Malls · Florida
Northwood Mall
Northwood Mall opened before 1986, faltered, closed that year; its post‑closure status, ownership, and site details remain undocumented for planners · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 40,500 on N MONROE ST fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 72 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, tornado, cold wave fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 73% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 10: BILL THOMAS CHEVROLET; CULVERS; CUMBERLAND FARMS NORTH MONROE STREET; MIRROR CLEANERS OF TALLAHASSEE INC; TAKE5 OIL CHANGE #450EPA FRS |
| Census tract 12073001601 | 4,973 people, 2,699 per sq mi; median household income $55,381; median gross rent $1,311; 73% renters; 10.1% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9 of 20; 70 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.63; 29,047 jobs within 45 min by car; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 3 schools, 9 parks or playgrounds, 7 health, 2 civic, 32 food and drink; 72 cycleway segments, 123 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Leon County (FL), 2024 | 975 units in 5+ unit buildings, 22 in 2–4, 768 single-family; 2023: 1,237 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.70; socioeconomic 0.70; housing and transport 0.72; 27% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Centre of Tallahassee (0.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 10,241 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 53,364 since 2015; 4,519 in the last 12 months (+8% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-07 with 619Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +22% (4,090 → 4,973); median income +37% ($40,455 → $55,381); renters 66% → 73%; median home value +58% ($151,300 → $238,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 87.0); expected annual loss $2.6M; high: hurricane, tornado, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 15,853 jobs in 1,010 establishments; average annual pay $37,584; employment location quotient 0.97; employment +0.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,856 jobs; 286 in retail trade, 800 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12073001601)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 3.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (437 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 49% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 24.5%; median family income $55,721; 321 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Leon County School District (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: RUEDIGER ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; RAA MIDDLE SCHOOL; SEALEY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; THE SCHOOL OF ARTS & SCIENCES CENTRENCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 162 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 501 county-logged events: 385 thunderstorm wind, 60 flash flood, 20 hail, 15 tornado; $190,385,000 property damage reported; 4 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 32303, 2026-09 | median list price $244,975 (-9.1% on the year); 194 active listings; median 50 days on market; 20% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 965 establishments (-3%); 16,488 jobs (+7%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $291,390 (+2% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $1,473/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 320 (2000 = 100); -1.3% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr, +66% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 40,500 vehicles a day on N MONROE ST (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 2,308 trucks; 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Northwood Mall opened as a mall sometime before 1986, operated until it officially closed in 1986 due to faltering performance. The record does not specify any subsequent use or disposition of the site after closure.
Why. The record notes the mall was faltering but does not state specific causes such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The site is listed as closed; no owner or controlling entity is indicated in the record.
For a planner
- No prior redevelopment precedents are documented.
- No policy tools or incentives are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and potential reuse options.
For a developer
- Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided.
- Control and ownership of the property are unknown.
- Entitlement stage, flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not recorded.
What we do not know yet
- Opening year and original anchor tenants are unknown.
- Specific causes of decline (anchor loss, competition, debt) are not stated.
- Post‑closure use, demolition status, and current site conditions are undocumented.
- Ownership, parcel details, and any deeds or liens are missing.
- Context‑layer data (flood, transit, environment) and market signals are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Northwoodmall commons.wikimedia.org
- Landscaping at Northwood Mall - Tallahassee, Florida. floridamemory.com
- City of Tallahassee to bid on Northwood Mall : r/Tallahassee reddit.com
- Northwood Mall on opening day - Tallahassee flickr.com
- Northwood Mall - Tallahassee, Florida Gallery - Radically Retro radicallyretro.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Closed | 1986extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| County | Leon County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Centre of Tallahassee, formerly Tallahassee Mall, is a local semi-enclosed mixed-use shopping, entertainment, and work office complex located at the intersection of North Monroe Street and John Knox Road in Tallahassee, Florida. Since the official close of the faltering Northwood Mall in 1986, Tallahassee Mall became the older of two surviving enclosed malls in the Tallahassee area, the other being Governor's Square.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1986 Official close of Northwood Mall
Sources
- Wikipedia: Northwood Mall (Tallahassee) · supports: status, year closed
3 quoted sentences
official close of the faltering Northwood Mall in 1986
official close of the faltering Northwood Mall in 1986
official close of the faltering Northwood Mall in 1986
More in Florida
Centre of TallahasseeTallahassee, FL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Dadeland MallKendall, FL · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open-air retail and restaurantEast Lake Square MallTampa, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: officeFashion MallPlantation, FL · 2018Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: mixed useLakeland MallLakeland, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: religious