Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Maine

Auburn Mall (Auburn)

Imported, unreviewedClosedAuburn, ME

Opened 1979.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size297,915 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability8.8 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Auburn Mall
Exterior view of a shopping center with cars parked in front under a partly cloudy sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Austin102, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/104948058317184 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.auburnmall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Briggs, William, Homestead nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +114% fhfa · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Auburn Mall” and “Auburn” (211 hits, first 100 sampled, 3 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)962001-02-16 to 2026-08-108-K 89, 10-K 6, 8-K/A 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m12: ASPEN DENTAL; AUBURN MOTOR SALES INC; AUBURNDALE CLEANING CENTER INC; BED BATH AND BEYOND #1167; BEST BUY #1420EPA FRS
Census tract 230010102005,318 people, 313 per sq mi; median household income $76,204; median gross rent $1,056; 47% renters; 3.5% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.8 of 20; 40 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.84; 21,383 jobs within 45 min by car; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
National Register places within 500 m1: Briggs, William, HomesteadNPS
Housing permits, Androscoggin County (ME), 202457 units in 5+ unit buildings, 26 in 2–4, 263 single-family; 2023: 81 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.59; socioeconomic 0.33; housing and transport 0.95; 14% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Auburn Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 32,065 m², 6.287630081176758 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.auburnmall.com (alive); archived 1997–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +21% (4,406 → 5,318); median income +46% ($52,222 → $76,204); renters 53% → 47%; median home value +60% ($158,600 → $254,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 44.1); expected annual loss $1.2M; high: winter weather, ice storm; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)6,137 jobs in 427 establishments; average annual pay $42,258; employment location quotient 1.28; employment -1.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20226,455 jobs; 2,573 in retail trade, 907 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 23001010200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 40th income percentile as adults; 0.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (454 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 28% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 11.8%; median family income $68,867; 320 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsAuburn (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE
Elevation274 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202587 county-logged events: 38 thunderstorm wind, 22 flood, 14 hail, 13 flash flood; $2,486,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 04210, 2026-09median list price $330,808 (-5.5% on the year); 63 active listings; median 49 days on market; 29% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023415 establishments (-6%); 5,856 jobs (-5%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $328,518 (+1% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,589/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025468 (2000 = 100); +4.4% 1 yr, +68% 5 yr, +114% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)16,978 vehicles a day on ST RTE 4 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,168 trucks; 25 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Auburn Mall opened in 1979 with approximately 298,000 sq ft of GLA and up to 65 stores. It is now listed as closed, with no further events recorded.

Why. The record does not state why the mall closed; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition details are provided.

Where it stands. The mall's status is closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the exact closure date, reasons for closure, and current ownership.

For a developer

  • Site size: 297,915 sq ft GLA.
  • Control and entitlement stage are unknown from the record.
  • No context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are provided.
  • Market signal: the surrounding county grew 4.5% between 2018 and 2023.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact closure date is not recorded.
  • Reasons for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) are not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Any entitlements, zoning, or redevelopment approvals are not documented.
  • Context-layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are missing.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Auburn Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county grew 4.5% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1979Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area297,915 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak65Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, JCPenney
AddressCenter St. & Mt. Auburn Ave.
CountyAndroscoggin
Census division1 · New England
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1979 Opened

Sources

More in Maine