Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Maryland

The Boulevard at the Capital Centre

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedDemolishedPrince George's County, MD

Opened 2003. Closed 2017. Redeveloped in 2017.

Status nowDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
What it becamehousing, healthcare, retailextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2017extracted, unreviewed
Walkability15.2 of 20 · 15-minute 5 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mYes · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

The Boulevard at the Capital Centre
The Boulevard at the Capital Centre. Photo: Ben Schumin, CC BY-SA 2.5, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/108761555825420 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.shopcapcentre.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 370 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 200,360 on 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 46 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $104,727 census-acs · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 24033803514 hud-oz · all sites with this
Rail within 800 mThis site: Downtown Largo openstreetmap · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 57% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 15.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: In November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury… extraction · all sites with this
New use
EducationThis site: November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition ther extraction · all sites with this
HousingThis site: …ion Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury apartments, restaurants, and a shopping center. In November 2017, the extraction · all sites with this
Medical and healthThis site: …osed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury apartments, extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: In November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capit extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
New useshousing, healthcare, retailextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowIn November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury apartments, restaurants, and a shopping center.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2017extracted, unreviewed

Planning

Planning notesIn November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury apartments, restaurants, and a shopping center.extracted, unreviewed

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Boulevard at the Capital Centre” and “Prince George's County” (1 hits, first 1 sampled). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC12004-11-12 to 2004-11-1210-Q 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mDowntown Largo (rail); 9 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km15, 15A, 15B, 16OpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m3: CHROMA GRAPHICS; LINEMARK PRINTING - LANDOVER; UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CAPITAL REGION MEDICAL CENTEREPA FRS
Census tract 240338035144,949 people, 2,931 per sq mi; median household income $104,727; median gross rent $2,290; 57% renters; 8.9% vacant units; 13.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 15.2 of 20; 90 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 636 m; land-use mix 0.78; 180,028 jobs within 45 min by car, 16,034 by transit; 20% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 3 schools, 3 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 6 food and drink; 46 cycleway segments, 96 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 24033803514 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Prince George County (MD), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 1,473 single-family; 2023: 1,356 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.39; socioeconomic 0.34; housing and transport 0.33; 9% below 150% of poverty; 7% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 35 within 25 km: Landover Mall (2.1 km); Capital Plaza Mall (6.9 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Boulevard at the Capital Centre (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 15,615 m², 5.80709981918335 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.shopcapcentre.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views86,839 since 2015; 5,359 in the last 12 months (-10% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-11 with 1,469Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +16% (4,278 → 4,949); median income +14% ($91,444 → $104,727); renters 44% → 57%; median home value +54% ($265,600 → $408,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 56.3); expected annual loss $2.1M; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 370 units: Jericho Senior Living (270 units); Largo Center Apts (100 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,230 establishments (+0%); 37,184 jobs (+2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $421,250 (-1% 1 yr, +7% 5 yr); typical rent $1,957/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2013134 (2000 = 100); +0.6% 1 yr, -36% 5 yr, +3% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)200,360 vehicles a day on 95 (Interstate, 9 lanes); 16,890 trucks; 29 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

The Boulevard at the Capital Centre opened in 2003 as an open‑air shopping center with more than 70 establishments. In November 2017 it closed to make way for the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center, with demolition beginning in 2019 and the medical center opening in 2021. Plans also called for luxury apartments, restaurants, and a new shopping center on the site.

Why. The record attributes the closure to the decision to redevelop the site for a medical center and mixed‑use development; no anchor losses, competition, or debt are mentioned.

Where it stands. The site is demolished and slated for redevelopment, but the record does not specify which entity currently controls the property.

For a planner

  • The record shows a redevelopment strategy calling for housing, healthcare, and retail uses.
  • No specific policy tools or incentives are cited in the record.
  • Open questions include the timing and scale of the planned housing and retail components and how they will integrate with the medical center.

For a developer

  • Site size is not provided in the record.
  • Control/ownership details are not stated.
  • Entitlement stage and any approvals are not detailed.
  • No flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.
  • Market signals such as tract‑level rents or demographics are absent from the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Key facts missing: exact site size, current owner or controlling entity, and detailed entitlement status.
  • Timeline for the planned luxury apartments, restaurants, and shopping center is not specified.
  • The record does not mention any anchor tenant losses, competition, or financial distress that may have influenced the closure.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands) and transit access are not described.
  • The record’s verification status is draft, indicating some data may be unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • county grew 5.4% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,761
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened2003Wikidata
Closed2017extracted, unreviewed
CountyPrince George's County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

The Boulevard at the Capital Centre was an open-air shopping center in Lake Arbor, Prince George's County, Maryland; it had a Largo postal address. It was located on the former site of the Capital Centre, previously the home of the Washington Bullets and Washington Capitals.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 2003 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 2003 Opened
  3. 2003 Had more than 70 establishments
  4. 2017 Closed
  5. 2019 Demolition commenced
  6. 2021 Medical center opened

Sources

  • Wikipedia: The Boulevard at the Capital Centre · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    9 quoted sentences
    In November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center.
    In November 2017, the shopping center closed to build the new University of Maryland Capital Region Medical Center. In addition there were to be new luxury apartments, restaurants, and a shopping center.
    In July 2019, demolition of 290,000 square feet (27,000 m2) of retail space commenced to make way for Carillon, a new lifestyle-oriented mixed-use development on the same site.
    In July 2019, demolition of 290,000 square feet (27,000 m2) of retail space commenced to make way for Carillon, a new lifestyle-oriented mixed-use development on the same site.

More in Maryland