Retrofit Atlas

Malls · California

Lakewood Center

Imported, unreviewedOperatingLakewood, CA

Lakewood Center, a California mall sold in 2025 to a developer joint venture for housing and lifestyle redevelopment pending approval. · summary, model-written

Claim this site Reach the owner
More

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Lakewood Center
Exterior view of a shopping center with visible storefronts and signage under clear sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: LumiLB, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile5 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Sold since 2020This site: 2025 JV of three developers/investors research-deals · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 36,686 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 9,430 units, Los Angeles County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,806/mo zillow · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -2.5% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingpublic reporting reported

History and original facts

CountyLos Angeles County
Census division9 · Pacific
NotesRecord created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded.

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Planning

No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site.

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2025-08Sold$332.1M closedJV of three developers/investors ← MacerichThe Real Deal 2025-08-27

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Lakewood Center” and “Lakewood” (641 hits, first 100 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. A strong match to a commercial-mortgage trust means the mall very likely backed, or backs, a securitised loan; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-09-01 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2015 from the trust name. Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (strong)COMM 2015-CCRE24 Mortgage Trust292015-08-06 to 2026-03-1910-K 22, 10-K/A 6, 8-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2005-C622005-09-01 to 2005-09-228-K 1, 8-K/A 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2014-CCRE18 Mortgage Trust12016-03-23 to 2016-03-2310-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2014-CCRE21 Mortgage Trust12016-03-23 to 2016-03-2310-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2014-CCRE17 Mortgage Trust12016-03-22 to 2016-03-2210-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2015-CCRE27 Mortgage Trust12016-03-22 to 2016-03-2210-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)COMM 2014-CCRE15 Mortgage Trust12016-03-23 to 2016-03-2310-K 1
Public owner (strong)MACERICH CO (MAC)512008-11-07 to 2026-02-208-K 42, 10-Q 6, 10-K 2, 8-K/A 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2016Macerich 10-K, 2017-02-24Lakewood Center Lakewood, CA
match: exact
2,064,000
in-line 956,000
98.3% leasedbuilt 1953 / acquired 1975 / renovated 200860.0%Costco, Forever 21, Home Depot, JCPenney, Macy's, Target
2009Macerich 10-K, 2010-02-26Lakewood Center Lakewood, CA
match: exact
2,033,670
in-line 968,323
92.4% leasedbuilt 1953 / acquired 1975 / renovated 200151.0%Costco, Forever 21, Home Depot, J.C. Penney, Macy's, Target

As reported by the loan servicer

Loan-level data the CMBS trust files monthly on EDGAR (Form ABS-EE, Exhibit 102, Schedule AL), latest filing per trust. Balance is the scheduled balance at the period end; DSCR is on net cash flow from the most recent borrower financials; appraised value is the latest valuation reported, or the one at securitisation. Several trusts for one mall usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes, each trust reporting its piece. Matched on the property name and state in the exhibit, unreviewed.

TrustPeriod endBalanceMaturityDSCRAppraisedOccupiedStatus
UBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2019-C16 ABS-EE 2026-09-28 · filing
match: exact
2026-09-11$12.8M
of $13.7M 2018-12-10
2029-01-061.77x
NOI $1.7M
$21.0M 2018-11-12100.0%current, defeased
Midland Loan Services
  • Lakewood Center (UBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2019-C16): built 1982; renovated 2019; 107,812 sq ft NRA; tenants Raley's #341, Dollar Tree, U.S. Postal Service; originator UBS AG

Site context

Housing permits, Los Angeles County (CA), 20249,430 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,273 in 2–4, 9,106 single-family; 2023: 13,214 in 5+Census BPS
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 27 within 25 kmcomputed
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)391,331 jobs in 28,960 establishments; average annual pay $52,235; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -1.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20225,328 jobs; 2,421 in retail trade, 1,600 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 06037570800)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; 0.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (410 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 3.8%; median family income $102,105; 43 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsLong Beach Unified School District (KG-12); 10 public schools within 1 mile: Stephen Foster Elementary; Bellflower Alternative Education Center; Intensive Learning Center; Bancroft MiddleNCES EDGE
Elevation56 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025157 county-logged events: 86 flash flood, 35 thunderstorm wind, 21 debris flow, 6 hail; $8,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 90712, 2026-09median list price $885,000 (-1.3% on the year); 21 active listings; median 39 days on market; 8% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 202328,998 establishments (+2%); 419,890 jobs (+8%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $871,674 (+0% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $2,806/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)36,686 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,211 trucks; 21 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

The site opened as a mall (date not in record) and remained operating until 2025 when Macerich sold it to a joint venture of three developers/investors for $332.1 million, with plans to redevelop it for housing and lifestyle uses.

Why. The record shows the mall was sold for redevelopment, suggesting the owner viewed the property as underperforming or seeking higher‑value use; no explicit anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition reasons are stated.

Where it stands. The mall remains listed as operating but is under contract to be redeveloped by a joint venture of three developers/investors who purchased it from Macerich in August 2025.

For a planner

  • The sale signals a precedent for mall‑to‑housing redevelopment in the area.
  • Planned housing and lifestyle components suggest potential use of mixed‑use zoning or incentives.
  • Open questions include what zoning approvals are in place, what affordable housing obligations exist, and what infrastructure upgrades are needed.

For a developer

  • Site size is not specified in the record.
  • Control transferred to a joint venture of three developers/investors via the 2025 sale.
  • Entitlement stage: planned housing and lifestyle components per deal notes, but approval status is not detailed.
  • Constraints such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental factors are not described in the record.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Verified status is draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
  • Missing facts: opening date, original anchor tenants, current tenant mix, site acreage, zoning designation, floodplain status, transit proximity, environmental constraints.
  • Reasons for sale are limited to planned redevelopment; underlying financial or operational pressures are not stated.
  • Details of the joint venture (ownership shares, track record) are not provided.
  • No information on entitlements, permits, or construction timeline beyond the planned use note.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • county shrank -2.5% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,893

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

Sources

More in California