Malls · Indiana
Concord Mall
Concord Mall opened 1972, lost anchors by 2023, closed and marked for demolition; owner and timeline unknown per the record · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Elder-Beerman
This site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMontgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.twitter.com/subway overture · all sites with thisOn Twitter
This site: …https://www.twitter.com/subway overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.shopconcordmall.com overture / http check · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +28% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Concord Mall” and “Elkhart” (17 hits, first 17 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2008-01-11 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | Bear Stearns Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2007-PWR18 | 2 | 2008-01-11 to 2008-01-11 | 8-K 2 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: CONCORD MALL; DUNLAP - SUNNYSIDE - REGULATOR STATION 7098; ELKHART CONCORD LLC; IN DOT DES 1801913; KMART STORE 4249EPA FRS |
| Census tract 18039002101 | 4,562 people, 726 per sq mi; median household income $86,146; median gross rent $1,132; 16% renters; 10.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 7.3 of 20; 13 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.72; 29,105 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 2 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 1 civic, 8 food and drink; 3 cycleway segments, 29 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Elkhart County (IN), 2024 | 136 units in 5+ unit buildings, 6 in 2–4, 342 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.57; socioeconomic 0.54; housing and transport 0.47; 22% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 1 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Concord Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 32,810 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopconcordmall.com (down or redirecting, status 503); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebook, twitterOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 26,143 since 2015; 1,995 in the last 12 months (-20% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-01 with 573Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +28% (3,572 → 4,562); median income +29% ($66,827 → $86,146); renters 11% → 16%; median home value +37% ($124,200 → $170,500)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 34.1); expected annual loss $936,333; high: strong wind, cold wave; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 9,419 jobs in 685 establishments; average annual pay $36,786; employment location quotient 0.75; employment -3.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,678 jobs; 414 in retail trade, 210 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 18039002101)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 44th income percentile as adults; 7.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (361 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 35% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 12.9%; median family income $69,063; 76 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Concord Community Schools (KG-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Concord Community High School; Concord South Side Elementary Sch; Concord Intermediate SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 765 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 181 county-logged events: 121 thunderstorm wind, 42 hail, 11 flood, 3 lightning; $2,568,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 46517, 2026-09 | median list price $304,725 (+1.6% on the year); 33 active listings; median 36 days on market; 27% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 708 establishments (+6%); 10,164 jobs (+18%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $266,459 (+6% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,182/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 335 (2000 = 100); -5.8% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +79% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 18,467 vehicles a day on US 33 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 903 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Concord Mall opened in 1972 with Montgomery Ward and Robertson's as anchors, adding JCPenney in 1976. Over time Robertson's became Meis, Elder-Beerman, then Carson's, which closed in 2018, while Montgomery Ward was split between Hobby Lobby and ABC Warehouse. By 2023 JCPenney announced closure and the mall was slated for demolition.
Why. The record shows anchor store losses—Carson's in 2018 and JCPenney in 2023—leaving only Hobby Lobby and ABC Warehouse open before the mall's closure. No explicit mention of competition, debt, or demolition causes beyond these closures.
Where it stands. The mall is closed and marked for future demolition, but the record does not specify which entity controls the site.
For a planner
- Record indicates a redevelopment strategy but does not name a responsible party or timeline.
- Site is closed and slated for demolition, suggesting a need for clearance and site preparation policies.
- No policy tools, incentives, or zoning changes are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include ownership, demolition schedule, and any planned reuse.
For a developer
- Site size is not provided in the record.
- Control/ownership of the parcel is unspecified.
- Entitlement stage or existing approvals are not described.
- No context‑layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are included.
- Tract‑level market signals such as demographics or spending power are absent.
What we do not know yet
- Owner or controlling entity of the site is unknown.
- Exact demolition or redevelopment timeline is not stated.
- Environmental constraints, floodplain status, and transit proximity are not detailed.
- Market demand indicators (population, income, retail gaps) are missing from the record.
- The record’s verified status is 'draft' and its opportunity score is based on extracted data, indicating potential unreviewed model outputs.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · opened 1968; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · opened 1978; closed 2019; same strategy: redevelop
- Adrian Mall, Adrian, MI · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- CityPlace Burlington, Burlington, VT · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Concord Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Concord Mall | Flickr flickr.com
- As stores trickle back, Concord Mall looks ahead delawarebusinesstimes.com
- Gallery: Concord Mall in 1978 wsbt.com
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Elkhart's Concord Mall set for $50 million overhaul southbendtribune.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1972Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2023extracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Elder-Beerman, Hobby Lobby, Montgomery Ward, Robertson's |
| County | Elkhart County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Concord Mall was an enclosed shopping mall serving Elkhart, Indiana, United States. It opened on August 9, 1972, featuring Montgomery Ward and Robertson's as its anchor stores, with JCPenney being added on in 1976. Robertson's was converted to Meis, Elder-Beerman, and Carson's before closing in 2018, while Montgomery Ward was divided between Hobby Lobby and ABC Warehouse. These are also the only two stores open at the mall, which otherwise closed for business in 2023.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1972 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1972 Opened
- 1976 JCPenney added as third anchor
- 1985 Robertson's closed; Meis opened
- 1989 Meis sold to Elder-Beerman
- 2002 Hobby Lobby opened
- 2011 Elder-Beerman rebranded as Carson's
- 2018 Carson's announced closure
- 2023 JCPenney announced closure
- 2023 Mall announced closure and future demolition
Sources
- Wikipedia: Concord Mall (Indiana) · supports: status, strategy, year closed
12 quoted sentences
which otherwise closed for business in 2023.
which otherwise closed for business in 2023.
will be demolished to make way for future redevelopment plans.
Concord Mall opened on August 9, 1972, anchored by Montgomery Ward and Robertson's, a division of Gamble-Skogmo.
More in Indiana
Lifeline Data CenterIndianapolis, IN · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: solar data centerWoodmar MallHammond, IN · 2020Redeveloped · Redevelopment: sports and recreationCentennial VillageMunster, INPartial Redeveloped · mixed-use transit-oriented development that will feature both retail…Century MallMerrillville, IN · 2007Demolished
Circle Centre MallIndianapolis, IN · 2025Redeveloped · Reinhabited · redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards