Malls · Maryland
Golden Ring Mall
Golden Ring Mall in Rosedale, MD, converted to a power center; current status and ownership unknown. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/455140631592320 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …https://en.parkopedia.com/parking/lot/golden_ring_mall/21237/baltimore/?vendor=h overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 172,857 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 151,623 on 695 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 695 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 59% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 13.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: ARTISIAN RESTORATION; ASPINWOOD WAY, 107; EXXON RAS 28383; H & H TESTING INC; KINGS COURT CLEANERSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 24005440701 | 6,421 people, 4,257 per sq mi; median household income $79,556; median gross rent $1,418; 59% renters; 9.1% vacant units; 6.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 13.7 of 20; 51 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 272 m; land-use mix 0.68; 110,890 jobs within 45 min by car, 172,857 by transit; 18% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 1 schools, 5 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 6 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 16 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Baltimore County (MD), 2024 | 643 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 866 single-family; 2023: 554 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.38; socioeconomic 0.33; housing and transport 0.42; 15% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 20 within 25 km: Baltimore Transmission (5.2 km); Eastpoint Mall (5.8 km); Towson Marketplace (9.8 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Golden Ring Mall (parking, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 2,180 m², 7.316104888916016 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | en.parkopedia.com (down or redirecting, status 403); archived 2008–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 27,207 since 2015; 2,062 in the last 12 months (-13% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-12 with 337Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +0% (6,414 → 6,421); median income +57% ($50,731 → $79,556); renters 60% → 59%; median home value +27% ($230,100 → $291,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 55.4); expected annual loss $1.2M; high: heat wave, winter weather, lightning; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,467 establishments (-10%); 49,045 jobs (+2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $358,090 (+0% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,731/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 442 (2000 = 100), +50% 5 yr, +69% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 151,623 vehicles a day on 695 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 13,146 trucks; 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The site opened as Golden Ring Mall, a traditional enclosed mall. It was later rebranded as The Centre at Golden Ring and converted to a power center format. Its current status is listed as unknown.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The record does not specify who controls the site or its present operational status.
For a planner
- Lack of dated timeline hinders trend analysis.
- No zoning or land‑use details are recorded.
- No information on public incentives or planning approvals is provided.
- Open question: what prompted the mall‑to‑power‑center shift?
For a developer
- Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided.
- Ownership and control entities are unknown.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not recorded.
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are missing.
What we do not know yet
- Exact opening and conversion dates are missing.
- Anchor tenant losses or competition details are not recorded.
- Ownership entity and any deed restrictions are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use designation, and entitlement status are not provided.
- Model‑derived opportunity score and reasons may be unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Golden Ring Mall logo from 1999 commons.wikimedia.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,566
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | Baltimore County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Centre at Golden Ring, formerly the Golden Ring Mall is a power center and former mall in Rosedale, Maryland.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Golden Ring Mall · 2026-08-06 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Maryland
Laurel MallLaurel, MD · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streetsMarley Station MallBaltimore, MD · 2013Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: data center
Parole PlazaAnnapolis, MD · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use
Rockville MallRockville, MD · 2008Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets