Malls · Massachusetts
Silver City Galleria
Opened 1992. Closed 2020. Redevelopment, under construction in 2021.
documented
In January 2024, Portman announced that it had secured $29 million in construction financing for the first phase of the Silver City Business Park.
documented
On June 16, 2021, Atlanta-based company Portman Industrial purchased the mall site for $75 million with the intent to construct warehousing on the 146-acre property.
More
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile19 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/285613198644688 overture · all sites with thisRetrofit in the pipeline
This site: …under construction extraction · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2021 Portman Industrial research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.silvercitygalleria.com overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 52,499 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,072/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $108,104 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.21 cdc-svi · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +111% fhfa · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 146 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: Silver City Business Park extraction · all sites with thisLogistics and industrial
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisPark and open space
This site: Silver City Business Park extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Under constructionextracted, unreviewed documentedIn January 2024, Portman announced that it had secured $29 million in construction financing for the first phase of the Silver City Business Park. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopment, under constructionextracted, unreviewed documentedOn June 16, 2021, Atlanta-based company Portman Industrial purchased the mall site for $75 million with the intent to construct warehousing on the 146-acre property. |
| New uses | industrial, logisticsextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | Silver City Business Parkextracted, unreviewed documentedIn January 2024, Portman announced that it had secured $29 million in construction financing for the first phase of the Silver City Business Park. |
| Retrofit year | 2021extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Developer | Portman Industrialextracted, unreviewed |
Links out
Every link is built from an id this record holds (parcel number, filer CIK, Wikidata item, Census tract, coordinates) or from the name and city typed into a search. Nothing here is a guessed address. Search links are marked search in their source note; commercial listing links are marked for search engines not to follow. Hover a link for why it is here.
Official records (7)
government and regulatory records for this site, built from ids on the record
- 10-K property table · General Growth Properties 2010from sec.gov
- 10-K property table · General Growth Properties 2007from sec.gov
- Census tract 25005614102 profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- Census tract 25005614102 on Census Reporterfrom censusreporter.org
- Bristol County (25005) profile (data.census.gov)from data.census.gov
- FEMA flood map (NFHL) at this point (search)from msc.fema.gov
- EPA ECHO facilities within 1 milefrom echo.epa.gov
Reference (5)
encyclopedic and research references
- Wikipedia articlefrom en.wikipedia.org
- Wikidata item Q7515910from wikidata.org
- Wikimedia Commons photos within 500 mfrom commons.wikimedia.org
- Retrofitting Suburbia (book site)from retrofittingsuburbia.com
- East Taunton, Massachusetts on Wikipediafrom en.wikipedia.org
Place (8)
map and street views by coordinates
- Google Mapsfrom google.com
- Street Viewfrom google.com
- Bing Mapsfrom bing.com
- Apple Mapsfrom maps.apple.com
- OpenStreetMapfrom openstreetmap.org
- Walk Score at this pointfrom walkscore.com
- Transitland mapfrom transit.land
- USGS National Mapfrom apps.nationalmap.gov
Market (3)
listings and owner pages; commercial, so search engines are told not to follow
- LoopNet: for sale in East Taunton, MA (search)from city search
- Cushman & Wakefield · company site (owner, Wikidata)from company site on record
- The site's own websitefrom silvercitygalleria.org
News (3)
news searches and archived pages
- Google News: “Silver City Galleria” (search)from name search
- Bing News: “Silver City Galleria” (search)from name search
- Wayback Machine · www.silvercitygalleria.com (2000–2022)from web.archive.org
History and original facts
| Opened | 1992Wikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2020extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 146extracted, unreviewed documentedOn June 16, 2021, Atlanta-based company Portman Industrial purchased the mall site for $75 million with the intent to construct warehousing on the 146-acre property. |
| Stores at peak | 120extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Original developer | Pyramid Management Groupextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall was designed by the firm ADD, and was planned and developed by Pyramid Management Group. |
| Architect | ADD |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, Lechmere, Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Regal Cinemas, Best Buy, Dick's Sporting Goods |
| Organisations in Wikidata (undated) | Cushman & Wakefield |
| County | Bristol County |
| Census division | 1 · New England |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Planning
| Entitlement year | 2022 (after the recorded retrofit year; sequence not reviewed)extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Sold | $75.0M closed | Portman Industrial ← Thibeault Developments | Wikipedia |
| 2019 | Sold | $7.5M closed | Thibeault Developments ← Branch Banking and Trust Company | Wikipedia |
| 2002 | Sold | $634.0M closed | General Growth Properties and Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois ← Pyramid Management Group | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2010-03-01 | Silver City Galleria Taunton, MA match: exact | 1,005,799 in-line 351,762 | 50.0% | Best Buy, Dick's Sporting Goods, JCPenney, Macy's, Sears, Silver City Cinemas | |||
| 2006 | General Growth Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01 | Silver City Galleria Taunton, MA match: exact | 1,025,192 | 50.0% | Dick’s Sporting Goods, JCPenney, Macy’s, Sears, Silver City Cinemas, Steve & Barry’s University Sportswear |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 16, 17A, 17B, 19OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: AMERICAN EAGLE OUTFITTERS 896; CPI PHOTO FINISH; JC PENNEY; MACYS TAUNTON #187; SEARS 2934/6947EPA FRS |
| Census tract 25005614102 | 7,266 people, 662 per sq mi; median household income $108,104; median gross rent $1,683; 11% renters; 4.3% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 7.8 of 20; 21 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.85; 41,694 jobs within 45 min by car; 3% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 0 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 0 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Bristol County (MA), 2024 | 260 units in 5+ unit buildings, 89 in 2–4, 514 single-family; 2023: 121 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.21; socioeconomic 0.46; housing and transport 0.13; 14% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Silver City Galleria (shopping_mall, confidence 0.59, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 23,329 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.silvercitygalleria.com (alive); archived 2000–2022 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 108,986 since 2015; 7,460 in the last 12 months (-29% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-01 with 3,852Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +2% (7,134 → 7,266); median income +38% ($78,601 → $108,104); renters 21% → 11%; median home value +73% ($251,900 → $436,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 65.0); expected annual loss $1.5M; high: inland flooding; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 30,846 jobs in 1,861 establishments; average annual pay $42,225; employment location quotient 1.39; employment -2.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,558 jobs; 91 in retail trade, 61 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 25005614102)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 45th income percentile as adults; 1.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (615 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 91% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.5%; median family income $100,102; 331 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Taunton School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: East Taunton ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 62 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 220 county-logged events: 98 thunderstorm wind, 56 flood, 26 flash flood, 19 hail; $1,041,600 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 02780, 2026-09 | median list price $494,450 (+3.3% on the year); 72 active listings; median 39 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,966 establishments (-10%); 33,520 jobs (-3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $545,691 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,072/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 478 (2000 = 100); +4.9% 1 yr, +61% 5 yr, +111% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 52,499 vehicles a day (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 2,937 trucks; 24 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Silver City Galleria opened in 1992 as a two‑level regional mall with over 1 million square feet of leasable space. It operated until 2020, closed permanently, and was demolished in 2021. The site is now under construction as an industrial/logistics park, with a FedEx distribution center approved by the Taunton Planning Board in 2022.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is under construction as an industrial/logistics park controlled by Portman Industrial, which acquired the property in 2021.
For a planner
- Redevelopment strategy approved 2022 for industrial/logistics reuse
- Entitlement granted 2022 (Taunton Planning Board approval of FedEx distribution center)
- Open question: adequacy of transportation and utility infrastructure for increased truck traffic
- Open question: compatibility with surrounding land‑use plans and zoning
For a developer
- Site size: 146 acres
- Current owner/developer: Portman Industrial (acquired 2021)
- Entitlement stage: approved 2022 for industrial/logistics development
- Market signal: county population grew 3.5% 2018‑2023 (opp_reasons)
- Constraints: not specified in the record (flood, transit, environmental details unknown)
What we do not know yet
- Record status is 'draft' (verified: draft), indicating data may be unverified or incomplete
- No information on anchor tenant losses, competition, or specific debt issues that led to closure
- Missing details on floodplain, wetlands, or other environmental constraints
- No breakdown of planned industrial vs. logistics components or phasing of construction
- Unclear status of any remaining permits, approvals, or infrastructure upgrades
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Echelon Mall, Voorhees, NJ · Malls · similar size (200 acres); closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
- Berkshire Mall, Lanesborough, MA · Malls · opened 1988; closed 2019; same strategy: redevelop
- Greendale Mall, Worcester, MA · Malls · opened 1987; closed 2020; same strategy: redevelop
- New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · closed 2016; same strategy: redevelop; also in MA
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Rise And Fall Of Silver City Galleria: How Taunton, MA Lost Its Mall ... bestattractions.org
- Recent Updates | Silver City Galleria Archive silvercitygalleria.org
- Silver City Galleria Mall - O que saber antes de ir (A… tripadvisor.pt
- MallsCenters - US Shopping Malls & Stores mallscenters.com
- Silver City Galleria (Taunton, Massachusetts) - a photo on Fli… flickriver.com
- Taunton's Silver City Galleria: One Last Look fun107.com
- End of an era — Taunton Silver City Galleria mall to be demolished wickedlocal.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- 146 acres
- county grew 3.5% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
Background
The Silver City Galleria was a two-level enclosed regional mall located in East Taunton, Massachusetts, near the junction of Route 24 and Route 140. It featured more than 1,000,000 square feet of leasable space and primarily served the northeastern area of the South Coast region of Massachusetts. Despite its size, the mall had a relatively short lifespan, operating for 28 years before it was demolished in 2021. As of 2026, the site is undergoing redevelopment.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1990 Construction began
- 1992 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1992 Opened
- 2002 Acquired by GGP and Teachers' Retirement System
- 2009 Mortgage default
- 2011 Midland Loan Services acquired mall
- 2013 Sold to MGHerring/Tricom
- 2019 Sold at auction to Thibeault Developments
- 2020 Mall closed permanently
- 2021 Demolished
- 2022 Taunton Planning Board approved FedEx distribution center
Sources
- Wikipedia: Silver City Galleria · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
16 quoted sentences
The mall closed permanently on February 29, 2020.
On June 16, 2021, Atlanta-based company Portman Industrial purchased the mall site for $75 million with the intent to construct warehousing on the 146-acre property.
The mall was designed by the firm ADD, and was planned and developed by Pyramid Management Group.
In January 2024, Portman announced that it had secured $29 million in construction financing for the first phase of the Silver City Business Park.
More in Massachusetts
Arsenal MallWatertown, MA · 2016Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office, retail Redevelopment: residential, hotel
Assembly MallSomerville, MA · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Atrium MallNewton, MA · 2016Reinhabited · Reinhabitation; fitness, medical office, transit shuttleLafayette Place MallBoston, MA · 1997Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: mixed use and office Redevelopment: 3 additional…
Nouvelle at NatickNatick, MA · 2007Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Partial redevelopment: residential Partial regreening: green roof
Worcester GalleriaWorcester, MA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets