Malls · Ohio
Findlay Village Mall
Opened 1962. Closed 2025. Redeveloped in 2025.
documented
The mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store.
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile9 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sold since 2020
This site: 2020 Kohan Retail Investment Group research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …shopfindlayvillagemall.com overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $44,844 census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -1.1% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: Target store extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store. |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | Target storeextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store. |
| Retrofit year | 2025extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Developer | Targetextracted, unreviewed |
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (8)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- EDGAR filer · Credit Suisse First Boston Mortgage Securities Corpfrom sec.gov
- Filing 0000950136-05-004503 (8-K)from sec.gov
- EDGAR full-text search: “Findlay Village Mall”from city search
- Census tract 39063000600 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 39063000600 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Hancock County (39063) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (5)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikidata item Q16993322from wikidata.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- Findlay, Ohio on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (1)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in Findlay, OH (search)from city search
News (2)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Findlay Village Mall” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Findlay Village Mall” (search)from name search
History and original facts
| Opened | 1962Wikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2025extracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store. |
| Gross leasable area | 525,000 sq ftextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall expanded from 334,000 square feet to over 525,000 square feet in 1990, adding a new Kmart and JCPenney store along with Elder-Beerman. |
| Original developer | Edward J. DeBartolo, Sr.extracted, unreviewed documentedDeveloped by mall builder Edward J. DeBartolo, Sr., the mall opened in 1962 as Fort Findlay Village Shopping Center, featuring Britt's and JCPenney, followed by Sears. |
| Anchors | Best Buy, Dunham's Sports, Runnings |
| County | Hancock County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site. |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Sold | $4.0M closed | Kohan Retail Investment Group ← Rocky Companies | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Findlay Village Mall” and “Findlay” (17 hits, first 17 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-08-02 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | CREDIT SUISSE FIRST BOSTON MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP | 1 | 2005-08-02 to 2005-08-02 | 8-K 1 |
Before and after
Before: the mall
| GLA | 334,000 sq ftquote |
|---|
After: the retrofit
| Demolished | 2,025quote |
|---|
Hover "quote" to see the sentence each value came from. Planned figures are labelled planned. Method.
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: FINDLAY MALL TARGET STORE; LARICHE TOYOTA SUBARU; PLAZA MARATHON; SPARKS TIRE AND AUTO INC; TAYLOR PHOTO INCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 39063000600 | 5,900 people, 1,446 per sq mi; median household income $44,844; median gross rent $882; 45% renters; 3.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 11.5 of 20; 137 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.9; 14,846 jobs within 45 min by car; 7% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 3 schools, 10 parks or playgrounds, 6 health, 3 civic, 22 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 76 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Hancock County (OH), 2024 | 150 units in 5+ unit buildings, 31 in 2–4, 80 single-family; 2023: 16 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.65; socioeconomic 0.54; housing and transport 0.75; 25% below 150% of poverty; 13% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Findlay Village Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.85, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 11,368 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | (alive)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 36,308 since 2015; 2,726 in the last 12 months (-49% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-03 with 757Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -12% (6,686 → 5,900); median income +21% ($37,099 → $44,844); renters 41% → 45%; median home value +32% ($107,900 → $142,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 74.1); expected annual loss $2.3M; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 191 units: Senior Tower Apts (146 units); Kiwanis Village (45 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 3,855 jobs in 232 establishments; average annual pay $36,246; employment location quotient 0.89; employment -3.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 7,297 jobs; 1,335 in retail trade, 446 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39063000600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 1.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (528 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 40% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 14.0%; median family income $54,199; 454 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Findlay City School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Wilson Vance Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 806 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 88 county-logged events: 56 thunderstorm wind, 17 hail, 9 flood, 3 flash flood; $15,059,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 45840, 2026-09 | median list price $304,900 (+10.1% on the year); 95 active listings; median 42 days on market; 27% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 241 establishments (-8%); 3,974 jobs (-7%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $239,297 (+4% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr); typical rent $1,348/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 349 (2000 = 100); +7.6% 1 yr, +48% 5 yr, +84% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 20,782 vehicles a day on N MAIN ST (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1962 as Fort Findlay Village Shopping Center, the mall was enclosed in 1974 and expanded to 525,000 sq ft by 1990. Anchor stores such as Kmart, the movie theater, Sears and JCPenney closed between 2003 and 2017, leading to declining occupancy. The property was sold to Kohan Retail Investment Group in 2020, demolished in mid‑2025, and a Target store is being built on the site.
Why. The decline is evident from successive anchor closures (Kmart, theater, Sears, JCPenney) and the eventual shift to a single‑tenant big‑box redevelopment.
Where it stands. The mall has been demolished and a Target store is under construction, with Target listed as the developer.
For a planner
- Strategy listed as "redevelop" to retail use.
- Property changed ownership via a $4 million sale to Kohan Retail Investment Group in 2020.
- Open questions about any public incentives, zoning changes, or environmental review used for the Target redevelopment (not stated in the record).
For a developer
- Site size: 525,000 sq ft GLA.
- Control: Target is the developer after demolition.
- Entitlement stage: demolition completed, Target store construction underway.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) and tract‑level market signals are not provided in the record.
What we do not know yet
- No information on floodplain, transit access, or environmental conditions.
- Tract‑level data (demographics, income, competition) missing.
- Details of any public incentives, tax abatements, or zoning approvals are not stated.
- Verification status is "draft", indicating the record has not been fully reviewed.
- Exact timeline for Target store opening and any remediation work is unspecified.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Eastland Mall, Columbus, OH · Malls · opened 1968; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- North DeKalb Mall, Decatur, GA · Malls · similar GLA (635,000 sq ft); opened 1965; same strategy: redevelop
- Los Arcos Mall, Scottsdale, AZ · Malls · similar GLA (607,350 sq ft); opened 1969; same strategy: redevelop
- Eastfield Mall, Springfield, MA · Malls · opened 1967; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Findlay Village Mall Sign | The Findlay V… flickr.com
- Findlay Village Mall (32 stores) - shopping in Find… mallscenters.com
- The final days for Findlay Village Mall Findlay OH. - YouTube youtube.com
- When Did Findlay Village Mall Open? – JFHTV rla.makeyourwayup.co.uk
- Sold: Findlay Village Mall | The Courier Findlay Village Mall was ... thecourier.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- 525,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
Findlay Mall was an enclosed shopping mall in Findlay, Ohio. Opened in 1962, it features Dunham's Sports, Runnings, and Best Buy as its anchor stores. It is owned by Rocky Companies. The mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1962 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1962 Opened as Fort Findlay Village Shopping Center with Britt's and JCPenney
- 1974 Enclosed
- 1990 Expanded to 525,000 sq ft
- 2003 Kmart closed
- 2014 Sears closure announced
- 2016 Stock + Field to replace Sears
- 2017 JCPenney and Sears closures
- 2020 Sold to Kohan Retail
- 2021 Stock + Field purchase
Sources
- Wikipedia: Findlay Village Mall · supports: after notes, gla sqft, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
16 quoted sentences
The mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store.
The mall expanded from 334,000 square feet to over 525,000 square feet in 1990, adding a new Kmart and JCPenney store along with Elder-Beerman.
Developed by mall builder Edward J. DeBartolo, Sr., the mall opened in 1962 as Fort Findlay Village Shopping Center, featuring Britt's and JCPenney, followed by Sears.
The mall closed on January 31, 2025 and demolition began in mid-2025 to prepare for the construction of a Target store.
More in Ohio
City CenterColumbus, OH · 2011Redeveloped · Regreened · Regreening: park Partial redevelopment: mixed-use residentialCity Centre MartMiddletown, OH · 2001Redeveloped · Redevelopment: restored street grid
Portside Festival MarketplaceToledo, OH · 1997Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: science museum
Richland MallOntario, OH · 2015Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: healthcare