Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Tennessee

CoolSprings Galleria

Imported, unreviewedOperatingFranklin, TN

CoolSprings Galleria, a 5.35‑acre Franklin mall, sold to Greystar for a 361‑unit apartment‑with‑retail redevelopment slated for 2026. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Sold since 2020This site: 2026 Greystar research-deals · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 156,960 on 65 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,122/mo zillow · all sites with this
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 16% census-acs · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 65 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Scale
Under 20 acresThis site: 5.35 acres research-deals · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingpublic reporting

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2026-06Sold$11.0M closedGreystar ← CBL Propertiesapartmentbuildings.com 2026-06

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “CoolSprings Galleria” and “Franklin” (99 hits, first 99 sampled, 12 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2018-07-12 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2018 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2018-C4542018-07-17 to 2018-07-178-K 4
CMBS trust (weak)Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2018-C4822018-12-20 to 2018-12-208-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2018-H322018-07-12 to 2018-08-088-K 2
CMBS trust (weak)Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2018-C4622018-08-28 to 2018-08-288-K 2
Public owner (weak)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)342001-04-02 to 2024-02-2910-K 17, 8-K 9, 10-Q 5, 10-K/A 3
Public owner (weak)CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP52013-11-12 to 2021-08-108-K 2, 10-K 2, 10-Q 1
Public owner (weak)ASHFORD HOSPITALITY TRUST INC (AHT, AHT-PD, AHT-PF, AHT-PG, AHT-PH, AHT-PI)12005-06-22 to 2005-06-228-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2025CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2026-03-03CoolSprings Galleria Nashville, TN
match: exact
1,171,181
in-line 435,589
89.0% leasedbuilt 1991 / renovated 2015100.0%$677Belk, Dillard's, H&M, JC Penney, King's Dining & Entertainment, Macy's, Primark
2016CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2017-03-01CoolSprings Galleria Nashville, TN
match: exact
1,142,750
in-line 407,997
99.0% leasedbuilt 1991 / renovated 201550.0%$543Belk Men's & Kid's, Belk Women's & Home, Dillard's, H&M, JC Penney, King's Bowl, Macy's
2009CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22CoolSprings Galleria Nashville, TN
match: exact
1,118,319
in-line 363,683
97.0% leasedbuilt 1991 / renovated 1994100.0%$391Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Macy's, Sears
2006CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01CoolSprings Galleria Nashville, TN
match: exact
1,117,624
in-line 362,988
99.0% leasedbuilt 1991 / renovated 1994100.0%$438Dillard’s, JC Penney, Macy’s, Parisian, Sears

As reported by the loan servicer

Loan-level data the CMBS trust files monthly on EDGAR (Form ABS-EE, Exhibit 102, Schedule AL), latest filing per trust. Balance is the scheduled balance at the period end; DSCR is on net cash flow from the most recent borrower financials; appraised value is the latest valuation reported, or the one at securitisation. Several trusts for one mall usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes, each trust reporting its piece. Matched on the property name and state in the exhibit, unreviewed.

TrustPeriod endBalanceMaturityDSCRAppraisedOccupiedStatus
Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2018-C45 ABS-EE 2026-09-29 · filing
match: exact
2026-09-11$17.0M
of $20.0M 2018-04-30
2028-05-111.85x
NOI $4.8M
$322.0M 2018-03-23, at securitisation93.0%current, modified
Trimont LLC
  • COOLSPRINGS GALLERIA (Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2018-C45): built 1991; renovated 2017; 640,176 sq ft NRA; tenants Belk, Primark, H&M Clothing Stores; originator Wells Fargo Bank, National Association

Site context

Housing permits, Williamson County (TN), 2024637 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 1,357 single-family; 2023: 54 in 5+Census BPS
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 6 within 25 kmcomputed
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023867 establishments (+14%); 15,455 jobs (+22%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $916,175 (+3% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,122/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)156,960 vehicles a day on 65 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 11,301 trucks; 18 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

CoolSprings Galleria opened as a traditional mall in Franklin, TN, and has remained operating. In 2026 it was sold to Greystar for conversion into a 361‑unit apartment complex with ground‑floor retail.

Why. The record does not specify anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition; the visible cause is the sale to a developer pursuing housing redevelopment.

Where it stands. The site is currently operating under CBL Properties, pending the 2026 sale to Greystar.

For a planner

  • Precedent of mall‑to‑apartment adaptive reuse.
  • Policy tools: not stated in record (e.g., zoning changes, incentives).
  • Open questions: exact timeline, financing structure, community impact, and required approvals.

For a developer

  • Site size: 5.35 acres.
  • Control: pending sale to Greystar (buyer) from CBL Properties (seller).
  • Entitlement stage: planned use noted (361‑unit apartments + retail), suggesting approvals are in process.
  • Constraints: flood, transit, and environmental data not provided in record.
  • Market signals: opp_score 0.0 with reason 'already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans'.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date and original anchor tenant mix unknown.
  • Current occupancy, lease terms, and financial performance not provided.
  • Competitive landscape and any debt or encumbrances not stated.
  • Flood zone, transit access, and environmental constraints absent from record.
  • Exact zoning, entitlement status, and any required mitigation measures unknown.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • county grew 16.4% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,895

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Acres5.3public reporting
CountyWilliamson County
Census division6 · East South Central
NotesRecord created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded.

Not yet recorded: GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Sources

More in Tennessee