mall opened 1967, closed 2007, demolished 2009; now vacant land in growing Overland Park County with unclear ownership today. · summary, model-written
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile10 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …demolished extraction · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 5 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 32,770 on METCALF AVE fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $106,103 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.14 cdc-svi · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (5)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- Census tract 20091051805 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 20091051805 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Johnson County (20091) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (4)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- Overland Park, Kansas on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (1)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in Overland Park, KS (search)from city search
News (2)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Glenwood Mall” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Glenwood Mall” (search)from name search
History and original facts
| Closed | 2007extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Anchors | Hancock Fabrics |
| County | Johnson County |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site. |
Before and after
Before: the mall
Nothing extracted yet.
After: the retrofit
| Demolished | 2,009quote |
|---|
Hover "quote" to see the sentence each value came from. Planned figures are labelled planned. Method.
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 18: 97TH & METCALF REDEVELOPMENT; CHICK-FIL-A - 95TH & METCALF; GOODYEAR TIRE & RUBBER COMPANY; HOME DEPOT 2203; JIFFY LUBEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 20091051805 | 6,007 people, 3,406 per sq mi; median household income $106,103; median gross rent $1,428; 14% renters; 10.6% vacant units; 0.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15.7 of 20; 126 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 566 m; land-use mix 0.71; 134,035 jobs within 45 min by car, 14,693 by transit; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 2 schools, 78 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 13 food and drink; 9 cycleway segments, 64 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Johnson County (KS), 2024 | 798 units in 5+ unit buildings, 183 in 2–4, 1,733 single-family; 2023: 1,632 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.14; socioeconomic 0.02; housing and transport 0.26; 5% below 150% of poverty; 1% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 5 within 10 km, 10 within 25 km: Metcalf South Shopping Center (0.0 km); Corporate Woods (2.8 km); Meadowbrook Golf and Country Club (5.0 km); Ward Parkway Center (5.4 km); Mission Center Mall (8.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 13,649 m², 3.529534101486206 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 48,550 since 2015; 3,358 in the last 12 months (-3% vs the prior 12); peak 2017-07 with 1,210Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +10% (5,487 → 6,007); median income +47% ($72,102 → $106,103); renters 14% → 14%; median home value +76% ($187,100 → $328,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 80.4); expected annual loss $3.0M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, hail, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 37,008 jobs in 1,806 establishments; average annual pay $40,991; employment location quotient 1.01; employment +0.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,323 jobs; 491 in retail trade, 446 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 20091051805)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 51st income percentile as adults; 0.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (233 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 1% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 5.0%; median family income $96,528; 75 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Shawnee Mission Public Schools Unified School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Brookridge Elem; John Diemer Elem; Indian Woods MiddleNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 932 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 425 county-logged events: 219 thunderstorm wind, 176 hail, 17 flash flood, 7 tornado; $760,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 66212, 2026-09 | median list price $366,250 (-1.6% on the year); 50 active listings; median 25 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,857 establishments (-1%); 37,595 jobs (+4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $458,265 (+5% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $1,760/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 650 (2000 = 100); +12.6% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +100% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 32,770 vehicles a day on METCALF AVE (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 4 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Glenwood Mall opened in 1967 as a two‑floor retail center, later adding a third floor that was converted to office space. It had anchor stores taken over by Macy’s, plus Sears and the Glenwood Arts theater. The mall closed in 2007 and was demolished in 2009, leaving the site vacant.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is demolished and currently vacant land; ownership is not specified in the record.
For a planner
- Site cleared after demolition (2009) presents a reuse opportunity.
- Overland Park County grew 5.0% from 2018‑2023, indicating rising demand.
- Open question: what zoning or incentives are available for redevelopment.
- No explicit policy tools or precedents are mentioned in the record.
For a developer
- Site size and current owner are not disclosed in the record.
- Control and entitlement stage are unknown; no zoning or permit details provided.
- Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are absent.
- Market signal: opp_score 35.0, driven by closed/demolished status and county growth 5.0% 2018‑23.
What we do not know yet
- Exact parcel size and boundaries are missing.
- Current ownership and any controlling entity are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and permit status are not provided.
- Environmental, flood, and transit constraints are absent from the record.
- The record is marked "verified: draft," indicating data may be provisional.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Metcalf South Shopping Center, Overland Park, KS · Malls · similar size (50 acres); similar GLA (784,336 sq ft); also in KS
- Springdale Mall, Mobile, AL · Malls · similar size (65 acres); similar GLA (748,054 sq ft); closed 2004
- Montgomery Mall, Montgomery, AL · Malls · similar size (40 acres); similar GLA (726,577 sq ft); closed 2008
- Shepherd Mall, Oklahoma City, OK · Malls · similar size (45 acres); similar GLA (630,000 sq ft); closed 2003
Elsewhere on the web
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 5.0% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
Metcalf South Shopping Center was a shopping mall in Overland Park, Kansas. It opened in 1967, near a large, unique department store called the French Market, which later became a strip mall anchored by Kmart and Hancock Fabrics. The Metcalf South mall itself originally featured two main floors of retail space, although later a third floor of retail space was added, which in recent years became home to office space. It featured two anchor stores, later taken over by Macy's. Sears and the Glenwood Arts movie theater remained open in later years, while Macy's announced the closure of its Metcalf South store in January 2014.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 2007 Closed
- 2009 Demolished
Sources
- Wikipedia: Glenwood Mall · supports: status, year closed
4 quoted sentences
Nearby Glenwood Mall closed in May 2007 and was demolished in early 2009.
was demolished in early 2009.
Nearby Glenwood Mall closed in May 2007 and was demolished in early 2009.
was demolished in early 2009.
More in Kansas
Indian Springs MallKansas City, KSRedevelopedKansas City, Kansas holdingsKansas City, KSRedeveloped
Leavenworth PlazaLeavenworth, KS · 2025Partial Reinhabited · Ace Hardware