Malls · New York
Medley Centre
Opened 1990.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Macy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 259 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 71,333 on KEELER ST EXPY fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: KEELER ST EXPY fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 36055010601 hud-oz · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +122% fhfa · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: CARLISLE MITSUBISHI NORTH; CVS PHARMACY #17289 IN TARGET; EASTRIDGE COLLISION; INRONDEQUOIT MALL; IRONDEQUOIT DODGEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 36055010601 | 2,742 people, 3,137 per sq mi; median household income $52,704; median gross rent $1,137; 28% renters; 4.4% vacant units; 1.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15.3 of 20; 91 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 173 m; land-use mix 0.72; 78,140 jobs within 45 min by car, 87,254 by transit; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 36055010601 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Monroe County (NY), 2024 | 553 units in 5+ unit buildings, 141 in 2–4, 462 single-family; 2023: 512 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.56; socioeconomic 0.59; housing and transport 0.32; 28% below 150% of poverty; 3% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 7 within 25 km: Irondequoit Mall (0.0 km); Midtown Plaza (5.5 km); Greece Towne Mall (9.9 km); Long Ridge Mall (9.9 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 48,130 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +6% (2,580 → 2,742); median income +26% ($41,705 → $52,704); renters 26% → 28%; median home value +34% ($111,800 → $149,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 16.7); expected annual loss $573,822; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 259 units: Sycamore Green Apts (195 units); Hobie Creek Apts (64 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 35,012 jobs in 1,998 establishments; average annual pay $41,894; employment location quotient 0.92; employment -0.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,563 jobs; 392 in retail trade, 394 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 36055010601)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 49th income percentile as adults; -1.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (130 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 17.1%; median family income $58,009; 176 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | East Irondequoit Central School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: EASTRIDGE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL; IVAN L GREEN PRIMARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 415 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 196 county-logged events: 125 thunderstorm wind, 21 flash flood, 19 hail, 16 flood; $4,341,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 14622, 2026-09 | median list price $237,400 (+18.7% on the year); 19 active listings; median 30 days on market; 2% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,190 establishments (-7%); 39,658 jobs (-3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $285,680 (+5% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr); typical rent $1,515/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 302 (2000 = 100); +9.9% 1 yr, +63% 5 yr, +122% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 71,333 vehicles a day on KEELER ST EXPY (freeway or expressway, 6 lanes); 4,302 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Medley Centre opened in 1990 as a regional mall with 783,381 square feet of GLA and peaked at 145 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not specify who owns or controls the site.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include the reasons for closure and potential future uses.
- Further research is needed to identify any local planning initiatives or incentives that may apply.
For a developer
- Site size is 783,381 sq ft GLA, indicating a large redevelopment footprint.
- Ownership and control are unknown per the record, affecting acquisition strategy.
- Entitlement stage, zoning, and any context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any environmental or flood‑plain constraints are not provided.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data (demographics, income, retail demand) are absent.
- The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Irondequoit Mall, Irondequoit, NY · Malls · opened 1990; also in NY; 0 km away
- Princeton Forrestal Village, Princeton, NJ · Malls · similar GLA (770,000 sq ft); opened 1987
- Rock Hill Galleria, Rock Hill, SC · Malls · similar GLA (678,979 sq ft); opened 1991
- City Center, Columbus, OH · Malls · similar GLA (958,000 sq ft); opened 1989
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- 100 Medley Centre Pkwy, Rochester, NY 14622 - S… loopnet.com
- Medley Center Rochester Ny | What’s going on at the former Medley ... read.enfieldleisurecentres.co.uk
- DEAD MALL BLOG dead-malls.tumblr.com
- RochesterSubway.com : Inside Abandoned Medle… rochestersubway.com
- Abandoned Medley Centre flickr.com
- Medley Centre Developers Could Soon Announce Plans to Redevelop Forme… spectrumlocalnews.com
- Plans for former Medley Centre set to be unveiled Tuesday 13wham.com
- Dead Mall : irondequoit Mall Medley Centre Rochester NY youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 783,381 sq ft GLA (large site)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1990Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 783,381 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 145Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Macy's, Sears, The Bon-Ton, Target |
| Address | Ridge Rd. East & Goodman St. (route 104, I590 |
| County | Monroe |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1990 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in New York
Midtown PlazaRochester, NY · 2005Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: residential Partial redevelopment: office…
Rainbow MallNiagara Falls, NY · 2012Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education