Malls · Virginia
Azalea mall
Azalea mall opened 1991, changed hands 2014‑2017, then demolished; current status, ownership, and redevelopment plans unknown for planners and developers. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …demolished extraction · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: VCC Partners LLC county-parcels · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 150,824 on 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $107,125 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 95 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Redeveloper | Shamin Hotelshermes-web reported |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 3: STANLEY MARTIN TOWNHOMES AT VIRGINIA CENTER COMMON; TELEGRAPH ROAD APARTMENTS; VIRGINIA CENTER COMMONS SPORTS COMPLEXEPA FRS |
| Census tract 51087200907 | 4,844 people, 1,342 per sq mi; median household income $107,125; median gross rent $1,770; 35% renters; 4.8% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 12 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 87 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Henrico County (VA), 2024 | 785 units in 5+ unit buildings, 120 in 2–4, 921 single-family; 2023: 1,805 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.55; socioeconomic 0.31; housing and transport 0.49; 12% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 8 within 25 km: Fairfield Commons Mall (0.0 km); Virginia Center Commons (0.0 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 15,029 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 55,963 since 2015; 4,040 in the last 12 months (-29% vs the prior 12); peak 2022-11 with 1,185Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 11.9); expected annual loss $819,458; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,303 jobs in 1,064 establishments; average annual pay $41,243; employment location quotient 1.06; employment -0.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,315 jobs; 966 in retail trade, 792 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51087200907)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (487 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 36% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.5%; median family income $70,911; 206 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Henrico County Public Schools (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 132 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 263 county-logged events: 123 thunderstorm wind, 49 flash flood, 45 heavy rain, 36 hail; $480,040 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 23059, 2026-09 | median list price $679,975 (+9.9% on the year); 103 active listings; median 39 days on market; 17% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,145 establishments (-10%); 22,169 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $397,454 (+2% 1 yr, +26% 5 yr); typical rent $1,773/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 278 (2000 = 100); -6.0% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +80% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 150,824 vehicles a day on 95 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 22,384 trucks; 25 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1991 as Virginia Center Commons, the mall was owned by Simon Property Group until 2014, then transferred to Washington Prime Group, and sold to Kohan Retail Investment Group in January 2017 before being demolished.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for closure or demolition; anchor losses, competition, or debt are not stated.
Where it stands. The site is currently demolished, and no controlling entity is indicated in the record.
For a planner
- No explicit policy tools or precedents noted in the record.
- Open question: what zoning or redevelopment plans exist for the demolished parcel.
- Open question: any environmental remediation required.
- Open question: how does the site fit into Glen Allen's long‑term land‑use plan.
For a developer
- Site size not provided in the record.
- Control unclear after demolition; no current owner listed.
- Entitlement stage unknown; no permits or approvals mentioned.
- Context layers (flood, transit, environment) not detailed; median rent in surrounding tract is $1,474.
What we do not know yet
- Demolition date not given.
- Reason for closure/demolition not stated.
- Current ownership or controlling entity unknown.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands) not specified.
- Transportation access and transit proximity not detailed.
- Parcel size and subdivision status missing.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Azalea Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Azalea Mall Directory Without a Mall flickr.com
- Azalea Mall Richmond Va _ What to do about Azalea Mall – OCW… fzbjz.mycaremyway.co.uk
- Does Anyone Remember Azalea Mall? : r/rva reddit.com
- 15 years and counting for Richmond's abandoned Azalea … 12onyourside.com
- Photo gallery: Azalea Mall, 1963-1999 richmond.com
- What Stores Were In The Old Azalea Mall plantsbulbsseeds.com
- Azalea mall directory without a mall – Artofit artofit.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- median rent $1,474
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Original developer | Edward J. DeBartolo Corp.hermes-web |
|---|---|
| County | Henrico County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Virginia Center Commons (VCC) was an enclosed shopping mall located in Glen Allen, Virginia, near the state capital of Richmond. Built in 1991, Simon Property Group owned the mall until 2014 when it was split off to Washington Prime Group. In January 2017, the mall was sold again to Kohan Retail Investment Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- found by hermes-web (staffboxfree) · supports: status
7 quoted sentences
Azalea Mall was subsequently closed and demolished in the 1990s.
Developer | Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. and Faison Enterprises
mixed‑use development anchored by a hotel owned by Shamin Hotels
Built in 1991, Simon Property Group owned the mall until 2014
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Coliseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office