Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Ohio

Richmond Town Square

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedRichmond Heights, OH

Richmond Town Square opened 1966 with Sears and JCPenney anchors; 2024 parcel sales to Belle Oaks entities; current status unknown. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Claim this site Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Richmond Town Square
Exterior view of a large beige commercial building with visible signage and parked cars. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Nicholas Eckhart, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.shoprichmondtownsquare.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Ownership
Single-purpose entityThis site: BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.3% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +114% fhfa · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 15.5 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported
Owner of recordBelle Oaks Marketplace Iii-Ms LLCcounty assessor reported

History and original facts

AnchorsJCPenney
CountyCuyahoga County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Planning

No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site.

Parcels, tax and title

Parcels within 40 m of the site point, as published by the county (layer); county terms apply; unverified here. Mortgages, liens and deeds are recorder records, not assessor data: Cuyahoga County Recorder.
ParcelOwner of recordAcresUse · zoningValue (appraised · assessed · taxable)Last sale · deed
66230130
all 111 county fields
parcel_id66230130
myplaceppnNjYyMzAxMzA=
book_pageB 662 P 30
parcel_year2026
parcel_ownerBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC
grantorBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC
granteeBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC
parcel_addr5155
parcel_streetWILSON MILLS
parcel_suffixRD
parcel_cityRICHMOND HEIGHTS
parcel_zip44143
par_addr_all5155 WILSON MILLS RD, RICHMOND HEIGHTS, OH, 44143
mail_nameBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC
mail_addr_street21800 BURBANK BLVD
mail_unit_noSUITE 350
mail_cityWOODLAND HILLS
mail_stateCA
mail_zip91367
mail_countryUSA
last_transfer_date1709929260000
tax_luc4220
tax_luc_descriptionDISCNT/JR DEPT STORE
tif_luc7510
tif_luc_descriptionUR MUNI TIF-5709.41
zoning_codeB-2
zoning_useCRG
property_classC
prop_class_descCOMMERCIAL
tax_district560
tax_dist_descRICHMOND HTS/ SEL SD
legal_descriptionPARCEL B-6E OF PLAT AFN 202402080216
state_school_code1829
school_descrSOUTH EUCLID-LYNDHURST CSD
neighborhood_code35283
tax_abatementIF'
road_typePV
waterMUN
sewerSNS
gasY
electricityY
parcel_lot_size564541
parcel_acreage12.9601
update_date1792564253000
cur_tax_year2025
certified_tax_land3372100
certified_tax_building7683800
certified_tax_total11055900
gross_certified_land3372100
gross_certified_building7683800
gross_certified_total11055900
tax_assessed_land1180240
tax_assessed_improvement2689330
tax_assessed_total3869570
tax_market_total11055900
yoy_assess_val_change3869570
per_change_assess_total100
yoy_tax_val_change11055900
per_change_tax_total100
grand_total_owed455655.63
grand_total_paid455655.63
net_tax_total455458.46
prev_tax_year2024
effective_rate117.702606
taxbill_update_date1790232742000
com_bldg_count1
total_com_use_area157208
total_com_heights1
max_com_heights1
min_com_heights1
min_com_age2025
max_com_age2025
total_legal_front63.5
parcelpin66230130
parcel_last_edit_date1786490683000
parcel_typeLAND
parcel_afn66230130
parcel_infoLOT SPLIT & CONSOLIDATION PLAT
CreatedByRecord{DE9E8478-6A55-4B53-84E7-C894CA1F7A57}
Belle Oaks Marketplace Iii-Ms LLC13.0DISCNT/JR DEPT STORE · B-2$11.1M (appraised)
assessed $3.9M
2024-03-08
66230129
all 108 county fields
parcel_id66230129
myplaceppnNjYyMzAxMjk=
book_pageB 662 P 30
parcel_year2026
parcel_ownerBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC
grantorBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III LLC
granteeBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC
parcel_addr695
parcel_streetRICHMOND
parcel_suffixRD
parcel_cityRICHMOND HEIGHTS
parcel_zip44143
par_addr_all695 RICHMOND RD, RICHMOND HEIGHTS, OH, 44143
mail_nameBELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC
mail_addr_street21800 BURBANK BLVD
mail_unit_noSUITE 350
mail_cityWOODLAND HILLS
mail_stateCA
mail_zip91367
mail_countryUSA
last_transfer_date1708027020000
tax_luc4585
tax_luc_descriptionAUTO REPAIR GARAGE
tif_luc7510
tif_luc_descriptionUR MUNI TIF-5709.41
zoning_codeB-2
zoning_useCRG
property_classC
prop_class_descCOMMERCIAL
tax_district560
tax_dist_descRICHMOND HTS/ SEL SD
legal_descriptionPARCEL B-6D OF PLAT AFN 202402080216
state_school_code1829
school_descrSOUTH EUCLID-LYNDHURST CSD
neighborhood_code35289
tax_abatementIF'
road_typePV
parcel_lot_size85056
parcel_acreage1.9526
update_date1792564253000
cur_tax_year2025
certified_tax_land575100
certified_tax_building1076100
certified_tax_total1651200
gross_certified_land575100
gross_certified_building1076100
gross_certified_total1651200
tax_assessed_land201290
tax_assessed_improvement376640
tax_assessed_total577930
tax_market_total1651200
yoy_assess_val_change577930
per_change_assess_total100
yoy_tax_val_change1651200
per_change_tax_total100
grand_total_owed68991.38
grand_total_paid68991.38
net_tax_total68023.86
prev_tax_year2024
effective_rate117.702606
taxbill_update_date1790232742000
com_bldg_count1
total_com_use_area11220
total_com_heights1
max_com_heights1
min_com_heights1
min_com_age2025
max_com_age2025
com_living_units1
total_legal_front311.6
parcelpin66230129
parcel_created_date1709848364000
parcel_last_edit_date1735938887000
parcel_typeLAND
parcel_afn66230129
parcel_infoLOT SPLIT & CONSOLIDATION PLAT
CreatedByRecord{77989400-1A34-4C6A-A2FD-87C726891E76}
Belle Oaks Marketplace Iii-Fs LLC2.0AUTO REPAIR GARAGE · B-2$1.7M (appraised)
assessed $577,930
2024-02-15
Total14.9$12.7M

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Richmond Town Square” and “Richmond Heights” (124 hits, first 100 sampled). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2002-10-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP12002-10-15 to 2002-10-158-K 1
Public owner (strong)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)702002-05-17 to 2014-04-228-K 50, 10-K 19, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/162003-03-31 to 2013-03-0410-K 16
Public owner (strong)Washington Prime Group Inc.122014-11-04 to 2016-11-028-K 9, 10-K 2, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST12014-11-04 to 2014-11-048-K 1
Public owner (strong)Washington Prime Group, L.P.12016-02-29 to 2016-02-2910-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2014Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2015-02-26Richmond Town Square Richmond Heights, OH
match: exact
1,011,80889.0% occupiedbuilt 1966100.0%
Fee
Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Regal Cinema
2009Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25Richmond Town Square Richmond Heights, OH
match: exact
1,016,02893.7% occupiedbuilt 1966100.0%
Fee
Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Barnes & Noble, Regal Cinemas

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m11: BEST BUY MOBILE #2959; BP AMOCO 22417; CVS PHARMACY 3032; FIRESTONE COMPLETE AUTO CARE; FIRESTONE STORE NO 15F3EPA FRS
Census tract 390351801024,010 people, 2,489 per sq mi; median household income $71,838; median gross rent $1,434; 6% renters; 2.7% vacant units; 1.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 15.5 of 20; 115 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 650 m; land-use mix 0.81; 66,081 jobs within 45 min by car, 32,386 by transit; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 3 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 4 civic, 5 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 93 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Cuyahoga County (OH), 2024920 units in 5+ unit buildings, 102 in 2–4, 663 single-family; 2023: 735 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.47; socioeconomic 0.52; housing and transport 0.28; 15% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 9 within 25 km: Severance Center (5.3 km); Euclid Square Mall (6.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Richmond Town Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.56, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 15,139 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.shoprichmondtownsquare.com (alive)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views72,369 since 2015; 4,816 in the last 12 months (-26% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-06 with 4,563Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +6% (3,800 → 4,010); median income +14% ($63,228 → $71,838); renters 6% → 6%; median home value +13% ($152,900 → $172,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 32.3); expected annual loss $855,475; high: cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)54,041 jobs in 3,980 establishments; average annual pay $38,612; employment location quotient 0.79; employment -0.9% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 2022928 jobs; 278 in retail trade, 132 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39035180102)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 54th income percentile as adults; 0.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (232 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 23% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.6%; median family income $76,667; 118 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsSouth Euclid-Lyndhurst City School District (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Flex High School Cleveland; Richmond Heights Elementary School; Richmond Heights High School; Richmond Heights Middle SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation991 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025307 county-logged events: 199 thunderstorm wind, 48 hail, 46 flash flood, 8 flood; $38,727,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 44143, 2026-09median list price $339,700 (+0.2% on the year); 55 active listings; median 52 days on market; 25% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20233,890 establishments (-10%); 67,128 jobs (+11%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $218,659 (+3% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,413/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025321 (2000 = 100); +5.7% 1 yr, +67% 5 yr, +114% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)17,845 vehicles a day on MONTICELLO BLVD (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 14 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Richmond Town Square opened on September 22, 1966 as Richmond Mall, developed by Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. with original anchors Sears, JCPenney, Loews Theater and Woolworths. The record does not detail subsequent changes, but shows that in early 2024 its land was split into two parcels sold to BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC and BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC for discount/jr dept store and auto repair garage use.

Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall’s decline or changes in occupancy.

Where it stands. As of early 2024, the site’s parcels are owned by BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-MS LLC and BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III-FS LLC, while the overall status remains listed as unknown.

For a planner

  • Record provides no information on past policy interventions or reuse precedents.
  • Open questions include the causes of decline, current vacancy levels, and potential future land‑use options.
  • No zoning changes or planning actions are mentioned in the record.

For a developer

  • Total site area ≈14.24 acres split between a 12.37‑acre discount/jr dept store parcel and a 1.86‑acre auto repair garage parcel.
  • Control is divided between two LLCs (BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III‑MS LLC and BELLE OAKS MARKETPLACE III‑FS LLC) with recent 2024 sale dates.
  • Entitlement stage, floodplain, transit access, environmental constraints, and market signals are not described in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Full timeline of anchor tenant closures and vacancy is missing.
  • Reasons for the mall’s decline (e.g., competition, debt, demographic shifts) are not stated.
  • Current occupancy, building condition, and any demolition or remediation activities are unknown.
  • Environmental constraints (flood risk, soil contamination) and infrastructure context (transit, utilities) are not provided.
  • The record’s status is marked as “unknown” and verified as “draft,” indicating limited review.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Background

Richmond Town Square was a super-regional shopping mall known locally as 'Richmond' or 'Richmond Mall', located in Richmond Heights, Ohio, a suburb of Cleveland, at the intersection of Richmond Road and Wilson Mills Road. It opened on September 22, 1966 as Richmond Mall, and was developed by mall developer Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. Original anchors were Sears and JCPenney, alongside a Loews Theater and Woolworths. The mall included in-line tenants such as Richman Brothers and Winkelman's.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

More photos

Undated or in between (2)

Sources

More in Ohio