Malls · Pennsylvania
Warren Mall
Opened 1979.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Kmart
This site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://warrenmall.dipsontheatres.com overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -17% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -4.6% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 3: KWIK FILL M0371 371; SHULTS WARREN, WETLAND MITIGATION - DEALERSHIP LOCATION; TRACTOR SUPPLY #1123EPA FRS |
| Census tract 42123970600 | 3,390 people, 113 per sq mi; median household income $56,130; median gross rent $936; 15% renters; 12.3% vacant units; 1.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.5 of 20; 8 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.81; 5,208 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Warren County (PA), 2024 | 30 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 26 single-family; 2023: 40 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.52; socioeconomic 0.45; housing and transport 0.75; 27% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Warren Mall Cinemas (movie_theater, confidence 0.97, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 8,040 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | warrenmall.dipsontheatres.com (alive)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -4% (3,542 → 3,390); median income +22% ($46,192 → $56,130); renters 18% → 15%; median home value +28% ($91,900 → $117,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 81.5); expected annual loss $2.6M; high: inland flooding, strong wind, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 1,581 jobs in 105 establishments; average annual pay $34,055; employment location quotient 1.24; employment -0.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,465 jobs; 642 in retail trade, 202 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42123970600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 39th income percentile as adults; 4.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (318 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 59% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 14.1%; median family income $52,824; 163 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Warren County School District (KG-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 1,212 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 125 county-logged events: 107 thunderstorm wind, 6 hail, 5 tornado, 4 funnel cloud; $2,650,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 16365, 2026-09 | median list price $189,000 (+22.7% on the year); 31 active listings; median 60 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 108 establishments (-17%); 1,858 jobs (-22%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $139,074 (+2% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 11,537 vehicles a day on MARKET ST (principal arterial); 32 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Warren Mall opened in 1979 and operated as a mall with a peak of 13 stores. The site is now closed, with no further events recorded after opening.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not specify who owns or controls the property.
For a planner
- No documented precedents or policy tools for this site in the record.
- Open questions include the reasons for closure and potential reuse strategies.
- Lack of ownership and zoning details limits planning analysis.
For a developer
- Site size: 275,929 sq ft GLA.
- Current control and ownership are unknown per record.
- Entitlement stage and any contextual constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Reasons for closure are not documented.
- Current ownership and control details are missing.
- Zoning, land use, and entitlement status are unknown.
- Environmental, flood, and transit constraints are not specified.
- Local market demographics and tract-level data are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
- Osceola Square Mall, Kissimmee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (331,127 sq ft); opened 1986
- North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973
- Auburn Mall, Auburn, ME · Malls · similar GLA (297,915 sq ft); opened 1979
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Warren Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Sky City: Retail History: Warren Mall: Warren, PA skycity2.blogspot.com
- WARREN MALL - WARREN PA - THE FINAL REMAINS youtube.com
- Warren Mall of Warren, PA | Warren Mall is anchored by The … flickr.com
- Warren Mall Cinemas I-II-III in Warren, PA - Cinema Treasures cinematreasures.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county shrank -4.6% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1979Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 275,929 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 13Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | The Bon-Ton, Kmart, Big Lots |
| Address | Rt. 62 (Market St.) & Hatch Run Rd. |
| County | Warren |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1979 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Pennsylvania
Exton Square MallExton, PA · 2020Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: healthcare, civic Partial redevelopment:…Granite Run MallMiddletown, PA · 2013Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: demalled plus residentialStation MallAltoona, PA · 2010Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, healthcare435 Devon Park Dr.Wayne, PA · 2024Regreening · Reinhabitation, under construction · 162 apartments across the existing two-story buildings. Three acres…Abbey Gardens office complexReading, PAReinhabitation, approved · 92 apartments, made up of 84 one-bed and eight two-bed flats