Malls · Illinois
The Brickyard
The Brickyard opened 1977 as enclosed mall, redeveloped to strip mall in 2003, and remains unknown status under CBRE Group. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/181258592049652 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shopthebrickyard.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 180,958 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 283 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 28 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 4,853 units, Cook County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,228/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.80 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.7% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 17.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Brickyard” and “Chicago” (82 hits, first 82 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2015-05-21 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2015 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | COMM 2016-COR1 Mortgage Trust | 2 | 2016-10-20 to 2016-10-20 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2015-C28 | 2 | 2015-05-21 to 2015-07-01 | 8-K/A 1, 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2015-C29 | 1 | 2015-06-26 to 2015-06-26 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2015-NXS1 | 1 | 2015-05-26 to 2015-05-26 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 40 | 2005-04-04 to 2021-08-04 | 10-K 16, 8-K 15, 10-Q 5, 8-K/A 4 |
| Public owner (strong) | KITE REALTY GROUP TRUST (KRG) | 9 | 2021-10-22 to 2026-02-17 | 10-K 5, 8-K 4 |
| Public owner (strong) | Kite Realty Group, L.P. | 9 | 2021-10-22 to 2026-02-17 | 10-K 5, 8-K 4 |
| Public owner (strong) | INLAND RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 1 | 2005-06-21 to 2005-06-21 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | CEDAR SHOPPING CENTERS INC (CDR-PB, CDR-PC) | 7 | 2004-12-21 to 2026-03-05 | 10-K 6, 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Cottonwood Communities, Inc. | 2 | 2023-03-24 to 2024-03-28 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | Steadfast Apartment REIT, Inc. | 1 | 2015-04-06 to 2015-04-06 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | WASHINGTON PRIME GROUP INC. | 1 | 2019-07-25 to 2019-07-25 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 9 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 22: AVED GROUP, THE; BROWN W R CORP; CHICAGO STEEL RULE DIE & FABRICATORS CO; COM ED - CHICAGO N DV NATOMA TSS-37; EXCELLO PRESS INCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 17031831500 | 3,479 people, 9,360 per sq mi; median household income $78,682; median gross rent $1,219; 35% renters; 14.0% vacant units; 11.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 17.7 of 20; 425 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 284 m; land-use mix 0.81; 394,717 jobs within 45 min by car, 180,958 by transit; 11% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 1 schools, 18 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 5 civic, 15 food and drink; 28 cycleway segments, 347 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Cook County (IL), 2024 | 4,853 units in 5+ unit buildings, 512 in 2–4, 1,142 single-family; 2023: 3,332 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.80; socioeconomic 0.84; housing and transport 0.65; 21% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 30 within 25 km: Megamall (7.0 km); Forest Park Mall (7.4 km); Sears (lower level) at North Riverside Park Mall (9.1 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place The Brickyard (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 14,530 m², 7.400492191314697 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopthebrickyard.com (alive); archived 2009–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 27,295 since 2015; 4,037 in the last 12 months (-22% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-11 with 803Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -8% (3,773 → 3,479); median income +37% ($57,612 → $78,682); renters 33% → 35%; median home value +30% ($209,000 → $272,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 52.6); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: tornado, heat wave, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 283 units: Montclare Senior Residence Phase Ii (181 units); Victory Centre Of Galewood Slf (102 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 213,302 jobs in 12,604 establishments; average annual pay $43,743; employment location quotient 0.83; employment -0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,209 jobs; 1,458 in retail trade, 325 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17031831500)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 1.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (454 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 11.7%; median family income $59,960; 176 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Chicago Public School District 299 (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Horizon Science Acad-Belmont; Burbank Elem School; Locke J Elem School; Lyon Elem SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 675 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 1,091 county-logged events: 620 thunderstorm wind, 164 hail, 133 flood, 82 flash flood; $1,049,471,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 60639, 2026-09 | median list price $438,000 (+9.5% on the year); 26 active listings; median 20 days on market; 22% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 13,577 establishments (-11%); 214,575 jobs (-4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $340,258 (+6% 1 yr, +23% 5 yr); typical rent $2,228/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 481 (2000 = 100); +8.8% 1 yr, +43% 5 yr, +82% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 21,013 vehicles a day on Fullerton Ave (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 13 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Brickyard opened in 1977 as an enclosed shopping mall with J. C. Penney, Kmart, and Montgomery Ward as original anchors. It was redeveloped in 2003 into a strip mall, adding anchors such as Jewel, Target, Marshalls, and Lowe's. The property is currently of unknown status but is owned and managed by CBRE Group.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The Brickyard is currently of unknown status but is owned and managed by CBRE Group.
For a planner
- Redeveloped in 2003 from an enclosed mall to a strip mall, showing precedent for adaptive reuse.
- Ownership and management by CBRE Group indicates private‑sector control.
- Current status is unknown, leaving open questions about future use and zoning.
- Limited source base (single source) suggests need for additional verification.
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record.
- Control: owned and managed by CBRE Group.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Constraints (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Current status of the property is unknown.
- Site size and parcel details are not provided.
- Entitlement or zoning status for future development is not described.
- Environmental, flood, or transit constraints are not mentioned.
- Market‑level data (tract demographics, sales performance) are absent.
- The record is based on a single source and is marked as draft, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Brickyard Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- The Brickyard - 2600 N Narragansett Avenue, Chic… commercialsearch.com
- The Digital Research Library of Illinois History Journal™ : The ... drloihjournal.blogspot.com
- Holdaspot — Find & Book Event Spaces holdaspot.co
- THE BRICKYARD - Chicago IL - Hours, … loc8nearme.com
- The Brickyard – Venues on South Locust venuesonlocust.com
- The Brickyard allevents.in
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
History and original facts
| Anchors | Marshalls |
|---|---|
| County | Cook County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Brickyard, sometimes known as the Brickyard Mall, is a shopping mall located in the Belmont-Cragin community area of Chicago, Illinois, U.S. Built in 1977 as an enclosed shopping mall featuring J. C. Penney, Kmart, and Montgomery Ward, it was redeveloped in 2003 as a strip mall. The center's anchor stores are Jewel, Target, Marshalls, and Lowe's. The Brickyard is owned and managed by CBRE Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Brickyard (shopping mall) · 2026-09-24 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Illinois
Spring Hill MallWest Dundee, IL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open air streetSt Charles MallSt Charles, IL · 2016Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential, new streets