Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Virginia

Landmark Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedDemolishedAlexandria, VA

Landmark Mall opened 1965, closed 2017, demolished 2022; now being redeveloped by Inova and Foulger-Pratt with hospital, apartments, and retail. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Landmark Mall
Landmark Mall. Photo: Payton Chung from DCA, USA, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile24 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Hecht's/Macy'sThis site: Hecht's/Macy's wikipedia · all sites with this
Lord & TaylorThis site: Lord & Taylor wikipedia · all sites with this
Macy'sThis site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/121328017919852 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.landmarkmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 646 units in 3 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 17 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 178,541 on 395 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 19 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -18% census-cbp · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,243/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 395 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 51510200303 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 73% census-acs · all sites with this
Policy tool
BondsThis site: …ent + rezoning + CDD concept plan (CDD #29)) $54M in public bonds to buy the Seminary Rd hospital land for lease to Inova, pl research-planning · all sites with this
Master plan or PUDThis site: CDD #29 (Coordinated Development District) (master plan amendment + rezoning + CDD concept plan (CDD #29)) $54M in research-planning · all sites with this
RezoningThis site: CDD #29 (Coordinated Development District) (master plan amendment + rezoning + CDD concept plan (CDD #29)) research-planning · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: Inova hospital, ~2,500 apartments, retail record · all sites with this
New use
HousingThis site: Inova hospital, ~2,500 apartments, retail Approved by Alexandria City Council (July 6, 2021); record · all sites with this
Medical and healthThis site: Inova hospital, ~2,500 apartments, retail Approved by Alexandria City Coun record · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: Inova hospital, ~2,500 apartments, retail Approved by Alexandria City Council (July 6, 2021); Plannin record · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
documented
was demolished in 2022

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedevelopedpublic sources reported
What is there nowInova hospital, ~2,500 apartments, retailpublic sources reported
Retrofit year2021public sources reported
RedeveloperInova, Foulger-Prattpublic sources reported

Planning

Zoning changeCDD #29 (Coordinated Development District) (master plan amendment + rezoning + CDD concept plan (CDD #29))research
documented
which will result in up to approximately four million square feet of new development

alexandriava.gov

Public purchase or subsidy$54M in public bonds to buy the Seminary Rd hospital land for lease to Inova, plus $123.6M in public bonds for site preparation and infrastructure (2021 reporting said $86M). Landmark Community Development Authority created Sept 2021.research reported
Entitlement year2021research reported
Planning notesApproved by Alexandria City Council (July 6, 2021); Planning Commission DSUPs 2023. Landmark/Van Dorn Corridor Plan (2009, updated 2019, amended 2021) https://www.alexandriava.gov/go/1557research reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Landmark Mall” and “Alexandria” (147 hits, first 100 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-03-16 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2005 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)BANC OF AMERICA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE INC52005-03-16 to 2005-03-248-K 5
CMBS trust (weak)Banc of America Commercial Mortgage Inc., Series 2005-112005-04-22 to 2005-04-228-K 1
Public owner (strong)Howard Hughes Corp652011-04-08 to 2026-08-128-K 35, 10-Q 21, 10-K 9
Public owner (strong)Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH)132023-11-06 to 2026-08-0510-Q 9, 8-K 4
Public owner (strong)GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC92001-03-19 to 2010-10-018-K 4, 10-K 4, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)Seritage Growth Properties (SRG, SRG-PA)52021-01-26 to 2022-03-168-K 5
Public owner (strong)General Growth Properties, Inc.12011-03-31 to 2011-03-318-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m15: ASSEMBLY ALEXANDRIA; BJ'S WHOLESALE CLUB #046; CVS PHARMACY #1384; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CTR - ALEXANDRIA; INOVA HOSPITAL CAMPUSEPA FRS
Census tract 515102003042,522 people, 13,505 per sq mi; median household income $71,429; median gross rent $1,691; 73% renters; 3.7% vacant units; 7.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 0 schools, 33 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 18 food and drink; 19 cycleway segments, 74 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 51510200303 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Alexandria (Independent City) (VA), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 25 single-family; 2023: 78 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.56; socioeconomic 0.50; housing and transport 0.84; 15% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby17 within 10 km, 50 within 25 km: Rose Hill Plaza (3.4 km); Skyline Mall (3.6 km); Springfield Mall (5.8 km); Seven Corners Shopping Center (6.2 km); Fillmore Gardens Shopping Center (6.7 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Landmark Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.83, from Overture, meta); building footprint 10,928 m², 7.780805587768555 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.landmarkmall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views76 since 2015; 76 in the last 12 months; peak 2025-10 with 52Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 13.0); expected annual loss $517,593; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km3 LIHTC properties, 646 units: Crestview Commons (290 units); Brent Place (207 units); Parcview (149 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)6,458 jobs in 401 establishments; average annual pay $47,638; employment location quotient 0.81; employment -3.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 2022109 jobs; 29 in retail trade, 8 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51510200304)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 45th income percentile as adults; 3.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (380 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 15.5%; median family income $79,482; 140 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsAlexandria City Public Schools (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Northern Virginia Juvenile Detention Home; James K. Polk Elementary; William Ramsay Elementary; Samuel W. Tucker ElementaryNCES EDGE
Elevation191 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202571 county-logged events: 35 flash flood, 22 thunderstorm wind, 13 flood, 1 hail; $10,161,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 22304, 2026-09median list price $369,900 (+3.0% on the year); 147 active listings; median 46 days on market; 20% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023401 establishments (-18%); 6,689 jobs (-10%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $673,546 (+2% 1 yr, +11% 5 yr); typical rent $2,243/mo (-1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)178,541 vehicles a day on 395 (Interstate, 9 lanes); 4,345 trucks; 18 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS
Site metrics17,255 sq ft GLA per acre; FAR 0.4computed

Summary, model-written

Landmark Mall opened in 1965 as a regional shopping center anchored by Sears, Lord & Taylor and Macy's. It closed in 2017 and was demolished in 2022. Starting in 2021, the site is being redeveloped by Inova and Foulger-Pratt into a hospital, approximately 2,500 apartments, and retail space.

Why. The record does not state specific reasons for the mall's decline or closure; it only notes the anchors and dates of opening, closing, and demolition.

Where it stands. The site is currently demolished and under redevelopment control by Inova and Foulger-Pratt, who have held the developer role since 2021.

For a planner

  • Utilized a Coordinated Development District (CDD #29) with master plan amendment, rezoning, and concept plan.
  • Public financing includes $54M in bonds for Seminary Rd hospital land and $123.6M for site preparation and infrastructure, plus creation of the Landmark Community Development Authority.
  • Approved by Alexandria City Council (July 6, 2021) with Planning Commission DSUPs expected in 2023, guided by the Landmark/Van Dorn Corridor Plan (2009, updated 2019, amended 2021).
  • Open questions remain regarding build‑out timing, integration with transit, and any affordable‑housing commitments.

For a developer

  • Site size: 51 acres with 880,000 sf GLA (≈17,255 sf/acre) and a reported FAR of 0.4.
  • Control split between developers Inova (hospital) and Foulger‑Pratt (residential/retail) since 2021.
  • Entitlement granted in 2021; planning notes indicate approved master plan and pending DSUPs.
  • Context layer shows no flood, transit, or environmental constraints listed; market signal includes median rent $2,031 and a housing‑focused program.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact cause of mall closure (anchor loss, competition, debt) is not stated in the record.
  • Public subsidy amounts are conflicting ($54M + $123.6M vs. 2021 reporting of $86M).
  • Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not detailed in the context layer.
  • Post‑demolition parcel ownership and any remaining land not yet under developer control are unspecified.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' verification, indicating some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Metcalf South Shopping Center, Overland Park, KS · Malls · similar size (50 acres); similar GLA (784,336 sq ft); opened 1967
  • Carousel Mall, San Bernardino, CA · Malls · similar size (43 acres); opened 1972; closed 2017
  • Tri-State Mall, Claymont, DE · Malls · similar size (41 acres); opened 1967; closed 2015
  • Cottonwood Mall site, Holladay, UT · Malls · similar size (57 acres); similar GLA (730,000 sq ft); opened 1962

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Landmark Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • 51 acres
  • median rent $2,031
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Now called / also known asInova campus (WestEnd
Opened1965Wikidata
Closed2017extracted, unreviewed
documented
closed in 2017

en.wikipedia.org

Acres51.0research reported
Gross leasable area880,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak112Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsMacy's, Sears, Lord & Taylor, Hecht's/Macy's, Woodward & Lothrop/JCPenney/Lord & Taylor
AddressI-395 & Duke St. (236)
CountyAlexandria
Census division5 · South Atlantic

Not yet recorded: original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Landmark Mall, also Landmark Regional Shopping Center, was a shopping mall in Alexandria, Virginia. Located in a triangle formed by Duke Street, I-395, and Van Dorn Street, the mall opened as Landmark Center in 1965, closed in 2017, and was demolished in 2022. The mall was anchored by Sears, Lord & Taylor and Macy's.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1965 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1965 Opened as Landmark Center
  3. 2017 Closed
  4. 2021 Retrofit: redevelop
  5. 2022 Demolished

Sources

More in Virginia