Retrofit Atlas

Malls · West Virginia

Raleigh Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedBeckley, WV

Opened 1974.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size348,682 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability9.5 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile4 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://stores.partycity.com/us/wv/beckley/party-store-pc916.html?extcmp=BPlisti overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
Shrinking countyThis site: -3.4% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m44: ACADEMY SPORTS + OUTDOORS #368; ACME CONSTRUCTION CO; ACTION AUTO REPAIR; ASPEN DENTAL; BECKLEY CONCRETE BATCH PLANTEPA FRS
Census tract 540810005004,286 people, 1,236 per sq mi; median household income $60,919; median gross rent $573; 40% renters; 7.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.5 of 20; 38 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.93; 13,770 jobs within 45 min by car; 9% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Raleigh County (WV), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 41 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.51; socioeconomic 0.48; housing and transport 0.54; 22% below 150% of poverty; 19% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Party City Raleigh Mall (party_and_event_planning, confidence 0.92, from Microsoft, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 8,240 m², 5.682947158813477 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialstores.partycity.com (alive); archived 2009–2020 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +4% (4,105 → 4,286); median income +48% ($41,140 → $60,919); renters 38% → 40%; median home value +34% ($130,200 → $173,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 10.4); expected annual loss $617,609; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 50 units: Heritage House Partners Ltd (50 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023316 establishments (-9%); 4,399 jobs (-14%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $157,221 (+1% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,069/mo (+11% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025205 (2000 = 100); -5.6% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr, +54% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)22,500 vehicles a day on Robert C Byrd Dr (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 30 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Raleigh Mall opened in 1974 in Beckley, West Virginia. The record indicates the mall is now closed, with no further details on when or why it ceased operations.

Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall's closure; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition are mentioned.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Open question: exact closure date and cause.
  • Open question: current ownership and responsible party.
  • Open question: existing zoning and land‑use designations.

For a developer

  • Site size: approximately 348,682 sq ft of gross leasable area.
  • Control: ownership not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage: no planning or approval information provided.
  • Constraints: flood, transit, or environmental factors are not listed.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date unknown.
  • Reason for closure not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity not identified.
  • Zoning and land‑use status not provided.
  • Environmental or flood‑risk constraints not mentioned.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
  • New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971
  • Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
  • North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Raleigh Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county shrank -3.4% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1974Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area348,682 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak8Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsElder-Beerman, Big Lots, Available Anchor Space, Gabriel Brothers
AddressUS Rt. 19 Bypass
CountyRaleigh
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1974 Opened

Sources

More in West Virginia