Retrofit Atlas

Malls · California

Barstow Mall

Imported, unreviewedReinhabitedUnder constructionBarstow, CA

Opened 1975. Reinhabitation, under construction in 2010.

Status nowUnder constructionextracted, unreviewed
What it becameofficeextracted, unreviewed
Site size144,600 sq ft GLAextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2010extracted, unreviewed
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Barstow Mall
Exterior view of a shopping center with large glass facade and entrance. · verified by a vision model. Photo: The original uploader was Caldorwards4 at English Wikipedia., CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
KmartThis site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/196702220351392 overture · all sites with this
Retrofit in the pipelineThis site: …under construction extraction · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.760barstowauto.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 48,000 on 15 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 2,289 units, San Bernardino County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,479/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.92 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 15 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $44,138 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 06071009500 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 53% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +160% fhfa · all sites with this
Strategy
ReinhabitedThis site: extraction · all sites with this
New use
OfficeThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusUnder constructionextracted, unreviewed
StrategyReinhabitation, under constructionextracted, unreviewed
New usesofficeextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2010extracted, unreviewed

Securitised debt and public filers

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2016Tanger Factory Outlet Centers 10-K, 2017-02-23Barstow Barstow, CA
match: name-city
105,793$171

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m20: 1729 ARMONY RD.; 313 PALM AVE; BARSTOW COMMUNITY COLLEGE DBA CEWFDC; BARSTOW FUEL; BARSTOW WASTEWATER TREATMENT PLANTEPA FRS
Census tract 060710095013,877 people, 4,818 per sq mi; median household income $44,138; median gross rent $1,067; 53% renters; 9.8% vacant units; 1.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 2 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 12 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 39 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 06071009500 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, San Bernardino County (CA), 20242,289 units in 5+ unit buildings, 320 in 2–4, 3,617 single-family; 2023: 3,395 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.92; socioeconomic 0.82; housing and transport 0.86; 30% below 150% of poverty; 23% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Barstow Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 1,554 m², 4.413695812225342 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.760barstowauto.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2016–2025 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views21,831 since 2015; 2,235 in the last 12 months (+24% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-06 with 358Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 65.0); expected annual loss $1.5M; high: earthquake; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20235,362 establishments (+13%); 112,696 jobs (+41%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $548,565 (+1% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $2,479/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024298 (2000 = 100); +1.0% 1 yr, +76% 5 yr, +160% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)48,000 vehicles a day on 15 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 1,938 trucks; 18 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Barstow Mall opened in 1975 and was originally anchored by Kmart and Sears. Sears opened in 1976, but Kmart closed in 1992, Sears closed in 1993, and Big Lots left in 2003. Renovations for an office conversion began in 2010 and the site is currently under construction.

Why. The decline is visible in the record through the loss of anchor tenants—Kmart in 1992, Sears in 1993, and Big Lots in 2003. These vacancies prompted the shift to office use recorded as a reinhabit strategy.

Where it stands. The mall is under construction for office conversion, but the record does not specify the current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Reinhabit strategy with office conversion approved and underway since 2010.
  • Policy tools are not detailed in the record; any zoning or incentives used are unknown.
  • Open questions include the expected completion date, final office tenant mix, and any required infrastructure upgrades.

For a developer

  • Site size: 144,600 sq ft GLA.
  • Control/ownership not stated in the record.
  • Entitlement stage: under construction, implying permits are secured.
  • Context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not mentioned in the record.
  • Market signal: median rent $1,706 noted in opp_reasons.

What we do not know yet

  • Owner/controlling entity is not specified in the record.
  • Exact timeline for construction completion and final build‑out details are missing.
  • Environmental or flood‑zone constraints are not documented.
  • Transit access and surrounding land‑use context are absent from the record.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' verified, indicating some fields may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • 200 Connecticut Ave., Norwalk, CT · Office parks · similar GLA (130,000 sq ft); opened 1977; same strategy: reinhabit
  • Arden Fair, Sacramento, CA · Malls · similar GLA (175,000 sq ft); same strategy: reinhabit; also in CA
  • Chapel Square Mall, New Haven, CT · Malls · similar GLA (165,000 sq ft); same strategy: reinhabit
  • Sandusky Mall, Sandusky, OH · Malls · opened 1977; same strategy: reinhabit

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • median rent $1,706

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1975Wikidata
Gross leasable area144,600 sq ftextracted, unreviewed
Original developerErnest Hahnextracted, unreviewed
AnchorsSears, Kmart
CountySan Bernardino County
Census division9 · Pacific
NotesWikipedia categories: Abandoned shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, what is there now. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Barstow Mall is a small shopping mall in Barstow, California. It was formerly anchored by Kmart and Sears.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1975 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1976 Construction began
  3. 1976 Sears store opened
  4. 1976 Grand opening
  5. 1992 Kmart closed
  6. 1993 Sears closed
  7. 2003 Big Lots closed
  8. 2010 Renovations began for office conversion

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Barstow Mall · supports: gla sqft, original developer, status, strategy
    11 quoted sentences
    The mall, previously delayed due to financial issues, began construction in March 1976, and was planned to have 144,600 sq ft of space including both anchors and 40 interior tenants.
    Ernest Hahn was the mall's developer.
    In August 2010, renovations began on the mall at the Sears end for conversion to office space.
    In August 2010, renovations began on the mall at the Sears end for conversion to office space.

More in California