Retrofit Atlas

Malls · West Virginia

Mountaineer Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedMorgantown, WV

Opened 1975.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size659,085 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability6.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/280352508663049 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://business.morgantownchamber.org overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.77 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $48,906 census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +62% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 57,266 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Mountaineer Mall” and “Morgantown” (10 hits, first 10 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)FIRST UNION REAL ESTATE EQUITY & MORTGAGE INVESTMENTS62002-11-14 to 2004-03-1110-Q 4, 10-K 2

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m11: BIO-MEDICAL APPLICATIONS OF WV, INC., DBA BMA MORGANTOWN; CENTER SERVICE AUTO BODY; FEDEX- NEW SORTING FACILITY; GIANT EAGLE STORE #0059; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CENTEREPA FRS
Census tract 540610110004,086 people, 1,114 per sq mi; median household income $48,906; median gross rent $806; 48% renters; 11.5% vacant units; 2.3% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 6.2 of 20; 25 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.48; 19,639 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Monongalia County (WV), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 15 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.77; socioeconomic 0.80; housing and transport 0.99; 34% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Mountaineer Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 57,266 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialbusiness.morgantownchamber.org (down or redirecting, status 410) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -5% (4,311 → 4,086); median income +62% ($30,227 → $48,906); renters 54% → 48%; median home value +75% ($102,900 → $180,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 37.7); expected annual loss $1.3M; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 0 units: Marjorie Gardens Apts (None units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023366 establishments (-4%); 6,145 jobs (+0%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $263,546 (+3% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,384/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025254 (2000 = 100); -5.0% 1 yr, +21% 5 yr, +42% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)15,900 vehicles a day on Don Knotts Blvd (principal arterial, 3 lanes); 527 trucks; 22 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Mountaineer Mall opened in 1975 in Morgantown, WV. It operated as a mall with a peak of approximately 40 stores. The site is currently closed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Large former mall site (≈659k sq ft) presents redevelopment opportunity.
  • No information on zoning, land use plans, or policy incentives available.
  • Open questions include cause of closure and any existing entitlements.
  • Need to verify ownership and any pending deals or tax incentives.

For a developer

  • Site size: ~659,085 sq ft GLA on a single parcel.
  • Current control and ownership unknown per record.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals not documented.
  • No context-layer data (flood, transit, environmental) provided; site-specific assessments required.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data unavailable in this record.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure not stated in record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity unknown.
  • Any ongoing deals, leases, or demolition status unverified.
  • Zoning, land use, and entitlement status missing.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands) not provided.
  • Transit access and infrastructure details absent.
  • Market demographics and retail demand data not included.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Middletown Mall, Fairmont, WV · Malls · opened 1970; also in WV; 28 km away
  • Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Greeley Mall, Greeley, CO · Malls · similar GLA (577,200 sq ft); opened 1973

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Mountaineer Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 659,085 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1975Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area659,085 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak40Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsElder-Beerman, Giant Eagle Supermarket, Gabriel Brothers, General Glass
AddressRt. 119 & Greenbag Rd.
CountyMonongalia
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1975 Opened

Sources

More in West Virginia