Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Tennessee

Mall of Memphis

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedDemolishedMemphis, TN

Opened 1981. Closed 2003. Redeveloped in 2003.

Status nowDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
documented
was demolished in 2004

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameretailextracted, unreviewed reported
Retrofit year2003extracted, unreviewed reported
Walkability16 of 20 · 15-minute 4 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Claim this site Deal kit Ask who owns this
More

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile20 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/133022120071579 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.mallofmemphis.org overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 179,261 on 240 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; tornado, heat wave, earthquake, cold wave fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.86 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 240 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $31,909 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 74% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.6% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +166% fhfa · all sites with this
Tract income flat or down since 2013This site: +3% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: TAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Group extraction · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
documented
was demolished in 2004

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The site of the Mall is now a TAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Group.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretailextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowTAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Groupextracted, unreviewed
documented
The site of the Mall is now a TAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Group.

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year2003extracted, unreviewed reported

History and original facts

Opened1981Wikidata reported
Closed2003extracted, unreviewed
documented
closed on December 24, 2003

en.wikipedia.org

AnchorsService Merchandise, Dillard's, JCPenney
CountyShelby County
Census division6 · East South Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Planning

No zoning change, subsidy or policy tool recorded for this site.

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2007Sold—Wal-MartWikipedia

Before and after

Before: the mall

GLA885,627 sq ftquote
Parking spaces5,564quote

After: the retrofit

Demolished2,004quote

Hover "quote" to see the sentence each value came from. Planned figures are labelled planned. Method.

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km17, 18, 20, 20B;20AOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m2: OKLAHOMA INSTALLATION COMPANY (DILLARD'S; TAG TRUCK CENTER - PARKING EXPANSIONEPA FRS
Census tract 471570106106,364 people, 4,226 per sq mi; median household income $31,909; median gross rent $1,062; 74% renters; 16.1% vacant units; 6.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16 of 20; 80 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 291 m; land-use mix 0.79; 128,854 jobs within 45 min by car, 16,149 by transit; 9% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)4 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 0 schools, 3 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 1 civic, 3 food and drink; 3 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Shelby County (TN), 20241,395 units in 5+ unit buildings, 24 in 2–4, 642 single-family; 2023: 980 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.86; socioeconomic 0.92; housing and transport 0.44; 59% below 150% of poverty; 7% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Oak Court Mall (4.7 km); Hickory Ridge Mall (5.8 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Mall of Memphis (shopping_mall, confidence 0.46, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 15,911 m², 5.902117729187012 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.mallofmemphis.org (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views98,040 since 2015; 6,604 in the last 12 months (-31% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-03 with 1,141Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -11% (7,149 → 6,364); median income +3% ($30,946 → $31,909); renters 50% → 74%; median home value +19% ($66,700 → $79,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 92.6); expected annual loss $2.7M; high: tornado, heat wave, earthquake, cold wave; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)43,348 jobs in 2,958 establishments; average annual pay $46,087; employment location quotient 0.93; employment -1.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,550 jobs; 561 in retail trade, 136 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 47157010610)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 30th income percentile as adults; 3.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,809 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 35.9%; median family income $28,526; 735 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsShelby County School District (PK-12); 6 public schools within 1 mile: Overton High; Sheffield High; Willow Oaks Elementary; Memphis Merit AcademyNCES EDGE
Elevation268 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025336 county-logged events: 183 thunderstorm wind, 72 flash flood, 63 hail, 8 lightning; $22,171,000 property damage reported; 4 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 38118, 2026-09median list price $129,950 (-7.1% on the year); 95 active listings; median 85 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,910 establishments (-5%); 43,694 jobs (-7%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $215,732 (-1% 1 yr, +12% 5 yr); typical rent $1,341/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025217 (2000 = 100); -4.2% 1 yr, +69% 5 yr, +166% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)179,261 vehicles a day on 240 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 70,989 trucks; 13 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

The Mall of Memphis opened in October 1981 with 885,627 sq ft of retail space and 5,564 parking spaces. It closed on December 24, 2003 and was demolished in 2004. After demolition the site was redeveloped for retail use, hosting TAG Truck Center operated by Lonestar Truck Group.

Why. The record does not specify anchor tenant losses, competition, debt, or other causes for the closure and demolition.

Where it stands. The site is demolished and currently occupied by TAG Truck Center under Lonestar Truck Group, which has owned the property since 2004, with a recorded sale to Wal‑Mart in 2007.

For a planner

  • The record shows a redevelopment strategy aimed at retail reuse after demolition.
  • A property sale to Wal‑Mart was recorded in 2007, indicating market interest.
  • Open questions include what zoning, incentives, or environmental reviews were applied to the redevelopment.

For a developer

  • Site size: 885,627 sq ft of former retail space with 5,564 parking spaces.
  • Control: Lonestar Truck Group has held ownership since 2004; a Wal‑Mart purchase is noted for 2007.
  • Entitlement status: demolished, with a retrofit year of 2003 and a stated retail reuse strategy.
  • Context-layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental factors) are not detailed in the record.
  • Market signals beyond the 2007 sale are not provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure and demolition (anchor tenant loss, competition, debt) is not stated.
  • Environmental constraints such as floodplain status or contamination are missing.
  • Current ownership after the 2007 Wal‑Mart sale is unclear given the after‑notes about TAG Truck Center.
  • Zoning or incentive packages used for the retail redevelopment are not documented.
  • The record is marked as draft (verified: draft) and some fields are model‑extracted without review.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Carolina Circle Mall, Greensboro, NC · Malls · opened 1976; closed 2002; same strategy: redevelop
  • Crossroads Mall, Largo, FL · Malls · opened 1984; closed 2005; same strategy: redevelop
  • Crossroads Plaza, Salt Lake City, UT · Malls · opened 1980; closed 2007; same strategy: redevelop
  • Highlands Mall, Harrison Township, PA · Malls · opened 1977; closed 2006; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Mall Of Memphis on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

Background

The Mall of Memphis was a shopping mall in Memphis, Tennessee, containing 885,627 sq ft (82,277.4 m2) of retail space and 5,564 parking spaces. The mall opened October 7, 1981, closed on December 24, 2003, and was demolished in 2004. Among other things, the mall was home to the Ice Chalet, Memphis's only public ice rink.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1981 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1981 opened
  3. 2003 closed
  4. 2004 demolished
  5. 2007 planned development

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Mall of Memphis · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    8 quoted sentences
    closed on December 24, 2003
    The site of the Mall is now a TAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Group.
    was demolished in 2004
    The site of the Mall is now a TAG Truck Center by Lonestar Truck Group.

More in Tennessee