Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Illinois

Village Mall

Imported, unreviewedOperatingDanville, IL

Village Mall in Danville, IL remains operating amid distressed loan signs and recent auction activity involving AZT Corp., future uncertain. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
AuctionThis site: research-deals · all sites with this
Place
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -15% census-cbp · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -6.7% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingpublic reporting

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2026-02-11Auction$1.2M closed ← AZT Corp.news-gazette.com 2026-02-11
2024Auction$470,000 closedAZT Corp.news-gazette.com

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Village Mall” and “Danville” (69 hits, first 69 sampled, 9 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-03-23 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2007-CIBC1812007-03-23 to 2007-03-238-K 1

Site context

Housing permits, Vermilion County (IL), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 4 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023217 establishments (-15%); 3,000 jobs (-14%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $101,321 (+3% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $886/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)23,121 vehicles a day on VERMILION ST (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,275 trucks; 15 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Village Mall opened as a mall and continues to operate in Danville, IL. Recent auction activity in 2024 and 2026 indicates financial stress, though no further timeline details are provided.

Why. The record cites a distressed loan or foreclosure as the reason for the low opportunity score, and the auction sales suggest financial strain. No other causes are explicitly stated.

Where it stands. The mall is currently operating, but ownership after the 2026 auction where AZT Corp. sold to an unknown buyer is unclear.

For a planner

  • Zoning and land‑use designations are not specified in the record.
  • Potential for adaptive reuse or redevelopment exists but requires further study.
  • Community impact assessments would be needed before any major changes.
  • Policy tools such as tax increment financing could be considered given the distressed loan signal.

For a developer

  • Site size and parcel boundaries are unknown.
  • Control is uncertain following the 2026 auction; the current owner is not identified.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
  • Constraints from flood plains, transit access, or environmental layers are not provided.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date, original anchor tenants, and total square footage are missing.
  • The buyer in the 2026 auction and the current owner are not stated.
  • Zoning, land‑use, and any entitlements are unknown.
  • Environmental, flood, and transit context layers are not included.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county shrank -6.7% 2018–23
  • distressed loan or foreclosure

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

CountyVermilion County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesRecord created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded.

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Sources

More in Illinois