Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Florida

University Mall (Pensacola)

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedOperatingPensacola, FL

Opened 1974. Closed 2013. Redeveloped in 2013.

Status nowOperatingextracted, unreviewed
What it becameretailextracted, unreviewed
Site size715,623 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer
Retrofit year2013extracted, unreviewed
Walkability14.2 of 20 · 15-minute 2 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
J. C. PenneyThis site: J. C. Penney wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/120295954698623 overture · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 90,000 on I-10 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 43 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
High hurricane riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.89 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: I-10 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $45,801 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 56% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +125% fhfa · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 14.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: Anchor stores of the outdoor complex are J. C. Penney, Burlington, BJ's Wholesale Club, Conn's and Academy Sports + Outdoors. extraction · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
New usesretailextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowAnchor stores of the outdoor complex are J. C. Penney, Burlington, BJ's Wholesale Club, Conn's and Academy Sports + Outdoors.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2013extracted, unreviewed

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “University Mall” and “Pensacola” (216 hits, first 100 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)542002-05-17 to 2011-07-268-K 39, 10-K 14, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Property Group Inc. (BRX)102015-02-19 to 2018-04-308-K 6, 10-K 4
Public owner (weak)Brixmor Operating Partnership LP102015-02-19 to 2018-04-308-K 6, 10-K 4
Public owner (weak)NEW PLAN EXCEL REALTY TRUST INC62003-05-08 to 2006-11-028-K 6
Public owner (weak)EQUITY ONE INC52003-03-31 to 2004-02-198-K 4, 10-K 1
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/22001-03-30 to 2002-04-0110-K 2
Public owner (weak)KONOVER PROPERTY TRUST INC22001-04-02 to 2001-04-1210-K/A 1, 10-K 1
Public owner (weak)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST12001-03-16 to 2001-03-1610-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m10: AMOCO SERVICE STATION #60054; BJS WHOLESALE CLUB #382; BJS WHOLESALE CLUB #382 GAS STATION; JIM N NICKS PENSACOLA #2003; PHOTO WORLDEPA FRS
Census tract 120330012023,888 people, 2,071 per sq mi; median household income $45,801; median gross rent $1,171; 56% renters; 15.1% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 14.2 of 20; 53 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 433 m; land-use mix 0.82; 33,034 jobs within 45 min by car, 27,660 by transit; 8% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)2 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 17 food and drink; 43 cycleway segments, 75 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Escambia County (FL), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 16 in 2–4, 1,446 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.89; socioeconomic 0.89; housing and transport 0.86; 34% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace University Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 6,556 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialno website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views20,962 since 2015; 1,764 in the last 12 months (+3% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-07 with 311Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +2% (3,813 → 3,888); median income +42% ($32,132 → $45,801); renters 59% → 56%; median home value +67% ($114,300 → $191,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 72.0); expected annual loss $2.7M; high: hurricane, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 93 units: Lucas Creek (93 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,120 establishments (-1%); 17,089 jobs (+14%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $280,027 (+1% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $1,646/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025313 (2000 = 100); +13.5% 1 yr, +60% 5 yr, +125% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)90,000 vehicles a day on I-10 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 7,290 trucks; 31 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1974 as an indoor mall with anchors J. C. Penney, Sears, and McRae's, University Mall operated until 2013 when it closed. In 2013 the mall was partially demolished and rebuilt as an outdoor complex retaining J. C. Penney and adding Burlington, BJ's Wholesale Club, Conn's, and Academy Sports + Outdoors. The site is now operating as an outdoor retail center.

Why. The record does not specify the reasons for closure or redevelopment.

Where it stands. The site is currently operating as an outdoor retail complex owned and managed by Washington Prime.

For a planner

  • Redevelopment strategy indicated in record (strategy: redevelop, new_use: retail).
  • Retrofit completed in 2013, converting indoor mall to outdoor complex.
  • Open question: long-term performance and tenant stability of the outdoor format.

For a developer

  • Site size: 715,623 sq ft GLA.
  • Controlled by Washington Prime (owner).
  • Entitlements appear completed (status operating, year_retrofit 2013).
  • Context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) not provided in record.
  • Market signals from tract data not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure and anchor losses not stated in record.
  • Flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints unknown.
  • Detailed current tenant mix and lease terms beyond listed anchors unavailable.
  • Financial performance and operating costs post‑retrofit not provided.
  • Some fields (year_closed, year_retrofit, after_notes) are model‑extracted and marked as unverified (verified: draft).

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Rhode Island Mall, Warwick, RI · Malls · similar GLA (579,499 sq ft); opened 1967; closed 2011
  • Centre of Tallahassee, Tallahassee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (965,680 sq ft); opened 1971; same strategy: redevelop
  • Century Plaza, Birmingham, AL · Malls · similar GLA (740,000 sq ft); opened 1975; closed 2009
  • Euclid Square Mall, Euclid, OH · Malls · similar GLA (632,043 sq ft); opened 1977; closed 2016

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: University Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • 715,623 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 3.8% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1974Esri 2014 layer
Closed2013extracted, unreviewed
Gross leasable area715,623 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak79Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsJCPenney, Sears, Belk, McRae's, J. C. Penney
AddressDavis Hwy. & Creighton Rd.
CountyEscambia
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

University Town Plaza is an outdoor shopping mall in Pensacola, Florida, United States. It is being developed on the site of the former University Mall, which operated from 1974 to 2013. The mall's original anchor stores were J. C. Penney, Sears, and McRae's. In 2013, the mall was torn down except for its anchor stores and rebuilt as an outdoor complex. Anchor stores of the outdoor complex are J. C. Penney, Burlington, BJ's Wholesale Club, Conn's and Academy Sports + Outdoors. The mall is owned and managed by Washington Prime.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1974 Opened
  2. 2013 Closed
  3. 2013 Demolished (partial) and rebuilt as outdoor complex

Sources

  • Wikipedia: University Mall (Pensacola, Florida) · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    6 quoted sentences
    It is being developed on the site of the former University Mall, which operated from 1974 to 2013.
    Anchor stores of the outdoor complex are J. C. Penney, Burlington, BJ's Wholesale Club, Conn's and Academy Sports + Outdoors.
    The mall is owned and managed by Washington Prime.
    In 2013, the mall was torn down except for its anchor stores and rebuilt as an outdoor complex.
  • Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02

More in Florida