Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Ohio

Tiffin Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedTiffin, OH

Opened 1980.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer
Site size195,506 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus
Walkability9 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $43,578 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 39147963200 hud-oz · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.1% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Tiffin Mall” and “Tiffin” (50 hits, first 50 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)DEVELOPERS DIVERSIFIED REALTY CORP (SITC, SITC-PA)492001-04-02 to 2012-02-288-K 35, 10-K 14

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m7: G & L OIL CO INC; G AND W COLLISION SERVICE; KELLYS AUTO REPAIR; KIMMEL CORP; LAUNDROLUX OSMONS COIN LAUNDRYSEPA FRS
Census tract 391479632003,795 people, 211 per sq mi; median household income $43,578; median gross rent $903; 36% renters; 7.7% vacant units; 0.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9 of 20; 68 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.75; 10,361 jobs within 45 min by car; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 39147963200 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Seneca County (OH), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 4 in 2–4, 39 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.66; socioeconomic 0.46; housing and transport 0.80; 24% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Tract change 2013–2023population -8% (4,110 → 3,795); median income +36% ($31,957 → $43,578); renters 38% → 36%; median home value +26% ($88,900 → $111,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 61.6); expected annual loss $1.6M; high: inland flooding, winter weather; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 105 units: Tiffin West Apts (60 units); Tiffin Pointe (45 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023146 establishments (-8%); 1,958 jobs (-3%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $180,081 (+4% 1 yr, +26% 5 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025269 (2000 = 100); +3.6% 1 yr, +54% 5 yr, +82% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)18,963 vehicles a day on W MARKET ST (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 9 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Tiffin Mall opened in 1980 and operated as a regional mall with up to 35 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is now listed as closed.

Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or prior reuse plans are mentioned in the record.
  • No policy tools or incentives applied to the site are documented.
  • Open questions remain about the causes of closure and potential future uses.

For a developer

  • Site size is approximately 195,506 square feet of gross leasable area.
  • Current ownership or control is not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any zoning approvals are unknown.
  • No flood‑plain, transit access, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Details on anchor tenants, lease terms, or operational performance are missing.
  • No contextual data (flood zone, transit proximity, environmental conditions) are provided.
  • The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating limited verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Tiffin Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1980Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area195,506 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak35Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsJCPenney, Cinemark Theatres
AddressWest Market St.
CountySeneca
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1980 Opened

Sources

More in Ohio