Malls · Illinois
Ford City Mall
Opened 1965. Closed 2026. Redeveloped.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile21 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Carson Pirie Scott
This site: Carson Pirie Scott wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMontgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisAttention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 24,742 views, +53% wikimedia · all sites with thisHigh attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)
This site: 24,742 wikimedia · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://www.shopfordcity.com/store/selfish/2138943373 overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 57,955 on Cicero Ave fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 4,853 units, Cook County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,228/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.90 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.7% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15 epa-walkability · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 75,188 m² overture · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with thisLogistics and industrial
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | industrialextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | closedextracted, unreviewed |
Planning
| Zoning change | submittedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1961 | Sold | — | Harry F Chaddick ← government | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Ford City Mall” and “Chicago” (8 hits, first 8 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL) | 1 | 2008-05-01 to 2008-05-01 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 6 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 12: COMED MANHOLE; CORDIN MOTOR FREIGHT INC; EXPRESSLY PORTRAITS; FIRESTONE 3428; FORD CITY BOWLING CTREPA FRS |
| Census tract 17031650500 | 4,048 people, 3,230 per sq mi; median household income $64,432; median gross rent $1,057; 14% renters; 4.6% vacant units; 10.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15 of 20; 77 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 595 m; land-use mix 0.87; 320,943 jobs within 45 min by car, 91,163 by transit; 28% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 5 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 10 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 115 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Cook County (IL), 2024 | 4,853 units in 5+ unit buildings, 512 in 2–4, 1,142 single-family; 2023: 3,332 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.90; socioeconomic 0.74; housing and transport 0.92; 19% below 150% of poverty; 16% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 24 within 25 km: Evergreen Plaza (6.1 km); Central Manufacturing District (9.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Ford City Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.93, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 75,188 m², 8.0 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopfordcity.com (alive); archived 2000–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 159,850 since 2015; 24,742 in the last 12 months (+53% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-06 with 6,845Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -3% (4,156 → 4,048); median income +36% ($47,321 → $64,432); renters 25% → 14%; median home value +28% ($165,500 → $212,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 82.3); expected annual loss $2.2M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 13,577 establishments (-11%); 214,575 jobs (-4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $340,258 (+6% 1 yr, +23% 5 yr); typical rent $2,228/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 457 (2000 = 100); +11.5% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +89% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 57,955 vehicles a day on Cicero Ave (principal arterial, 7 lanes); 2,650 trucks; 11 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Ford City Mall opened in 1965 as the largest shopping mall in Chicago outside downtown, featuring over 135 stores and three anchors. Over the years it saw outparcel additions, a 2009 capital redevelopment program, and a 2016 renovation. In 2025 a $150 million warehouse redevelopment plan was proposed, and the mall closed permanently in 2026.
Why. The record does not specify the causes of the mall's decline or closure, such as anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed and, according to the narrative, is managed by Namdar Realty Group.
For a planner
- Precedent of phased redevelopment attempts (2009 capital program, 2016 renovation, 2025 warehouse plan).
- Policy tool: zoning change submitted for warehouse conversion.
- Open question: timeline and feasibility of approved warehouse redevelopment.
- Open question: future governance and ownership after Namdar's management role.
For a developer
- Site size: not provided in record.
- Control: managed by Namdar Realty Group; ownership details absent.
- Entitlement stage: zoning change submitted for warehouse use, status pending.
- Constraints and market signals: flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions, and tract data not described in record.
What we do not know yet
- Year closed (2026) is extraction and not reviewed.
- Current owner and exact control entity are not specified.
- Site size and parcel configuration are absent.
- Anchor tenant occupancy and lease details are missing.
- Environmental constraints (flood risk, contamination) are not described.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Adrian Mall, Adrian, MI · Malls · opened 1970; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- Boulevard Mall, Erie County, NY · Malls · opened 1962; closed 2026; same strategy: redevelop
- Concord Mall, Elkhart, IN · Malls · opened 1972; closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- Crossroads Mall, Waterloo, IA · Malls · opened 1969; closed 2025; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Closed corridor in Ford City Mall - Chicago, IL - June 2026 commons.wikimedia.org
- Ford City Mall- (Chicago, IL) triptothemall.blogspot.com
- Ford City Mall - Sharlen Electric Company sharlen.com
- Ford City Mall flickr.com
- Petition · Save Ford City Mall from demolition! (Chi… change.org
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Ford City Mall - Ford City - 33 tips foursquare.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1965Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2026extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Harry F Chaddickextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Carson Pirie Scott, General Cinema, Montgomery Ward, Wieboldt's, Turn Style |
| County | Cook County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Ford City Mall is a defunct mall located on the Southwest Side of Chicago in the West Lawn neighborhood at 76th Street and Cicero Avenue. Opened in 1965, Ford City was the largest shopping mall in Chicago outside of downtown. At its peak, the mall had over 135 stores and 3 anchors. There are several outparcels including a 14-screen AMC Theatres, built off the southeast corner in 1990. Ford City Mall is managed by Namdar Realty Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1961 Government sold the site to Harry F Chaddick for shopping center development
- 1965 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1965 Ford City Mall opened
- 2009 Began multimillion-dollar long term capital redevelopment program
- 2016 Renovation began
- 2025 $150 million plan proposed to redevelop site into warehouse complex; rezoning permit submitted
- 2026 Mall permanently closed
Sources
- Wikipedia: Ford City Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed, zoning change
12 quoted sentences
The mall permanently closed one day ahead of the deadline on June 21, 2026.
In 1961, the government sold it to Harry F Chaddick, who along with other investors planned to develop a shopping center.
The mall permanently closed one day ahead of the deadline on June 21, 2026.
The mall permanently closed one day ahead of the deadline on June 21, 2026.
More in Illinois
Forest Park MallForest Park, IL · 1997Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: retail and religious
MegamallChicago, IL · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential mixed-use
Park Forest PlazaPark Forest, IL · 2001Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: civic, residential, new streets
Randhurst MallMount Prospect, IL · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Spring Hill MallWest Dundee, IL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open air streetSt Charles MallSt Charles, IL · 2016Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential, new streets