Malls · Alabama
Madison Square Mall
Opened 1984. Closed 2017. Redeveloped. Owner of record Mid City Owner LLC.
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile18 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/103720096350374 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.MidCityHuntsville.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: MID CITY OWNER LLC county-parcels · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 71,089 on Rideout Rd fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 11% census-acs · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: Rideout Rd fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 01089001402 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 65% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +121% fhfa · all sites with this1M+ sq ft GLA
This site: 1,112,430 sq ft hermes-web · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 100 acres hermes-web · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: MidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at MidCity. extraction · all sites with thisEntertainment and sports
This site: MidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedMidCity District is a mixed-use retail development center currently being built on the land formerly used for Madison Square Mall. |
| New uses | retail, entertainmentextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | MidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at MidCity.extracted, unreviewed documentedMidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at MidCity. |
| Owner of record | Mid City Owner LLCcounty assessor reported |
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (22)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- County GIS parcel record · 576150from maps.huntsvilleal.gov
- County GIS parcel record · 552519from maps.huntsvilleal.gov
- County GIS parcel record · 552520from maps.huntsvilleal.gov
- County GIS parcel record · 551538from maps.huntsvilleal.gov
- EDGAR filer · Cbl & Associates Properties Inc (Cbl)from sec.gov
- Filing 0000910612-16-000097 (10-K, 8-K, 10-Q, 10-K/A)from sec.gov
- EDGAR filer · Cbl & Associates Limited Partnershipfrom sec.gov
- Filing 0000910612-16-000097 (10-K, 8-K, 10-Q)from sec.gov
- EDGAR full-text search: “Madison Square Mall”from city search
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2015from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2014from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2013from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2012from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2011from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2010from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2009from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · CBL & Associates Properties 2007from sec.gov
- Census tract 01089001404 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 01089001404 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Madison County (01089) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (5)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikidata item Q6728099from wikidata.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- Huntsville, Alabama on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (1)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in Huntsville, AL (search)from city search
News (3)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Madison Square Mall” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Madison Square Mall” (search)from name search
- Wayback Machine · www.MidCityHuntsville.com (2017–2025)from web.archive.org
History and original facts
| Opened | 1984Wikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2017extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 100hermes-web reported |
| Gross leasable area | 1,112,430 sq fthermes-web reported |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Sears, Castner Knott, Parisian, Pizitz |
| County | Madison County |
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site. |
Parcels, tax and title
| Parcel | Owner of record | Acres | Use · zoning | Value (appraised · assessed · taxable) | Last sale · deed | ||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
576150all 9 county fields
| Mid City Owner LLC | — | — (appraised) assessed — | — | |||||||||||||
552519all 9 county fields
| Mid City Owner LLC | — | — (appraised) assessed — | — | |||||||||||||
552520all 9 county fields
| Blue Oak Hsv LLC | — | — (appraised) assessed — | — | |||||||||||||
551538all 9 county fields
| Midcity Retail II LLC | — | — (appraised) assessed — | — | |||||||||||||
| Total | $0 |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Madison Square Mall” and “Huntsville” (53 hits, first 53 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL) | 26 | 2001-04-02 to 2016-02-29 | 10-K 11, 8-K 8, 10-Q 6, 10-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | 6 | 2014-03-03 to 2016-02-29 | 10-K 3, 8-K 2, 10-Q 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2015-03-02 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 928,538 in-line 295,104 | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears, three vacancies | ||
| 2013 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2014-03-03 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 928,507 in-line 295,073 | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears, two vacancies | ||
| 2012 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2013-03-01 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 928,642 in-line 295,208 | 88.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $247 | Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears, two vacancies |
| 2011 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2012-02-29 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 928,727 in-line 295,293 | 87.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $249 | Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears, two vacancies |
| 2010 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2011-03-01 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 928,628 in-line 295,194 | 81.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $254 | Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears, two vacancies |
| 2009 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 929,993 in-line 296,559 | 85.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $250 | Belk, Dillard's, JC Penney, Sears |
| 2008 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2009-03-02 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 930,713 in-line 297,878 | 86.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $265 | Belk, Dillard’s, JC Penney, Sears, Steve & Barry’s |
| 2006 | CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01 | Madison Square Huntsville, AL match: name-city | 931,232 in-line 298,397 | 92.0% leased | built 1984 / renovated 1985 | 100.0% | $284 | Belk, Dillard’s, JC Penney, Parisian, Sears, Steve & Barry’s |
Before and after
Before: the mall
| Enclosed | yesquote |
|---|
After: the retrofit
Nothing extracted yet.
Hover "quote" to see the sentence each value came from. Planned figures are labelled planned. Method.
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 14: APOLLO PARK PHASE 3; CHEVRON USA INC #53486; CPI PHOTO FINISH; FIRESTONE COMPLETE AUTO CARE #025097; HUNTSVILLE FORD TRACTOR SALESEPA FRS |
| Census tract 01089001404 | 3,381 people, 1,278 per sq mi; median household income $50,332; median gross rent $971; 65% renters; 7.8% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 0 schools, 5 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 23 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 106 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 01089001402 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Madison County (AL), 2024 | 1,186 units in 5+ unit buildings, 46 in 2–4, 3,478 single-family; 2023: 1,938 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.32; socioeconomic 0.58; housing and transport 0.10; 26% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Heart of Huntsville Mall (6.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Madison Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 9,845 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.MidCityHuntsville.com (alive); archived 2017–2025 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 11,954 since 2015; 2,399 in the last 12 months (-5% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-06 with 326Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 65.7); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: tornado; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 22,970 jobs in 1,528 establishments; average annual pay $40,319; employment location quotient 0.99; employment +1.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 16,178 jobs; 491 in retail trade, 671 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 01089001404)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; -0.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (266 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 60% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 17.0%; median family income $57,587; 300 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Huntsville City School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 699 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 791 county-logged events: 501 thunderstorm wind, 135 hail, 82 flash flood, 25 flood; $9,515,500 property damage reported; 5 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 35806, 2026-09 | median list price $384,900 (-4.4% on the year); 133 active listings; median 86 days on market; 16% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,334 establishments (+1%); 22,589 jobs (+20%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $311,524 (+1% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,378/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 297 (2000 = 100); -7.3% 1 yr, +62% 5 yr, +121% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 71,089 vehicles a day on Rideout Rd (freeway or expressway, 5 lanes); 2,844 trucks; 37 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1984 as Madison Square Mall, the largest enclosed mall in Huntsville. The mall closed in 2017 and the site is being redeveloped as the MidCity District mixed-use retail and entertainment center. The first phase, featuring Topgolf and The Camp at MidCity, is already open, with full build-out expected by 2032.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is closed and undergoing redevelopment as MidCity District; the record does not specify the controlling owner or developer.
For a planner
- Redevelopment strategy indicated with planned new uses of retail and entertainment.
- First phase operational (Topgolf and The Camp at MidCity) shows early implementation.
- Open questions remain regarding timing of full build‑out (target 2032) and any required public incentives or infrastructure.
For a developer
- Site size exceeds 929,993 sq ft of former mall area.
- Control/ownership not detailed in the record; entitlements appear granted for retail‑entertainment redevelopment with first phase open.
- Market signals: opportunity score 40, driven by closed‑site status and 11.1% county population growth 2018‑23; no flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Owner/developer identity and control structure are not specified in the record.
- Causes of the 2017 closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, etc.) are not stated.
- Context‑layer constraints such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental issues are absent from the record.
- The record’s verification status is "draft" and many fields are marked as extraction, indicating potential unreviewed model‑derived data.
- Details on financing, phasing beyond the first phase, and any public incentives or policy tools used are missing.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Fiesta Mall, Mesa, AZ · Malls · similar size (120 acres); similar GLA (1,200,000 sq ft); opened 1979
- Knoxville Center Mall, Knoxville, TN · Malls · similar size (78 acres); similar GLA (964,000 sq ft); opened 1984
- Owings Mills Mall, Owings Mills, MD · Malls · similar size (100 acres); similar GLA (828,219 sq ft); opened 1986
- Spring Hill Mall, West Dundee, IL · Malls · similar size (100 acres); similar GLA (1,370,000 sq ft); opened 1980
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Madison Square Mall (Huntsville) - ATUALIZA… tripadvisor.com.br
- Dillards Madison Square Mall commons.wikimedia.org
- Madison Square Mall (2025) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with ... tripadvisor.com
- Madison Square Mall Huntsville Al fity.club
- Mall Review: Madison Square Mall Huntsville, Alabama youtube.com
- Madison Square Mall Huntsville, AL December 2016 | Mike Kalasnik | Flickr flickr.com
- Want to get a final look at Madison Square Mall? Here it is whnt.com
- MADISON SQUARE MALL (2025) All You Should Know BEFORE You Go (with R… tripadvisor.co.uk
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 11.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
MidCity District is a mixed-use retail development center currently being built in Huntsville, Alabama on the corner of University Drive and Research Park Boulevard (SR-255) on the land formerly used for Madison Square Mall. Madison Square Mall was the largest mall in the city; it encompassed over 929,993 sq ft (86,399.2 m2). It was also the oldest extant enclosed shopping mall in the city until its closure in 2017. It is expected to be completed in 2032. MidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at MidCity.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1984 Opened (Wikidata)
- 2017 Closure of Madison Square Mall
More photos
Before closure (2)

2016-07-16 · Windyshadow32, CC BY-SA 4.0

2014-08-24 · formulanone from Huntsville, United States, CC BY-SA 2.0
Undated or in between (2)

2017-01-26 · Windyshadow32, CC BY-SA 4.0

2017-02-27 · Shannon McGee from Huntsville, USA, CC BY-SA 2.0
Sources
- Wikipedia: Madison Square Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
5 quoted sentences
until its closure in 2017.
MidCity's first official phase opened with Topgolf and a preview center/entertainment venue called The Camp at MidCity.
until its closure in 2017.
MidCity District is a mixed-use retail development center currently being built on the land formerly used for Madison Square Mall.
- found by hermes-web
1 quoted sentence
Madison Square Mall is enclosed mall with 1,112,430 sq. feet Gross Leasable Area (GLA).
- found by hermes-web
1 quoted sentence
Madison Square Mall rose on roughly 100 acres at the corner of University Drive and Research Park Boulevard.
More in Alabama
Montgomery MallMontgomery, AL · 2012Partial Regreened · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education, 2017 Partial regreening: sports,…Brookwood VillageHomewood, ALStatus not verified
Century PlazaBirmingham, AL · 2020Redeveloped · Amazon logistics facility
Eastwood MallBirmingham, ALDemolishedHeart of Huntsville MallHuntsville, AL · 2007Redeveloped · As of August 2021, only the SpringHill Suites is finished and open…Jessop's RiversideSheffield, ALRedeveloped · office park