Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Nebraska

Southroads Mall

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedBellevue, NE

Southroads Mall opened in 1966 as an enclosed mall; its status, ownership, and redevelopment prospects are unknown per the record. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/104356766345232 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.bellevuenebraska.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 200 units in 1 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 10 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 9% census-acs · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 1 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: OMAHA DATA CENTER; OMAHA SOAP COMPANY; SEARS ROEBUCK & CO #2051; TODD ARCHER HYUNDAIEPA FRS
Census tract 311530101041,981 people, 2,982 per sq mi; median household income $74,637; median gross rent $1,119; 35% renters; 2.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.2 of 20; 38 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.91; 72,827 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 1 schools, 2 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 3 food and drink; 4 cycleway segments, 7 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Sarpy County (NE), 2024359 units in 5+ unit buildings, 40 in 2–4, 1,198 single-family; 2023: 22 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.49; socioeconomic 0.38; housing and transport 0.35; 12% below 150% of poverty; 1% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby10 within 10 km, 15 within 25 km: South Roads Mall (0.1 km); Center Mall (8.1 km); Omaha Rail and Commerce Historic District (8.3 km); Union Pacific Harriman Dispatch Center (8.4 km); Old Market (8.6 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Southroads Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.68, from Overture, meta); building footprint 12,614 m², 8.295638084411621 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.bellevuenebraska.com (alive); archived 1998–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views25,904 since 2015; 2,460 in the last 12 months (+0% vs the prior 12); peak 2016-06 with 419Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +6% (1,877 → 1,981); median income +31% ($56,875 → $74,637); renters 29% → 35%; median home value +52% ($121,800 → $184,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 28.0); expected annual loss $747,655; high: tornado, strong wind; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 200 units: Southgate Townhomes (200 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)10,140 jobs in 430 establishments; average annual pay $38,726; employment location quotient 1.23; employment +0.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 2022621 jobs; 60 in retail trade, 110 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 31153010104)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 39th income percentile as adults; 2.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (211 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 94% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.0%; median family income $76,250; 50 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsOmaha Public Schools (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: AVERY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; FOREST STATION ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE
Elevation1,040 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025153 county-logged events: 68 thunderstorm wind, 60 hail, 11 flood, 7 flash flood; $435,025,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 68005, 2026-09median list price $313,725 (+10.1% on the year); 34 active listings; median 31 days on market; 5% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023423 establishments (+16%); 9,943 jobs (+34%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $356,669 (+3% 1 yr, +23% 5 yr); typical rent $1,489/mo (+0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025316 (2000 = 100); +11.6% 1 yr, +59% 5 yr, +94% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)20,825 vehicles a day on FORT CROOK ROAD (principal arterial, 7 lanes); 835 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Southroads Mall opened in 1966 as an enclosed mall; no further events are recorded, and its current status is listed as unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. Current status is unknown and no controlling entity is indicated in the record.

For a planner

  • No specific precedents or policy tools mentioned in the record.
  • Open question: what is the mall’s current occupancy and structural condition?
  • Open question: who holds ownership or control of the property?

For a developer

  • Site size not specified in the record.
  • Control and ownership unknown; no deal or parcel data provided.
  • No context-layer information (flood, transit, environment) available; market signals absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Current status of the mall is unknown.
  • Ownership or controlling entity not identified.
  • Site dimensions, parcel layout, and building condition not provided.
  • No information on anchor tenants, competition, or financial obligations.
  • Lack of zoning, environmental, transit, or flood‑risk data.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 8.8% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1966Wikidata
CountySarpy County
Census division4 · West North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Southroads Mall is an enclosed shopping mall at 1001 Fort Crook Road in Bellevue, Nebraska. Fort Crook Road was U.S. Route 75 until the early 1990s, replaced by the Kennedy Freeway.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1966 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Nebraska