Malls · Maryland
Glen Burnie Mall
Glen Burnie Mall transformed from enclosed mall to power center, owned by Goodman Properties, operating with Burlington, Ollie’s, Target anchors. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/143154405805258 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.glenburniemall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 200 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 38,451 on 2 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,337/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 6 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +110% fhfa · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …power center extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …power center extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | power centerextracted, unreviewed |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Glen Burnie Mall” and “Glen Burnie” (5 hits, first 5 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 2 | 2001-03-30 to 2002-04-01 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 1 | 2002-10-31 to 2002-10-31 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 5 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 17A, 2, 3, 3AOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 28: AAA - MID ATLANTIC; AMAZON FRESH - MAT8; BALTIMORE DIESEL SERVICE INC; CAPITAL BAKERS-STROEHMANN; CHESAPEAKE SQUARE CLEANERSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 24003751102 | 4,307 people, 1,327 per sq mi; median household income $84,115; median gross rent $1,669; 26% renters; 4.9% vacant units; 9.3% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14 of 20; 47 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 1,155 m; land-use mix 0.97; 143,735 jobs within 45 min by car, 85,160 by transit; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 6 grocers, 0 schools, 8 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 2 civic, 38 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 167 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Anne Arundel County (MD), 2024 | 299 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 1,005 single-family; 2023: 125 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.56; socioeconomic 0.42; housing and transport 0.78; 13% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 22 within 25 km: Harundale Mall (4.4 km); Marley Station Mall (5.8 km); Procter and Gamble Baltimore Plant (9.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Glen Burnie Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.56, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 11,007 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.glenburniemall.com (down or redirecting, status 0) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 30,949 since 2015; 2,003 in the last 12 months (+10% vs the prior 12); peak 2017-01 with 4,229Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +19% (3,607 → 4,307); median income +40% ($60,058 → $84,115); renters 22% → 26%; median home value +16% ($211,600 → $246,500)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 27.7); expected annual loss $690,531; high: winter weather; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 200 units: Heritage Crest (100 units); Heritage Overlook (Burwood Ph Ii) (100 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 29,576 jobs in 1,691 establishments; average annual pay $45,353; employment location quotient 1.02; employment -0.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 8,173 jobs; 1,817 in retail trade, 455 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 24003751102)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 6.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (297 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 29% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 12.2%; median family income $76,898; 219 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Anne Arundel County Public Schools (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: North Glen Elementary; Monarch AcademyNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 44 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 347 county-logged events: 238 thunderstorm wind, 64 flood, 26 hail, 12 flash flood; $4,344,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 21060, 2026-09 | median list price $439,950 (-0.5% on the year); 101 active listings; median 34 days on market; 21% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,818 establishments (-10%); 31,070 jobs (-6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $502,145 (+1% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $2,337/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 424 (2000 = 100); +3.8% 1 yr, +69% 5 yr, +110% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 38,451 vehicles a day on 2 (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 1,373 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The site opened as an enclosed shopping mall and was later redeveloped into a power center. It currently operates with anchors Burlington, Ollie's Bargain Outlet, and Target under Goodman Properties ownership.
Why. The record does not state specific causes for the mall's transformation or any prior decline.
Where it stands. The mall is operating as a power center, owned by Goodman Properties and managed by 6711 Glen Burnie Retail, LLC, a subsidiary of LNR Property Inc.
For a planner
- Indicates a redevelopment strategy aimed at retail reuse.
- Current status is operating, suggesting existing infrastructure and entitlements may be in place.
- Open questions include timing of any further redevelopment, zoning approvals, and community impact.
For a developer
- Site controlled by Goodman Properties (owner) with management by LNR subsidiary.
- Entitlement stage not specified in the record.
- No flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted in the record.
- Market signals: surrounding county grew 4.1% (2018‑2023) and median rent is $1,990.
What we do not know yet
- Exact opening date and original mall size are unknown.
- Detailed anchor history and lease terms are not provided.
- Zoning, entitlement status, and any pending approvals are not stated.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are absent from the record.
- The record is marked as draft and derived from extraction, indicating potential unreviewed data.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Harundale Mall, Glen Burnie, MD · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MD; 4 km away
- Hunt Valley Mall, Hunt Valley, MD · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MD; 34 km away
- The Brokerage, Baltimore, MD · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MD; 11 km away
- Towson Marketplace, Towson, MD · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MD; 23 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Inside Glen Burnie Mall In Glen Burnie, MD: Where So Many Memo… bestattractions.org
- Glen Burnie Mall flickr.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- county grew 4.1% 2018–23
- median rent $1,990
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Anchors | Target, Burlington, Ollie's Bargain Outlet |
|---|---|
| County | Anne Arundel County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Centre at Glen Burnie is a power center in Glen Burnie, Maryland. It is owned by Goodman Properties and managed by 6711 Glen Burnie Retail, LLC a subsidiary of LNR Property Inc. Formerly an enclosed shopping mall, it has the following anchors: Burlington, Ollie's Bargain Outlet, and Target.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Glen Burnie Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy
3 quoted sentences
The Centre at Glen Burnie is a power center
The Centre at Glen Burnie is a power center
Formerly an enclosed shopping mall